文档搜索 > Full text of "Illustrated souvenir of the Archdiocese of Chicago : commemorating the installation of the Most Reverend Archbishop George W. Mundelein, D.D., February 9, 1916"

Full text of "Illustrated souvenir of the Archdiocese of Chicago : commemorating the installation of the Most Reverend Archbishop George W. Mundelein, D.D., February 9, 1916"

ILLUSTRATED SOUVENIR

of the

ARCHDIOCESE of CHICAGO



Commemorating the Installation of the
Most Reverend Archbishop George W. Mundelein, D. D.

February 9, 1916




R. H. FLEMING PUBLISHING COMPANY
CHICAGO



Resume of the History of the Archdiocese of Chicago



THE history of Catholicity and the
marvelous growth of the great North-
west have kept pace in the annals of
time. More than two centuries ago the re-
gion between the Mississippi and the Kas-
kaskia rivers was dotted with strong Cath-
olic settlements. The landing of Father
Marquette is an important landmark in the
affairs of the country of the Tllini. His
work among the Indians stands out pre-
eminent and is a glory to the Catholic
Church. The work of the various mission-
aries in the region of Chicago found its
highest culmination in the establishment of
the Diocese of Chicago.

At a meeting of the Provincial Council
in Baltimore in 1843 a decree for the for-
mation of a number of new sees was
passed ; that of Chicago being among those
considered. In February of the ensuing
year the Holy See acted upon this advice,
and the Eeverend William Quarter w r as
consecrated Bishop of Chicago on March
10, 1844, in St. Patrick's Cathedral, Xew
York.

The first Bishop of Chicago was born in
Killurrine, Kings County, Ireland, on Jan-
uary 21, 1806. On April 10, 1822, young
William Quarter left his native land to en-
counter the difficulties and hardships of
life in a new country. After his arrival in
America he entered the theological school
at Mount St. Mary's in Emmitsburg, Md.
His progress in study was remarkable, and
in September of the year 1829 he was or-
dained to the priesthood by a special dis-
pensation, as he was less than twenty-three
years of age. His first appointment was
as assistant to the pastor of St. Peter's
Church, New York.

On May 5, 1844, a memorable date to
the Catholics of Chicago, Bishop Quarter
became its first Bishop. St. Mary's
Church, which was to be the Cathedral,
was in an unfinished state, and on the
morning of his arrival the Bishop cele-
brated Mass in a frame structure in the
back of the episcopal residence on the cor-
ner of Wabash Avenue and Madison Street.
He found onlv two priests in the new dio-
cese. Father De St. Palais, a Frenchman,
and Father Fischer, a German, who were
ministering to the spiritual needs of the
people. One of the Bishop's first acts was



the founding of a college, which was des-
tined to become the seed from which
sprang the University of St. Mary of the
I <ake. Tn less than a month after his com-
ing Bishop Quarter was enabled to open
its doors with six students enrolled. The
first sacrament of confirmation in Chicago
was administered to 175 souls in the Ca-
thedral of St. Mary's by Bishop Quarter
on October 6, 1844.

Perceiving the necessity of finishing the
Cathedral the Bishop not only made ap-
peal to the Catholics of Chicago, but set
out on a mission to the East to accumulate
funds for that purpose. The first Sunday
in October witnessed the consecration of
St. Mary's Cathedral. At the earnest soli-
citation of his brother, the Reverend Fa-
ther Quarter, the Bishop gave consent for
the building of a church on the West Side,
which was being rapidly settled by a grow-
ing population. It was thus St. Patrick's
Church was founded.

The urgent demand for facilities for fur-
thering the educational interests for the
female youth of the diocese induced Bishop
Quarter to apply to Bishop O'Connor, of
Pittsburgh, for a branch of the Order of
Sisters of Mercy. His prayer was granted,
and soon the Sisters under Mother Mary
Agatha O'Brien were established in a new
field of usefulness.

For four years Bishop Quarter worked
with indefatigable zeal and dauntless
energy for the upbuilding of the new T dio-
cese, but on April 30, 1848, the young com-
munity was visited by an overwhelming
calamity in the death of its beloved leader.

Bishop Quarter was succeeded by the
Right Reverend James Oliver Van De
Velde, I). D., who ably supplemented the
efforts of his noble predecessor.

On April !>, 1795, James Van De Velde
was born in Belgium, near Termonde. A
French clergyman supervised his early in-
struction. Tn 1817 a renowned missionary
from Kentucky visited the various semi-
naries in Belgium, among others that of
Mechlin, where James Oliver Van de Velde
held a professorship. His purpose was to
arouse interest in the missionary work of
America. Young Van De Velde listened to
these enthusiastic accounts and offered his
services in behalf of his fellow beings on the



new continent. Feeling himself called to a
religious life, lie identified himself with the
Society of Jesus, and on September 25,
1X27, ho was ordained in the Cathedral at
Baltimore. For a period of four years he
was Chaplain to the Visitation Convent at
Georgetown. The Held of Father Van De
Velde's activity was transferred to the
West in 1831; he assumed the vice-presi-
dency of the University of St. Louis, and
in 1840 he became its president.

Upon the recommendation of the Bish-
ops of the United States, this highly es-
teemed and talented priest was appointed
to succeed Bishop Quarter in the adminis-
tration of the diocese of Chicago. On De-
cember 11, 1848, he received Episcopal con-
secration in the church of St. Francis
Xavier in St. Louis.

Among Bishop Van De Velde's first du-
ties were visitations to the different parts
of his diocese. In 1849 occurred the found-
ing of the first orphanage in the diocese;
here many destitute children were shel-
tered. The Sisters of Mercy took charge
of this institution.

Failing health caused Bishop Van De
Velde to tender his resignation as Bishop
of the See of Chicago to the Pope in 1852.
With much reluctance, His Holiness, the
Pope, relieved him from his strenuous du-
ties, and in September, 1853, apostolic let-
ters appointed him to the See of Natchez.
Bishop Van De Velde died November 13,
1 855.

Right Reverend A. 'Regan, D. D., was
the third Bishop of Chicago. The town of
Laralloc, County Mayo, Ireland, was his
birthplace. Young Anthony was of a gen-
tle and pious disposition and early entered
Maynooth College as an ecclesiastical stu-
dent. After the completion of his studies
he was ordained and his first Mass was
celebrated in the chapel of the College
where he had so conscientiously labored.

In 184!), when Archbishop Kenrick es-
tablished his theological seminary, he
wrote to Ireland for a priest who could
act as its superior with efficiency and abil-
ity. Father 'Regan was delegated to fill
this position of honor.

The important and rapidly developing
diocese had been left without a head by
the resignation of Bishop Van De Velde.
To find a priest who could sustain this im-
portant office with executive ability and



proficiency was a question which con-
fronted the Bishops of the province. All
united in the selection of Reverend An-
thony 'Regan. In spite of Father O 'Re-
gan's objections to this elevated and re-
sponsible position, the edict of the Holy
See had gone forth, and in a spirit of
obedience he accepted. Archbishop Ken-
rick performed the consecration on July
25, 1854.

The pages of history recount the won-
derful growth of Chicago from 1850 to
1860. Vast railroad enterprises had made
of it a commercial center.

At the instigation of Bishop 'Regan
the Jesuit Fathers were induced to estab-
lish a house in Chicago, which derived an
almost incalculable benefit from its intro-
duction into her midst. A fresh impetus
was given to religious activity. Holy Fam-
ily Church, St. Ignatius College, the Sa-
cred Heart Church, the Sacred Heart
Academy, St. Joseph's Home, and many
parish schools can trace their existence to
the influence of these tireless w r orkers.

Bishop O 'Regan passed away November
13, 1866, and his remains were carried to
his native parish in Ireland.

The bishopric of the diocese of Chicago
next passed into the hands of Right Rev-
erend James Duggan. Bishop Duggan was
a native of Maynooth, County Kildare, Ire-
land, where he was born May 22, 1825. He
received his early training in the Seminary
of Ballaghadareen. In 1842 Archbishop
Kenrick again asked for a talented young
priest for the diocese of St. Louis, and
James Duggan responded. Here he be-
came a student at St. Vincent's College,
Cape Girardeau. His first call was to the
Cathedral in St. Louis, where he gained
celebrity for his scholarly discourses. Up-
on the resignation of Bishop Van De
Velde," Father Duggan was sent to Chicago
to administer its affairs until a new Bishop
should be chosen. He remained in Chicago
until Bishop O 'Regan assumed the office
of Bishop, when Father Duggan returned
to St. Louis. The able fulfillment of his
duties induced Archbishop Kenrick to ask
for Father Duggan as his co-adjutor.
After his consecration in May, 1857, Bishop
Duggan rapidly assumed the lofty require-
ments of his office. At Bishop 'Regan's
departure for Rome to lay his resignation
before the Pope, Bishop Duggan was again




The Most Reverend Archbishop George W. Mundelein



sent to assume the responsibilities of the
Chicago Sec, and eventually he was offi-
cially installed at St. Mary's Cathedral by
apostolic letters from the Holy See.

Chicago had grown apace with the ad-
vancing years, and in 1857 its census
showed an increase of 33,000, making a to-
tal population of 93,000. About this time
;i yreat business depression occurred and
1:5,000 people left Chicago. Naturally the
church suffered and a most discouraging
prospect greeted Bishop Duggan upon his
entrance to his exalted office. However, the
cloud soon vanished and swarms of people
Hocked anew to this center and in a short
space of time 109,263 people claimed citi-
zenship in this vast community.

Bishop Duggan 's administration extend-
ed through the most precarious time of the
existence of the Union. Although in the
throes of a terrible civil w r ar, he guided
the helm of his ship with a masterly hand !
.Mas, in 1866 this brilliant intellect began
to show signs of weakening, and his with-
drawal from his office and his removal to
an asylum became a necessity.

The successor of Bishop Duggan was
Eight Reverend Thomas Foley, w T ho was
born in Baltimore on March 6, 1822. At
the age of ten Thomas Foley entered St.
Mary's College. He was appointed Co-ad-
jutor Bishop and Administrator of the
Diocese of Chicago and consecrated Bishop
in the Cathedral of Baltimore in 1869. On
March 10, 1870, he was installed in the
Church of the Holy Name, the pro-Cathe-
dral of Chicago. When Bishop Foley as-
sumed this new responsibility, he assidu-
ously devoted himself to the mastery of
every detail of his vast responsibility.
With wonderful diplomacy he set himself
to the task of rectifying the misunder-
standings which existed in the diocese at
that time and skillfully straightened out
the tangled skein.

Chicago had now grown to be one of the
largest commercial and mercantile centers,
her population had increased to 334,270 in
1871. Then came the great conflagration
of 1871 which brought dire disaster upon
this enterprising and intrepid community.
The shocking event caused consternation
throughout the civilized world. The labor
of years lay waste; schools, convents, asy-
lums and churches were demolished by
this insatiable foe.



In January, 1879, Bishop Foley was
called to Baltimore, where he contracted
a cold which developed into pneumonia,
and which resulted in his death on Feb-
ruary 19, 1879.

His death was a severe loss to the Dio-
cese at whose head he had stood for nine
years. At his demise the Diocese was in
a splendid financial condition, more than
200 churches with 350,000 communicants
belonged to its jurisdiction. Reverend Doc-
tor McMullen assumed the administrator-
ship of Chicago.

In September, 1880, a decree of the Holy
See elevated Chicago to the rank of an
archdiocese, and Bishop Feehan, of Nash-
ville was called to preside over its spiiitual
affairs.

Patrick Augustine Feehan was born Au-
gust 29, 1829, at Killinnall, Tipperary, Ire-
land. His early training was begun at
home; when sixteen years old he entered
Castle Kurck College as a student. In his
eighteenth year he was admitted to May-
nooth College and the next five years were
devoted to the study of philosophy and the-
ology, gaining such proficiency that he re-
ceived an appointment to Dunboyne. To
the worthy Archbishop of St. Louis we owe
another debt of gratitude for his judicious
selection of young Irish priests, for an-
other appeal from him brought to our
shores this young and talented seminarian.
In 1852, upon his arrival in America, he en-
tered the ecclesiastical seminary at Caron-
delet, to make further preparation for
his reception to the priestly calling. He
was ordained November 1, 1852, at twenty-
three years of age. After having taught
for a brief time Father Feehan was made
assistant to the pastor of St. John's Church
in St. Louis. A^ 7 ith great reluctance the
parishioners of St. John's saw the depar-
ture of this priest when he was sent to suc-
ceed Reverend Anthony 'Regan at the
theological seminary in Carondelet, where
he served as president for three years.
With his usual zeal he entered upon his
duties as pastor of St. Michael's Church,
St. Louis, in July, 1857.

In 1865 Father Feehan became Bishop
of Nashville. Here he found that debts
and demoralization loomed up on all sides,
for Nashville had been the very heart of
the late rebellion. With characteristic en-




HOLY NAME CATHEDRAL State and Superior Streets

Founded 1S74 by the Right Reverend Thomas Folry. D. I).. Fourth Bishop of Chicago
The present pastor is the Right Rev. Monsignor M. J. Fit/Simmons, Vicar General



ergy Bishop Feehan went to work to clear
the debris of the war and to solidify the
foundations of every Catholic institution
that had been devastated, and ere the lapse
of many months a marked change had
taken place in the Diocese of Nashville.

After Chicago had been made an arch-
diocese and Archbishop Feehan had been
named as its head, both clergy and laity
rejoiced that Bishop Foley's successor was
a priest of such strong personality and
executive ability. Amid impressive cere-
monies Archbishop Feehan was installed
in the Cathedral of the Holy Name, Sun-
day, November 28, 1880.

Although the efforts made by Bishop Fo-
ley to repair the loss the church had sus-
tained by the great fire were well-nigh su-
perhuman, there remained much to be done
upon the accession of Archbishop Feehan.

Archbishop Feehan devoted much time
and expended great thought upon the finan-
cial problems of his realm. Eleemosynary
institutions, homes for the aged, hospitals
for the sick, orphan and foundling asylums,
providence houses for young women were
all objects of his deepest consideration.
Unstintedly he aided them financially and
with his judicious advice. One of Arch-
bishop Feehan 's greatest foundations was
the establishment of the Industrial School
for Boys at Feehansville, on the Des
Plaines River.

The magnitude of the work done in the
Archdiocese of Chicago during the admin-
istration of Archbishop Feehan can scarce-
ly be computed. With marvelous and un-
diminished fervor he was ever on the alert
for the most minute interests of his people.
Most ably did he uphold and second the
efforts of every priest, every brotherhood,
and every sisterhood under his jurisdic-
tion. His gentle and loving disposition had
endeared him to all with whom he came in
contact, regardless of religious conviction,
and his scholarly attainments had called
forth the warmest admiration of all.

On July 12, 1902, the revered Archbishop
of Chicago entered into eternal rest.

The lamented Archbishop Feehan was
succeeded by the Most Reverend James Ed-
ward Quigley, 1). 1)., who was installed as
the second Archbishop of Chicago on Jan-
uary S, 1 )(K5.

Archbishop Quigley was born in Oshawa,
Ontario, Canada. October 15, 1854. At a
tender age he removed to Buffalo, N. Y.,



with his parents and at the college of the
Christian Brothers received his education.
He began his theological studies in New
York at the Seminary of Our Lady of
Angels, and for several years pursued his
studies at the University of Innsbruck,
Austria. Later he entered the College of
the Propaganda at Rome, and in 1879 re-
ceived the degree of doctor of theology,
summa cum laude. He received holy or-
ders and was ordained in the same year.
Upon his return to the United States, St.
Vincent's Church, in Attica, N. Y., was as-
signed to him. After devoting his services
to this congregation for several years, he
was made rector of St. Joseph's Cathedral,
Buffalo. At the death of Bishop Ryan of
Buffalo in 1896 this able young priest Avas
appointed as his successor. While Bishop
of this Diocese he filled his office with such
ability and distinction that when the Arch-
diocese of Chicago was left without a
spiritual head, he was selected by the Holy
See to fill this exalted position. For twelve
years Archbishop Quigley continued to ad-
minister the affairs of this Archdiocese
with the utmost wisdom and efficiency,
when, on July 10, 1915, he passed to his
everlasting reward.

He was a strong and able man, with tal-
ents which, had he chosen a secular instead
of a religious career, would undoubtedly
have won him the amplest material success.
His ability as an administrator is shown by
the growth in twelve years of the number
of churches in his diocese from 252 to 326,
of schools under his supervision from 166
to 256, and of children attending them from
about 67,000 to nearly 110,000.

Someone has truly said: "Archbishop
Quigley in more respects than one was a
great man, a providential ruler, a true ec-
clesiastic and an apostolic Bishop. Built
on princely lines without, he was a real
prince within. His soul was all

that a soul should be : wise in its goodness
and full of the sympathy caught from its
Creator. His range of vision, like his early
education, was Roman, and Rome still
stands for what is universal. He was the
Archbishop of Chicago, but an Archbishop
of the Church in America. He made his
influence felt without trying, or even think-
ing of it at all, and he made it felt on the
whole Church, the whole country and on
other countries."



10




Interior of Holy Name Cathedral



Installation of Archbishop Mundelein



T.IIK third Arclil)islio]) of Chicago, a
the eighth prelate to liold tlic reins of
the Catholic Church government in
this city, has now entered actively upon his
duties. The solemn installation of the Most
IJeverend (ieorge \V. Mundelein, 1). D., as
Archbishop of Chicago and his investiture,
by Most Reverend .John Bonzano, Arch-
bishop of Militene, and Apostolic Delegate
to the United States, with the Sacred Pal-
lium, the insignia of the Archiepiscopal
office, was among the most splendid and im-
posing religious ceremonies ever witnessed
in this country.

Chicago had lived in expectancy for
many months, waiting most anxiously for
the announcement of the will of the Holy
Father, Benedict XV, regarding the filling
of the vacant See of the nation's second
metropolis. It was late in November, to
be precise on Monday, the 29th, when word
reached Chicago that the successor of
Archbishop Quigley had been selected in
the person of the then Right Reverend
George AY. Mundelein, D. D., Auxiliary
Bishop of the Diocese of Brooklyn.

The message from the Apostolic Lega-
tion in Washington which told of Arch-
bishop Mundelein 's appointment was fol-
lowed almost immediately by lengthy tele-
grams from Brooklyn detailing the biog-
raphy and the achievements of Chicago's
new prelate. One of the first messages
from his former home said: "Chicago's
new prelate is the youngest Archbishop in
the United States." Such, indeed, is Arch-
bishop Mundelein, having been born only
forty-three years ago. The city of his birth
is the same as that which has benefited so
wonderfully by his labors in the past few
years. He comes from an old American
family of New York City, old and Ameri-
can because it bought those titles on the
battlefields of the Civil \Yar.

ARCHBISHOP'S CAREER

The date of Archbishop Mundelein's
birth was .July 2, 1872. He spent his youth
in Xew York, where he likewise received
his primary education. The first school he
attended was the parochial school of St.
Nicholas Parish. Later he attended an
academy of the Christian Brothers, the old
De La Salle Institute on Second Street,



i'rcm which he graduated in 1887. Next
he went to Manhattan College, which is
under the direction of the same teaching
brothers. Here he spent two years, after
which he commenced his theological studies
at St. Vincent's Seminary, Beatty, Penn-
sylvania. He spent three years in this in-
stitution, on the completion of which he
was sent by the present Bishop of Brook-
lyn, Right Reverend Charles E. McDonnell,
D. D., to the Urban College of the Propa-
ganda in Rome, where he completed his
theology, taking likewise a special course
in the Academy of Sacred Liturgy and ob-
taining a degree there in 1895.

ORDINATION

It was on June 8, 1895, that the young
clerical student completed his course and
was ordained to the priesthood. The ordi-
nation was performed by the Right Rev-
erend Bishop McDonnell of Brooklyn in
the chapel of the Sisters of the Holy Cross
in Rome. Archbishop Mundelein celebrated
his first mass on the following day in the
Crypt of St. Peter's. He was assisted by
the late Monsignor O'Connell, rector of St.
Mary Star of the Sea Church, Brooklyn,
and by the late Dr. Brophy, his companion
in the Propaganda.

His first appointment was as associate
secretary to Bishop McDonnell, and while
performing his duties he was at the same
time, for several months, pastor of the
Lithuanian church in the Williamsburg sec-
tion of Brooklyn. It was only two years
r.fter his ordination that his first important
office was given him. He was made chan-
cellor of the diocese of Brooklyn in De-
cember, 1897. For a period of twelve years
he filled the arduous and exacting duties
of this office, which he only vacated Sep-
tember 1, 1909, after his appointment, and
shortly before his consecration, as Bishop.

AYhile he filled the chancellorship of
Brooklyn Diocese, he began to be the re-
cipient of exceptional honors granted by
Rome in recognition of his learning. On
November 14, 1903, he was appointed by
the Cardinal Vicar of Rome as a censor of
the Liturgical Academy. This is one of the
Pontifical academies which grew out of the
notable movement in liturgical studies un-
der the great theologist and liturgist, Bene-




Cathedral Schools and Cathedral College



13



diet XIV, in the middle of the eighteenth
century. It was subsequently disbanded,
but was reorganized in 1840 under the di-
rection of the Lazarists and now holds fre-
quent conferences in which liturgical and
cognate subjects are treated from the his-
torical and practical point of view. Arch-
bishop Mundelein is likewise a member of
the Pontifical Academy of Arcadia, a
unique association of Catholic scholars
whose purpose is the production and pat-
ronage of what is finest and purest in lit-
erature. Archbishop Mundelein was elected
to this academy on April 20, 1907, and is
the only American with a membership in
the academy.

The first elevation of Archbishop Mun-
delein above the rank of the priesthood was
his appointment on November 21, 1906, as
a Domestic Prelate with the title of Mon-
signor, which honor was conferred on him
at the request of Bishop McDonnell.

In 1908 the degree of Doctor of Sacred
Theology was granted to Archbishop Mun-
delein by the Sacred Congregation of the
Propaganda. In 1909, on the 30th of June,
the new Archbishop of Chicago was made
Titular Bishop of Loryma and Auxiliary
Bishop of the diocese of Brooklyn.

The consecration of Archbishop Munde-
lein as Auxiliary Bishop of Brooklyn took
place on September 21, 1909, at St. James
Pro-Cathedral, Brooklyn. Since that clay
the history of Archbishop Mundelein is a
record of accomplishments. Two notably
successful undertakings are credited to his
efforts. The first is the building of the
Cathedral College of the Immaculate Con-
ception, of which he is rector-founder, and
where one hundred boys are being pre-
pared for the priesthood. But this is not
his only achievement. Another was the
building of the Cathedral Chapel, Queen of
All Saints, which was built under Arch-
bishop Mundelein 's supervision, and of
which he was then the rector. The dedica-
tion of this chapel on November 27, 1913,
was a notable event in the church history
of Brooklyn.

Never will either Archbishop Mundelein
or the Catholics of Chicago forget Feb-
ruary 8, 1916. It was the memorable day
on which the third Archbishop of Chicago
entered the city in which his future years
are destined to be spent, and where, be-
yond doubt, the great deeds that will make
his name more prominent in American



church history remain to be done. Nearly
a thousand laymen met His Grace, Arch-
bishop Mundelein, at La Porte, Indiana, on
the very boundaries of the Archdiocese of
Chicago. Two trains, each of thirteen
coaches, proceeded into Chicago, where
thousands more awaited the new Arch-
bishop at the station and lined the streets
over which he proceeded with his escort of
two hundred automobiles to the Archi-
episcopal residence. The installation and
investiture ceremonies took place on
Wednesday morning, February 9, at ten
o'clock. The scene of the ceremonies was
the Holy Name Cathedral.

The procession of clergy, one thousand
in number, composed principally of local
priests, together with nearly one hundred
of the Brooklyn Diocese, followed by two
abbots, ten monsignors, thirty-two bishops,
seven archbishops, and finally Archbishop
Mundelein and His Excellency, the Apos-
tolic Delegate, started from the Chancery
office on Cass Street, proceeded on Supe-
rior Street around to the front of the Ca-
thedral. At the doorway of the Cathedral
Archbishop Mundelein was met by Eight
Eeverend Monsignor M. J. FitzSimmons,
P. A., recent Administrator and now Vicar
General, who escorted His Grace to the
sanctuary where the Papal Bull of appoint-
ment of Most Reverend George "VV. Munde-
lein to the Archdiocese of Chicago was
read by Very Reverend E. F. Hoban, D. D.
After the reading of the Papal Bull, Arch-
bishop Mundelein was enthroned by His
Excellency, Archbishop Bonzano, Apostolic
Delegate to the United States. This was
the official installation of Archbishop Mun-
delein as prelate of this Archdiocese.

His Excellency Archbishop Bonzano
then made an address. This was followed
by a short address, delivered by Mon-
signor FitzSimmons, in which, in the name
of the clergy of the Archdiocese, he wel-
comed Archbishop Mundelein to his See.
He likewise turned over to the new Arch-
bishop the affairs of the diocese, of which
he had been in charge. Monsignor Fitz-
Simmons' address was followed by an-
other delivered by Mr. Lynch, President of
the National Bank of the Republic, who
spoke for Chicago's laity.

ACT OF OBEDIENCE

The clergy then made their act of obe-
dience, in the course of which each priest



14




Archiepiscopal Residence, Corner of State Street and North Avenue



in turn approached Archbishop Mundelein,

seated on his throne, and, as a mark of
submission to his Episcopal authority,
kissed his ring. After this, Pontifical High
Mass was sung, His Excellency Archbishop
Bonzano officiating. Toward the close of
the Mass the Pallium, which is the insignia
of the archiepiscopal dignity, was placed
upon the altar. After Mass Archbishop
Mundelein was vested in his full pontificals,
the robes of his office. He then approached
the Apostolic Delegate, who was seated on
a faldstool at the upper step of the altar.
Archbishop Mundelein knelt before His
Excellency, the immediate representative of
our Holy Father, and made his profession
of Faith. The Apostolic Delegate placed
upon the shoulders of the kneeling prelate
the Pallium, with which he became Arch-
bishop of the Archdiocese of Chicago and
Metropolitan of the Province of Illinois.

Archbishop Mundelein then delivered his
first address as prelate of the See. It was
a gem of oratory, of such impressiveness
and eloquence that it will remain forever
indelible in the minds of Chicagoans.

CHICAGO'S THIRD ARCHBISHOP

The ceremony of the installation was
thus completed. And from that hour on



the deeds of the Most Reverend George W.
Mundelein, D. D., will be recorded in
the history of both the Church and
the State of Illinois as the deeds of
Chicago's third Archbishop. But the
installation ceremony will not be soon
forgotten, for it brought to the city one
of the greatest gatherings of prelates that
ever assembled here. Noted among these
were Archbishops Messmer of Milwaukee,
Moeller of Cincinnati, Keane of Dubuque,
Pitival of Santa Fe, Ruiz and Plancarte of
Mexico; Weber, Chicago, Superior of the
Resurrectionist Fathers; Bishops Allen of
Mobile, Althoff of Belleville, Aldering of
Fort Wayne, Busch of St. Cloud, Burke of
St. Joseph, Mo., Dunne of Peoria. Bishops
Shaw of San Antonio, Tex. ; McGovern of
Cheyenne, Wyo. ; Tihen of Lincoln, Neb. ;
Gunn of Natchez, Miss. ; Dowling of Des
Moines, Iowa ; O'Reilly of Lebedos ; O'Con-
nell of Richmond, Va. ; Kondelka of Supe-
rior, Wis. ; Sclirembs of Toledo, 0. ; Heffron
of Winona, Minn.; Rhode of Green Bay,
Wis. ; Wehrle of Bismarck, No. Dak. ; Mul-
doon of Rockford, 111., Lawler of St. Paul,
Minn., Ortynsky of Philadelphia, Pa. ;
Lynch of Dallas, Tex. ; Gallagher of Grand
Rapids, Mich. ; Rice of Burlington, Vt. ;
McDonnell of Brooklyn, N. Y.



Foreword :

IX presenting this Souvenir volume to the
Catholics of Chicago and vicinity, the pub-
lishers wish to make it plain that this is not
intended to he a literary history of the numerous
churelies, schools, and other institutions of the
Archdiocese of Chicago, but a pictorial presen-
tation of them, which will bring more vividly
and effectively to the mind's eye the magnifi-
cence and magnitude of the work accomplished
by the twelve hundred thousand Catholics under
the inspiration and direction of their spiritual
heads.

In most instances, only the briefest outline
could be given ; but more is not necessary as the
illustrations tell their own story. The work
has been hard and sometimes disappointing,
but if our efforts meet with the approval of
those for whom it was undertaken we shall feel
well repaid

Many thanks are due to the pastors and
heads of institutions who have given us their
kindly co-operation by furnishing information
which has aided greatly in our work. The
photographs in most cases were the work of
Mr. B. Pearson of 2120 North Clark Street.
We also appreciate the excellent work done by
the McGrath Engraving Company of this city.



16



THE PAULISTS AND THEIR WORK.



The Congregation of Missionary Priests of
St. Paul the Apostle, popularly known as the
Paulist Fathers, was founded in 18~>8. The ob-
ject was, to quote Father Ileeker's own words,
''to form an independent band of missionaries
to be devoted to the great wants of the coun-
try, and particularly to preach to the non-
Catholics of America." At the invitation of
Archbishop Hughes, the first Paulists estab-
lished a parish and missionary headquarters in
New York City, and began at once their apos-
tolic labor. The principal fields covered by
the work of the Paulist Fathers are:

(a) Missions to Catholics When only three
priests of the nascent institute could be spared
for this work, they went up and down this
country and Canada from 18i>8 to 186"). As
soon as new recruits were enlisted under their
standard they utilized them to extend this
work. From 1870, when it was regularly re-
sumed, up to the present time, they have given
thousands of missions in all parts of the coun-
try, thus sharing with the other missionary
orders in the great work of keeping the faith
alive and vigorous among our Catholic people.

(b) Missions to Non-Catholics This work,
which really constitutes their distinctive voca-



tion, was initiated by Father llecker himself.
These missions have been attended by large
numbers of non-Catholics. They serve, to-
gether witli the free distribution of leaflets
and books which accompany them, to destroy
much deep-rooted prejudice and bring about
a number of conversions.

The Paidist Fathers, under the direction of
the Catholic Missionary Union, are in charge of
the Apostolic Mission House at Hrookland,
I). C. Secular and religious priests are trained
there for work among non-Catholics.

In 1892 the Paidist Press was inaugurated.
It consists of a large printing office, editorial,
composing and press rooms. Here "The Catho-
lic World" ami "The header" are issued
monthly, with a vast number of pamphlets on
every subject of interest to Catholics or to any-
one interested in religion. Millions of these
pamphlets have been distributed all over the
country. The Paulists were also instrumental
in establishing "The Hookraek," which has
accomplished a distinctly useful and beneficial
work.

ADDITIONAL WORK.

(a) Church Music The 1'anlists have introduced
in their churches the <!regoriaii Chant. They have
trained choirs of boys and men; they have promoted
congregational singing, and have published books for
the spread of devotional music.

(b) The Temperance Question The I'anlists have
carried on an unrelenting warfare against the drink
habit and the saloon.

(c) Newman Clubs The 1'anlists have undertaken
the work of establishing and conducting Newman
Halls ami Chapels at various non-Catholic Universi-
ties, namely at the University of California, the Uni-
versity of Texas, the University of Toronto, Canada,
and the University of -Minnesota. The Fathers not
only care for the immediate spiritual needs of the
students, but also give lectures on advanced Catholic
doctrine, history, and science.




St. Mary's Church of the Paulist Fathers in. Chicago, Ninth Street am] Wiilmsh Avenue.




St. Tatrick, Desplaines and Adams.



ST. PATRICK'S CHURCH, FOUNDED 1846.



The present St. Patrick's Church, located at
the corner of Adams and Desplaines Streets, is
the oldest Catholic church edifice now standing
in the city of Chicago. The first church of this
parish stood at the corner of Randolph and
Desplaines Streets, and was dedicated on
Kaster Sunday in 1846. The Yerv Reverend



Walter J. Quarter, V.G., was the first pastor.
The cornerstone of the present structure was
laid by the Right Reverend James G. Van De
Velde in 1852, and the dedication occurred on
Christmas Day, 1856, under the pastorate of
the Reverend Dennis Dunne.

The Reverend William J. McXamee, the



18




Interior of St. Patrick's, Desplaines and Adams.



present pastor, has been instrumental in bring-
ing this parish up to a very high standard by
the work which he and his assistants are doing
among the working people of this great manu-
facturing district. The church has been en-
tirely remodeled and newly decorated. The
most notable of the decorations is that of St.
Patrick's Shrine a tribute to the patron
saint of the Irish people. It is the first exam-
ple in America of the renaissance of Irish art
in sculpture, in painting and in translucent
mosaics. The ancient Catholic art of Ireland
has been revived in order to make this shrine
representatively Irish. Statues of St. Patrick
and St. Paladius and other saints carved in
wood, some of them of heroic size, adorn the
church. Several masses are celebrated daily,
beginning at 6 A. M. on week days and at
3 :30 A. M. on Sunday. Thus the working peo-



ple who live in the vicinity are afforded an
opportunity to attend divine service every
morning. A special feature of the Sunday
services are the musical vespers, in which three
choirs take part.

Many of Chicago's prominent men and
women have been communicants of this old
church and numbers of them still revisit it on
feast days and other memorable occasions.

The church supports a flourishing school,
which is attended by 900 children. The girls
are taught by the Sisters of Charity of St. Vin-
cent de Paul, while the boys are instructed by
the Brothers of Christian School. The Brothers
also have a fine commercial academy located in
this parish.

The Reverend W. J. McXamee, P.R., is as-
sisted in his work by the Reverends J. P.
O'Donoghue and II. Wills.



19



ST. IGNATIUS COLLEGE AND THE

Hoth these institutions are monuments to the
devotion and labors of that great-hearted mis-
sionary and pioneer of Catholic education,
Father Arnold Damen, S.J., to whom the Cath-
olics of Chicago owe so much for the Catholic
tone imparted to the city's early development
and the city itself for the impulse, incidentally
for her material advancement.

The Church of the Holy Family, which in



CHURCH OF THE HOLY FAMILY.

in the presence of thirteen Archbishops and
Bishops, and six years later this edifice had to
be enlarged. The great Chicago Fire in 1871
began a few blocks east of the church, and the
afflicted people established themselves further
west. The years that followed witnessed great
growth for this section, and two new parishes,
the Sacred Heart (Jesuit) and St. Pius, became
established shortly within its limits. In 1890




St. Ignatus College and Holy Family Church.



after years became the largest and most import-
ant in the Archdiocese, was built by Father
Damen, S.J., in 1S57. It was a little frame
structure erected at May and Twelfth Streets in
an uninviting locality on the West Side prai-
ries and among poor people. However, Father
Damen was wise in his selection of the site,
for within two months the frame church w T as
too small for its congregation, and had to be
enlarged: and three years after Father Da-
men's coining, on August 26, 1860, the new and
imposing Holy Family Church was dedicated



there were more than 4000 children in the big
parochial schools attached to the Holy Family
Church, and a class of 1500 children of the par-
ish were confirmed at one time.

Thirteen years after the little frame church
had been erected by Father Damen,. St. Igna-
tius College opened its portals for the first time,
(September 5, 1870), to inaugurate the work of
higher education in Chicago, being at that time
one of the very first institutions for advanced
study in the city. Father Damen was the
founder and president. The initial enroll-



20




Cuilahy Science Hall, Loyola Academy.



merit was thirty-seven, which had increased to
ninety-nine by the close of the year. During
the second year (1871-1872) the college passed
the hundred mark in attendance. The school
has gradually increased until now, as the Arts
and Science Department of Loyola University,
it has 660 on its roster.



Although the original charter issued to St.
Ignatius College (June 30, 1870) empowered
the institution to confer the degrees of a uni-
versity, a new charter was obtained November
21, 1909, and the title of "Loyola University"
formally adopted, the college becoming the de-
partment of Arts and Science. The University




Faculty and Administration Hutlding.



21



at present, under the presidency of Reverend
John H. Fumy, S.J., has a corps of 131 profes-
sors and an enrollment of lf>00 students. The
departments of the University include Arts and
Science. Law, Engineering, Pharmacy, Socio-
logy, and Medicine.

The Medical College dates its foundation as
far back as 1868. It became affiliated with
Loyola University in 1910, and in 1915 came
under its complete control.

The increasing needs of Catholic education
led to the opening on September 20, 1909, of
Loyola Academy at Sheridan Road and Loyola
Avenue. This is the second high school depart-
ment opened in connection with the college.
Built on a spacious tract on the lake shore, the
Academy has every attraction of location and
surroundings. During the brief years of its
existence it has increased its enrollment to two
hundred and thirty-two students. A collegiate
department is projected for the near future.
The Cudahy Science Hall, erected by the mu-
nificent gift of the late Michael Cudahy, already
flanks the Academy building, and other colle-
giate buildings are to be grouped on the same
site.



son is assisted by the Reverend T. A. O'Malley,
S.J., and the Reverend Edward J. Hanhauser,
S.J.




Kt. Ipnatius, 6435 Broadway.
ST. IGNATIUS CHURCH, FOUNDED 1907.

The Church of St. Ignatius, located at Sheri-
dan Road and Broadway, was founded by the
Reverend Louis Kellinger, S.J., in 1907. The
Ifeverend B. M. Johnson, S.J., is the present
rector. In 1912 he built the handsome paro-
chial school, which opened September 12 of the
same year. The children, of whom there are
more than :iOO in attendance, are taught by the
Sisters of the IIolv Child Jesus. Father John-




St. Ignatius' School, 6435 Broadway.




Sacred Heart, 818 West Nineteenth Street.
SACRED HEART CHURCH, FOUNDED 1872.

The Sacred Heart Church, situated at West
Nineteenth and Johnson Streets, was founded
in 1872. The parish of the Sacred Heart dates
back to the early days of the great Jesuit
parish of the Holy Family, from which it was
formed. It has always been under the care
of the Jesuit Fathers. The Reverend Michael
Corbett, S.J., was its first pastor. The present
pastor is the Reverend Thomas Finn, S.J. He
is assisted by the Reverends Hugh J. Erley, S.J.,
John A. Ganser, S.J., and Joseph B. Murphy,
S.J. The 400 children who attend the parish
school are taught by the Sisters of the B.V.M.



22



ST. PETER'S CHURCH
(GERMAN).

St. Peter's Church is one
of the oldest German
Catholic Churches in Chi-
cago, and was organized in
1846 by Bishop Quarter.
The original location of
the church was on Wash-
ington Street between
Wells and Franklin
Streets, and the first pas-
tor was Johannes Jung.
The present edifice was
erected in 1864 by the
Reverend P. Fischer, and
was one of the few build-
ings to escape the great
conflagration in 1871. The
Franciscan Fathers came
here at the request of the
Right Reverend Thomas
Foley in 1875 and have re-
mained ever since as the
spiritual heads of this
parish. The Reverend
Henry Kuester, O.F.M.,
the present pastor, is as-
sisted by the following
priests : The Reverend
Christopher Guithues,




St. Peter's Church, Clark and Polk Streets.



F M Alphonse Bergener, O.F.M., Ulric Petri, O.F.M., and Peter Volz, O.F.M. The Sisters of Xotre
Dame of Milwaukee instruct 300 Italian children in a free school connected with the church.



ST. JOSEPH'S CHURCH (GERMAN).

St. Joseph's and St. Peter's Churches, represent-
ing the two oldest German Catholic parishes in Chi-
cago, were founded in 1846 by the Right Reverend
Bishop Quarter, first bishop of Chicago. The first
St. Joseph's Church was at the northeast corner of
Cass Street and Chicago Avenue, but after the
Chicago fire the new St. Joseph's Church was built
at the present location. In 1875 the church as it
stands today was dedicated. It has a plain exterior,
but the interior is a very beautiful Gothic edifice.

The first pastor of St. Joseph's Church was Rev-
erend Johannes Jung, but in 1861 St. Joseph's par-
ish was transferred to the Benedictine Fathers of
St. Vincent, Pennsylvania, and in 1915 to the Bene-
dictine Fathers of St. Bede Abbey, Peru, Illinois.^ Its
present pastor is the Reverend Justus Wirth, O.S.B.,
with Reverend Philip Stauffer, O.S.B., and Reverend
Francis Dorr, O.S.B., as assistants.

The school maintained by this parish dates back
almost as far as the church itself. The Benedictine
Sisters, whose convent is located at Franklin and
Hill Streets, instruct the 250 pupils. The course of
study embraces the primary, intermediate and gram-
mar. German is taught from the very commence-
ment through all the grades.




.^A




-



St. Joseph's Church, Orleans and Hill Streets.



23




St. .Michael':
School and
Brothers
House



ST. MICHAEL'S CHURCH (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1852.



St. .Michael's Church, situated at the corner
of Eugenie Street and Cleveland Avenue, was
founded in 1S.VJ by the Very Reverend Kopp,
V. G. The Redemptorist Fathers assumed
charge of this parish on February 26, 1860. The



first pastor was the Reverend Joseph Mueller,
C. SS. R. The present church, which is a fine,
large edifice in the Romanesque style, was built
in 1866, and has the distinction of being one of
the relics of the great Chicago fire of 1871.



24





Sisters' Convent, St. Michael's Parish.



St. Michael's School, Hudson and North.



St. Michael's parochial school, one of the
largest in the city, has an attendance of 1,798
pupils. The xipper classes of boys are in charge
of thirteen Brothers of Mary, while the Sisters
of Notre Dame take care of the instruction of
all the girls' classes as well as that of the lower
grades of boys.

To this parish are attached also St. Michael's
high school for boys and girls, and St. Gerard's
kindergarten, the latter being under the care
of the Poor Handmaids of Jesus Christ. This
order, whose mother house is in Fort Wayne,



Indiana, was called to the diocese of Chicago
in 1875 by the Right Reverend Bishop Poley.
At first the Sisters occupied rented quarters on
Sedgwick Street. The present handsome con-
vent and chapel at 1644 Hudson Avenue was
dedicated December 4, 1876. The Sisters at-
tend the sick in their homes without distinction
of creed or nationality. Sister M. Alexia is the
Superioress. Thirteen Sisters are at present
stationed at this convent. The Very Rev-
erend Nicholas Klein, C. SS. R., is rector in
charge of this parish.




St. Michael's Hall.



Handmaids of Jesus chr ist.



St. Alphonsus'

Church,

Founded

in 1882.



St. Alphimsus'
Rectory




St. Alphonsus
School.



ST. ALPHONSUS' CHURCH, FOUNDED 1882.

St. Al|>honsus ', Southport Avenue and Wellington Street, the offspring of St. Michael's Parish, was founded
in iss^ | iy Reverend Joseph Kssing, a Roclemptorist Fat her, and at that time rector of St. Michael's Church. The
church is a lieaiitiful (iothic structure, while the school is one of the finest parochial buildings in the archdiocese.
It lias an enrollment of 1550 pupils, and the instruction is under the School Sisters of Notre Dame of Milwaukee.
Tin' ^yniiiasiiiin is also another magnificent building belonging to this community. The parishioners attending this
rhurrh are Hermans or of German descent. This parish is under the spiritual direction of the Reverends Augus-
tine Ahlert. ('. SS. R., Mathew Hregenser, 0. SS. R., John H. Schagemann, C. SS. R., James Ott, C. SS. R., Thomas
Heine. C. SS. K.. Louis Brand, C. SS. R., Thomas Reiser, C. SS. R.



26




St. James' Rectory. St. Jninr*' Schools

ST. JAMES' CHURCH, FOUNDED 1855.

The church of St. James is located on Wabash Avenue and Twenty-ninth Street. This parish
was organized by the Reverend Thomas J. Kelly in 1855. The property consists of a beautiful
Gothic church, three school buildings, and a fine parochial residence. The school, conducted by
the Sisters of Mercy, has an attendance of more than 1,000 children. The curriculum includes
primary, grammar, and high school instruction. The present pastor, the Keverencl P. W. Dunne,
is assisted by the Reverends Sidney Morrison. .lames L. Kearns, and Daniel Murphy.



HOLY ANGELS', FOUNDED
1880

The parish of the Holy Angels, one
of the most important Catholic com-
munities in Chicago, was founded by
the Reverend I). A. Tighe on February
L'L'. 1SSO. As with many other Catholic
churches, the iiew congregation had a
very small beginning, the handful of
worshipers meeting for several months
in a hall on Cottage Grove Avenue, be-
tween Thirty -seventh and Thirty-eighth
Streets. Then a neighboring Baptist
church was rented for four months.

In the meantime the congregation
grew so rapidly that it was found nec-
essary to build a house of worship. For
this purpose a beautiful site was pur-
chased on Oakwood Boulevard, and, on
September 8, 1880, the corner-stone of
the first Church of the Holy Angels was
laid. Four mouths later, December 5,
1880, the completed edifice was dedi-
cated by the Most Reverend Archbishop
Feehan, D. D. Within the next few
years additional property was purchased
in the same locality for schools and
other parish buildings.

In the next decade, the congregation
grew so rapidly that it was found nec-
essary to erect a new church to accom-
modate the increased membership. Ac-
cordingly, on May 24, 1896, the corner-
stone of the present church edifice was
laid by Archbishop Feehan. On Sep-
tember 26, 1896, the magnificent new
church was dedicated by the same prel-
ate. The services were made a splendid




Holy Angels' Church. Showing Rectory.



occasion, many notable ecclesiastics from different parts of the" country being present. The sermon was preached
by the Right Reverend John Clancy, D.D., of Maynooth College, Ireland, now Bishop of the historic see of Elphin.
The splendid schools of the parish are modern in every particular and are unsurpassed by any in Chicago.
They are under the direction of the Sisters of Mercy, whose motlier house is in Chicago, and are attended by
725 pupils. The Right Reverend Bishop McGavick, in charge of the parish, is assisted by the Eeverend J. E.
McCiavick, J. M. Morrison, Timothy O'Shea and William Griffin.





Si'ilil.l




Holy Angels Schools. Oakwood Boulevard.



28




if -

mil




St. Elizabeth, Forty-first Street and Wabash Avenue.



St. Elizabeth's School, Forty-first Street and Wabash
Avenue.



ST. ELIZABETH'S, FOUNDED 1881.

St. Elizabeth's Church, founded 1881, is located at Forty-first Street and Wabash Avenue.
Few churches, in the city of Chicago can boast of having one pastor for thirty-five years, but
this parish is still under the spiritual direction of its founder, the Reverend D. J. Riordan. In
1890 the present church edifice was erected. The recent addition to the parish buildings is a
handsome new school which has been erected nearly opposite the church. The 600 children who
attend the school are instructed by the Sisters of Mercy. Father Riordan is assisted by the Rev-
erends F. C. Cannell, Edmund Burke and Clarence Cavanaugh.




St. John's. Clark and Eighteenth Streets.

ST. JOHN'S, FOUNDED 1859.

In 1859 the Reverend John Waldron, with the consent of the Right Reverend Dugan, Bishop
of Chicago, bought property at Eighteenth and Clark Streets and erected the church known as
St. John, the Evangelist, wliich is the second oldest English Catholic, Church on the South Side.
In 1879 the cornerstone of the present church was laid. Father E. L. Dondanville is the present
pastor. He is assisted in his work by the Reverend Peter P. Dunne.



29



ST. VINCENT'S CHURCH AND DE PAUL UNIVERSITY.



St. Vincent's parish dates back to an inter-
est inj; period in the expansion of the Catholic
Church in Chicago. The city was just recover-
ing from the shock of the Great Fire. The
Cathedral had been rebuilt under Bishop Foley
and was soon to be dedicated when the Rever-
end Edward M. Smith, C.M., picked ont, amid
the cow pastures far to the north and west, the
site for a new church. Having borrowed $5,000
at St. Mary's Seminary, Perry ville, Mo., the
mother house of the Vincentians, he made the
first payment August 28, 1875, on the five-acre
plot occupied by St. Vincent's Church and De
Paul University.



floor was converted into a parochial school in
1883.

Father Smith was called elsewhere in 1887.
The Reverend J. A. Maloney, C.M., was pastor
for several months and was in turn succeeded
by the Reverend T. J. Abbott, C.M. In 1899
the Reverend Felix Guedry, C.M., became pas-
tor. He laid the cornerstone of the parochial
school on Osgood Street in 1890. In 1891,
Father Smith returned and immediately set
about the construction of a grand church, the
cornerstone of which was laid in 1895. The
zeal of the pastor and the loyalty of his people
combined to produce a commodious and beau-




St. Vincent De Paul (Church and College).



In the beginning of October, 1875, Father
Smith began the organization of a parish and
applied himself to putting up a building in-
1 ended to serve as church, school, and parochial
residence. On November 1, 1875, the corner-
stone of the old St. Vincent's Church was laid,
and the tirst Mass was celebrated on Christmas
Day. The dedication took place on the Feast of
the Translation of the Relics of St. Vincent de
Paul, April 30, 1876. Archbishop John J. Lynch,
C.M., of Toronto, Canada, came to perform the
ceremony. The upper floor of the building was
used as a church for manv rears. The lower



tiful edifice easily accommodating twelve hun-
dred people. When the noble task was about
completed the beloved pastor was again called
away, this time to the Great Beyond. The first
Mass in the new church was sung at his funeral
service, September 20, 1896. The new church
which was erected at a cost of $160,000 was
dedicated May 1, 1897, by Archbishop Feehan,
D.D., assisted by Bishop Spalding of Peoria and
Bishop Stephen Ryan, C.M., of Buffalo.

For some time the provincial of the Vincen-
tian Fathers, Very Reverend Thomas J. Smith,
C.M., remained as head of the parish founded



30



by his brother. The Reverend Thomas J. Wei-
don, C.M., was pastor from 1897 until the end of
189S. when he was succeeded by the Reverend
P. V. Byrne, C.M. Father Byrne continued as
pastor for ten years and was succeeded by the
Reverend J. J. Martin, C.M., in 1909. The pres-
ent pastor, Reverend P. X. McCabe, C.M., as-
sumed his duties in July 1910.

St. Vincent's Church is conceded to be one of
the most beautiful churches in this great city
and Archdiocese. A notable feature of its con-
struction is the absence of pillars to obstruct
the interior view. The mural decorations are



De Paul University is one of the largest edu-
cational institutions of the Middle West. The
students for the year 1910 number about one
thousand. The College of Law is considered
one of the very best in the country. The College
of Engineering is fully equipped and confers
several degrees each year. A new department
is the College of Commerce, which is located
with the Law School in the Tower Building, at
Michigan Avenue and Madison Street. The
College of Education was organized at the ur-
gent request of the Most Reverend Archbishop
Quigley, D.D., in the summer of 1911. It pro-




l>e I'aul College, Webster Avenue.



simple yet rich; and the altars and communion
rail are exqiiisitely carved in Carrara marble,
the main altar alone costing about twenty thou-
sand dollars. The entire altar and its furnish-
ings constitute an exquisite work of art. The
windows are wonderfully beautiful and are of
pure Munich glass. The organ in St. Vincent 's
is indeed superb and has been so improved from
time to time that it now has few equals among
the great instruments in the city.

The parochial school has been conducted by
the Sisters of Charity, of the B. V. M., since
1883. More than one thousand children are
now in attendance.



vides summer school work and extension
classes throughout the year. Many Sisters and
lay teachers take advantage of the excellent
opportunities thus offered.

De Paul also conducts a high school depart-
ment for students who have satisfactorily com-
pleted the eighth grade of grammar school.
The De Paul High School for Girls, under the
direction of the Sisters of Charity, B. V. M.,
has an attendance of more than one hundred.

Much of the progress of De Paul University
is due to the untiring xeal and energy of the
Very Reverend F. X. McCabe, C.M., LL.D., who
has presided over the institution since 1910.



31




ST. MARY'S OF THE LAKE



One of the most beautiful and ideally
located houses of worship in the city of Chicago
is St. Mary's of the Lake, on the northwest
corner of Sheridan Road and Buena Avenue.

This church has many interesting features
connected with its construction. Its style of
architecture is that of a Roman Basilica, St.
Mary's having been patterned after St. Maria
in Trastavue. which was the first large church
in Koine dedicated to the Virgin, and which
was itself founded as an oratory by St. Calixtus
as early as 222 A. 1).

The main entrance is on Sheridan Road,
and is protected by a beautiful portico with
fluted columns. To the left of the church is
a picturesque campanile, or tower, which is
an exact facsimile of the celebrated campanile
of St. Pudenxia, built in the year 1100.



The edifice is 170 feet long by 75 feet wide,
with the ceiling sixty feet above the floor.
There are three aisles, the center aisle or nave
being fifty-five feet wide, and having twenty-
four scagliola columns. The exterior is entirely
of terra cotta as near in color as possible to
that of the Roman Travertine stone, a sample
of which was brought from Rome. The roof
tile is also the color of Roman tile. The inte-
rior decorations will be in keeping with the
high character of the edifice. The lighting
and heating are after the most approved scien-
tific methods.

The parish of St. Mary's of the Lake was
organized by the present pastor, Reverend
John J. Dennison, in 1901. The new church
was begun in 1913. Father Dennison is assisted
by the Reverend Joseph A. Casey.



OUR LADY OF LOURDES.

The beautiful new-
Church of Our Lady of
Lourdes is located at Ash-
land and Leland Avenues,
on the North Side, and
will shortly be dedicated.
The style is Spanish Ren-
aissance. Reverend J. M.
Scanlan is pastor, assisted
by the Reverend S. E. Mc-
Mahon and John V. Mai-
ley. Nearly 600 children
receive their instruction
in the parochial school
which is under the care of
the Sisters of Charity of
the B. V. M.






ST. JEROME'S.

St. Jerome's, at Morse Avenue and Paulina
Street, is located in Rogers Park, the northern
limit of the city. The cornerstone was laid
in 1914 and was built under the present pastor,
the Reverend T. P. Farrell.



ST. MATTHEWS'.

The new Church of St. Matthews' is located
on the corner of Walnut and Francisco Streets.
Reverend J. F. Flood is pastor. He is assisted
by Reverend P. Furlong.



33




OUR LADY OF MT. CARMEL,
FOUNDED 1886.

The parish of Our Lady of Mt.
Carmel was organized in 1886 by
the Reverend P. O'Brien, and was
located on the North Side in that
part of the city known as Lake
View. Since that time the parish
has been divided into several new
communities owing to the great and
rapid growth in the population.
Until about five years ago the con-
gregation worshiped in a frame
structure. Then the Reverend P.
D. Gill, who had been pastor of the
church for twenty years, laid the
foundation for the present beautiful
edifice on Belmont Avenue between
Halsted Street and Broadway. The
church was not completed until
1914, and is considered one of the
handsomest in the city. The archi-
tect was Charles H. Prindeville.
This parish supports a fine school,
which is in charge of the Sisters
of Mercy. It is attended by 250
children.

Father Gill is assisted in his
labors by the Reverend Joseph T.
O'Donnell.




St. I la's. Magnolia and Catalpa Avenues. St. Ita's School, Magnolia and Catalpa Avenues.

ST. ITA'S, FOUNDED 1900.

The parish of St. Ita's which for many years was situated near the northern boundary of the
city, is today in the heart of a thickly populated district and one of the most flourishing communities
in tin- Archdiocese of Chicago. The Reverend J. H. Crowe, who founded it in 1900, is still at the
head of the church. The valuable property of the parish is situated on Magnolia and Catalpa Ave-
nues, and consists of a handsome church, rectory, and fine modern school where 550 children receive
instruction under charge of the Sisters of Mercy.



34



CHURCH OF THE IMMACULATE CONCEPTION.




] m maculate Conception (English).



The English
Church of the Im-
maculate Concep-
tion, situated at,
North Park Ave-
nue and Schiller
Street, was erect-
ed in 185!). The
first priest, and
founder was the
Reverend William
Edward s. For
many years this
English parish was
the most northern
one of the city. The
present pastor is
the Reverend
Thomas A. Kearns.
He is assisted by
the Reverends E.
P. Gahagan and
C. F. Donovan.
The Sisters of the
Third Order of St.
Dominic teach the
410 children.




ST. SEBASTIAN'S, FOUNDED 1910.

The spacious and well appointed school building of St. Sebastian's parish is located at Wel-
lington Avenue and Halsted Street, and has an attendance of more than 300 pupils, who are under
the care of the Sisters of Charity. The church is a frame structure adjoining on Blucher Street.
The Reverend Edward Byrnes is pastor.



35




St. Henry's, Ridge and Devon.

ST. HENRY'S (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1851.

The church known as St. Henry's ranks
among the oldest Catholic communities in Chi-
cago. Its first priest was the Reverend Fort-
mann. For many years the Redemptorist Fa-
thers were in charge, but in 1868 the parish
came under the secular clergy. The Reverend
F. J. Ruetershoff, now rector, erected the pres-
ent magnificent church. The school taught by
the Poor Handmaids of Jesus Christ is attended
by 450 pupils.




St. Teresa's, Center and Osgood.

ST. TERESA'S (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1889.

The community of St. Teresa, which is lo-
cated at Center and Osgood Streets, was
founded by the Reverend M. W. Barth. The
pupils, who number 432, are under the tutelage
of the Sisters of Christian Charity. The Rev-
erend J. F. Kirsch is the spiritual head of the
parish, and is assisted by the Reverend H.
Retzek.




ST. CLEMENT'S (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1905.

The parish of St. Clement was organized by the Germans in 1905 and the cornerstone of the
parish building at 646 Doming Place was laid October 18, 1905. It is a combination structure used
for both school and divine worship. About 250 pupils are instructed by the School Sisters of St.
Francis of Joliet. Reverend F. Rempe became its first pastor. He is assisted by Reverend Goyke.



36




ST. LUCY'S, FOUNDED 1911.

The Church of St. Lucy's was known by the
name of St. Catharine's until 1911. This prop-
erty, at Franklin Avenue and Lake Street, was
purchased by the parishioners of St. Catharine's
of Sienna, with the intention of erecting their
parish buildings thereon. But, owing to the great
influx of Catholic population into this part of
the city, St. Lucy's was made an independent
church in 1911, the Reverend Father Dorney,
the present rector, becoming the first resident
pastor. The large parish school is attended by
more than 200 children, who are under the in-
struction of the Sisters of Mercy.





ST. CATHARINE'S OF SIENNA,
FOUNDED 1889.

The church known as St. Catharine's of
Sienna, on the corner of Washington Boulevard
and Park Avenue, was the first Catholic Church
founded in Austin. The parish was organized
in 1889 by the Reverend Father Campbell, who
was appointed by the Most Reverend Arch-
bishop Feehan, D. IX, becoming the first pas-
tor. The children of the parish are taught at
St. Catharine's Academy, which is under the
care of the Sisters of Mercy. The academy is
located at the corner of Central Avenue and
Washington Boulevard. The Reverend John M.
Howen is the present pastor.




ST. VERONICA'S, FOUNDED 1906.



The parish of St. Veronica's was organized
in 1906 by the Reverend T. M. Burke, now pas-
tor of St. Gabriel's Church. The church build-
ings, which are situated on North Whipple
Street, near School, were erected during Father
Burke 's pastorate. Father Burke was suc-
ceeded by the present pastor, the Reverend



George C. Code, in March, 1914. The building
used for divine worship is a handsome com-
bination structure now so much in vogue. The
spacious parish house is a credit to the congre-
gation. Nearly three hundred children attend
the school, which is in charge of the Sisters of
the IIolv Child Jesus from Sheridan Road.




OUR LADY OF SORROWS.

Tin* strip of territory bounded by North Avenue, Western Avenue and Twelfth Street, and
miming west indefinitely, was the original grant made by Bishop Foley to the Servite Fathers
when, in 1870, they came to settle in Chicago. Within this tract the site selected for a mission
church was that on which the present parish church stands, namely, Jackson Boulevard and
Albany Avenue. As time went on, other mission churches were established at various points, all
of which have developed into parochial churches. Wherefore, Our Lady of Sorrows stands as the
Mother Church of thirteen new parishes which have been carved out of her original territory.

The first pastor was Father A. M. Morini, O.S.M. The present edifice, begun in September
of the year 18!tO. was completed in 1902 under the administration of Reverend Hugh Crevier,
O.S.M. To the tireless energy of the same able administrator is due likewise the commodious



38




Our Lady of Sorrows' Parish Hall and School, Jackson anil Albany.

monastery attached to the church building, erected in 1903. The parish school, which was
erected iu 1886, has a capacity of 1600 pupils and is conducted by the Sisters of Providence. It
remains a monument to the enterprise and foresight of its founders, for in those days scarcely
one-fourth of its capacity was enrolled. The parish Auditorium was built in 1!)08 under 1he
superintendence of the present pastor, Reverend A. M. Quigley, O.S.M. The lower floor of this
building consists of meeting halls, society rooms, etc., while the upper floor is a spacious auditorium,
containing seats for 1400 persons, with stage, gallery, dressing rooms, etc. St. Philip's High
School, a three-story, fireproof structure, was erected in 1909. It is capable of accommodating
six hundred pupils, but at present not more than two-thirds of that number attend.




St. Philip's High School. Jackson lioulevard.



39




ST. COLUMBKILLE 'S, FOUNDED 1859.

St. Columbkille's parish was founded in 1859 by the Reverend Father Kenney. The first
pastor was the Reverend Father Ward. He was succeeded in 1871 by the Reverend Thomas
Hurke, who in that year erected the present church at the corner of Grand Avenue and North
Paulina Street. Reverend P. J. Tinan, P.R., is the present pastor. He is assisted by the Rever-
ends John E. Foley and John M. Ford, D.D. Many improvements have been made in the church
property under Father Tinan 's pastorate. These include electric lighting, a new heating plant, the
putting in of a beautiful new marble entrance to the church, and enlarging the rectory. In the
meantime St. Columba's girls' school has been brought under parish control. The school chil-
dren number 590, and are taught by the Sisters of Providence. The number of parishioners has
been gradually decreasing, other nationalities settling in that part of the city. The parish celebrated
its golden jubilee in October. 1909.



ST. CHARLES OF
BORROMEO.

On the corner of Twelfth
and Cypress Streets stands a
magnificent Gothic structure
known as the Church of St.
Charles of Borromeo, which
was founded in August, 1885,
by the Most Reverend Arch-
bishop Feehan, D.D. The
first resident pastor was the
Reverend P. D. Gill. He was
succeeded by the Reverend P.
J. Muldoon, who afterward be-
came Bishop of Chicago and
who is now Bishop of Rock-
ford, 111. The Right Reverend
P. J. Muldoon, D.D., was suc-
ceeded by the present pastor,
the Reverend E. J. Fox, who
has made many important im-
provements to the parish
buildings, which are today
among the finest church prop-
erty in the diocese. The fine
parochial school has 860 pu-
pils, while St. Mary's High
School has an attendance of
850 girls. Both schools are
taught by the Sisters of Char-
ity, B. V. M. Father Fox is
assisted by the Reverends J.
B. Scanlan and M. J. Xealis.




St. Charles of Horromeo Church and Rectory, Showing Schools Above.



40



CHURCH OP THE
PRESENTATION,

FOUNDED 1898.

The imposing group of buildings
belonging to the parish of the
Presentation are located at Spring-
field Avenue and Lexington Street.
They were erected by the Rever-
end J. J. Jennings, the founder
and the present pastor of the
parish, in 1898. In the past twenty
years this section of the city has
had a phenomenal growth, which
has given this Catholic community
a large membership and enabled
it to erect a beautiful church, rec-
tory, two school buildings, and a
Sisters' convent. The church is
built in the Mission style of archi-
tecture, being patterned after the
wonderful churches built in the
early Spanish days in the south-
west. This valuable property is
entirely free from debt. Nearly
1,100 children attend the school,
which is under the care of the Sis-
ters of Charity of the B. V. M.
The curriculum covers all grades
from primary through grammar.
Father Jennings and his devoted
parishioners feel proud of what
has been accomplished in the short
space of eighteen years. Father
Jennings is assisted in his labors
by the Reverends John J. Kearns,
Thomas A. Canty, D.I)., and James
E. O'Brien.




Cliurcli of Thf Presentation. SpriiiRticId and




School and Hall above



SclKKil art! Sisters Residence below




St. Jarlath's, Jackson Houlevard and Hermitage.




ST. JARLATH'S, FOUNDED 1869.

St. Jarlath's Church is a handsome stone
structure at the corner of Jackson Boulevard
and Hermitage Avenue. St. Jarlath's parish
was organized by the Reverend J. J. Grogan in
1869. In its early days it was in one of the best
residential districts of the west side, but as the
city grew and its original people moved away,
the character of the congregation has entirely
changed. Father Grogan was succeeded by the
Reverend Thomas Cashman in 1872, who still
continues in charge of the parish. This gives
him a longer pastorate than any other Catholic
rector in Chicago. All the improvements in the
church property have been made during his
administration. The parochial school, which is
in charge of the Sisters of the Third Order of
St. Dominic, has an enrollment of 400 pupils.
Father Cashman is assisted by the Reverend
Philip L. Kennedy and John A. Fleming.



ST. ATTRACTA'S, FOUNDED 1902.

The parish of St. Attracta is located on the
west side and was organized by the Reverend
Father Judge in 1902. The church edifice is
situated on the corner of West Thirteenth
Street and Forty-eighth Avenue. Father O'Con-
nor was the first resident pastor. Father M. J.
McKenna is now the pastor in charge.



ST. EDMUND'S, FOUNDED 1907.

St. Edmund's Church and rectory, on Oak
Avenue, in the beautiful suburb of Oak Park,
were erected by the present pastor, the Rev-
erend John J. Code. The church is of Gothic
design and is by many considered the most at-
tractive and devotional in style of any church
in the Archdiocese. .




St. Kilmund's, Oak I'aik.



St. Attracta's, West Thirteenth Street and Forty-eighth
Avenue.



42



Convent

and

Heotory




School

of the

Nativity



CHURCH OF THE NATIVITY OF OUR LORD.

The Church of the Nativity of Our Lord, Thirty-seventh Street and Union Avenue, was
founded nearly half a century ago by the Reverend Michael Lyons. It was originally located
at Halsted and Thirty-ninth Streets, but on Holy Rosary Sunday, 1878, the first mass was cele-
brated in the basement of the present imposing structure. The church, house and school were
built by the Reverend Joseph M. Cartan, who served the parish as pastor for more than thirty
years. The Sisters of St. Joseph have charge of the school of 1,125 pupils. The Reverend James
J. Flaherty is pastor, assisted by the Reverends E. F. Rice and J. H. Murphy.



43




ST. DAVID'S, FOUNDED 1905.



St. David's Parish, which lies within the
Stock-yards district, was organized in 1905 by
the Reverend D. J. Crimmins, now pastor of St.
Leo's. Father Crimmins remained with this
congregation until 1914, when he was succeeded
by the present pastor, the Reverend Joseph
McNamee. The substantial buildings of the
parish a combination church-school structure



and a rectory stand at the corner of Thirty-
second Street and Union Avenue. The large
parochial school is under the care of the Sisters
of Providence from St. Mary-of-the- Woods,
Indiana, and is attended by four hundred and
fifty children. Father McNamee is assisted in
his labors by the Reverends J. Cannell and
James E. Burke.




St. Oavid's Rectory. Thirty-second and Union.



44



ST. BASIL'S

FOUNDED 1904.

St. Basil's Parish was
founded by the late Rev-
erend Thomas E. Cox,
LL.D., in 1904. The
church edifice is a com-
bination building answer-
ing the purpose of school
and divine worship. The
school is under the Sisters
of St. Dominic and has
an attendance of nearly
800 children.





St. Rose of Lima, Ashland and Forty-eighth.



ST. GABRIEL'S,

FOUNDED 1878.

The beautiful
Church of St. Ga-
briel's, situated at
the corner of
Forty-fifth a n d
Sherman Streets,
was founded by
the Reverend
Maurice Dorney,
who remained at
the head of the
parish until his
death in 1914. The
property of the
parish grew to the
be very valuable
under his pastor-
ate. Father Dorn-
ey was succeeded
by the Reverend
T. M. Burke, the
present pastor.



St. Basil, 1810 Garfield Boulevard.

ST. ROSE OF LIMA, FOUNDED 1881.

The Congregation of St. Rose of Limn, although
founded scarcely thirty-five years ago, is one of
the oldest in the southwest part of the city. It
was organized by the Reverend Thomas G. Galle-
gan in 1881. The Reverend D. Hayes, the pres-
ent pastor, received his appointment in 188)5. The
quaint church edifice is located at the corner of
Ashland Avenue and Forty-eighth Street. The
school building is one block west, at the corner of
Marshfield. Nearly 700 children are taught by
the Sisters of Mercy.




St. Gabriel's, Forty-fifth and Sherman.




ST. AGNES' CHURCH AND RECTORY.



St. Agnes' Parish was organized in 1884 by the Rev-
erend M. J. Horgan, who was also its first pastor.
The beautiful church and rectory are situated on the
corner of Washtenaw Avenue and Thirty-ninth Street.




The large parochial school was opened in 1884, and
now has an attendance of more than 800 pupils, who
are instructed by twenty Sisters of Providence. The
present pastor, the Reverend N. J. Hitchcock, has
been in charge of the parish for twenty-two years, hav-
ing succeeded the Reverend J. A. Hemlock in 1894.
He is assisted by the Reverend Francis P. Murphy and
the Reverend Moses E. Kiely.




ST. BRIDGET'S, FOUNDED 1858

St. Bridget's 1'arish is one of the oldest Catholic
communities in Chicago, having been founded- by the
Reverend Father Kelly in 1858. The handsome church
and other buildings which have been erected by the
present pastor, the Reverend II. O 'Sullivan, P.R., are
located on Archer Avenue near Twenty-ninth Street.



CUR LADY OF GOOD COUNSEL

The parish of Our Lady of Good Counsel was or-
ganized from that of\ St. Bridget's in 1912. The large
church edifice, which is a combination building church
and school, is located at Thirty-fifth Street and Hermit-
age Avenue. Reverend E. M. O'Donnell is pastor.



46




ST. BRENDEN'S, FOUNDED 1891.

St. Brenden's is a flourishing parish located in the southwestern part of the city. It was or-
ganized in 1891 by Reverend .Michael T. Macken, and was formerly a part of St. Bernard's
parish. For several years the congregation worshiped in the frame church which was erected
at the time the parish was founded. In 1900 the corner-stone of the splendid new Gothic church
at the corner of Sixty-seventh Street and Racine Avenue was laid. The church, however, was not
dedicated until June, 1914. Its seating capacity is about 1,400. The parish school is located at,
Loomis and Sixty-seventh Streets. It has an enrollment of 900 pupils and is in charge of the
Sisters of the Third Order of St. Dominic. Father Macken is assisted by the Reverend Michael J.
Fennessy.




Visitation Grammar School.

VISITATION CHURCH, FOUNDED 1886.

The Catholic community known as the Parish
of the Visitation is one of the largest in the
archdiocese. It was founded by the Reverend
D. F. McGuire on July 2, 1886, who is still the
spiritual director of the congregation. The
first church edifice was located at Morgan and
Fifty-third Streets, but as the future showed
an encouraging outlook for the parish, Father




Visitation High School, Garfield and Peoria.

McGuire secured property on Garfield Boule-
vard and Peoria Street and laid the foundation
for the present spacious and beautiful church
in 1892.

From almost the inception of the parish, the
education of its yoiith has been provided for,
and today this parish has one of the best
i'(|iii|>ped schools in the city. The grammar
school is thoroughly graded and prepares the
students for the high school which has just
been completed. These schools are under the
direction of the Dominican Sisters, whose
mother house is located at Sinsinawa, Wiconsin.



Visitation Church, Garfield and Peoria.




Sisters' Convent.




ST. RITA'S CHURCH AND COLLEGE.



The parish of St. Rita's was organized by
the Augustine Fathers in 1905. They were in-
vited to come to Chicago by the Most Rev-
erend Archbishop James E. Quigley, D.D., of
happy memory. He gave the necessary per-
mission to the Reverend M. J. Geraghty,
Provincial of the Augustine Order, to found a
new parish and college in the Archdiocese of
Chicago. By reason of this permission, on
June 25, 1905, Reverend J. F. Green, O.S.A.,
was appointed to undertake the work of secur-
ing property and erecting buildings for the
new parish. For this purpose he purchased
five acres at Sixty-third Street and Oakley
Avenue. On this site a combination building,
consisting of a church, college, and monastery,
was erected, the entire cost being $87,000. The
cornerstone was laid with the permission of
the Most Reverend Archbishop, by Father
Green, 0. S. A., October 26, 1905, and the
church part of the building was solemnly dedi-
cated April 22, 1906, by the Right Reverend
P. J. Muldoon, D.D., Auxiliary Bishop of Chi-
cago. The ministers of the Mass were: Cele-
brant, Very Reverend M. J. Geraghty, O.S.A.,
Provincial ; deacon, Reverend Wm. A. Ryan,
rector of St. Agnes' Church, Utica, X. Y. ;
sub-deacon, Reverend Hugh A. Gallagher,
O.S.A., prior of the monastery of St. Thomas



of Villanova, Pennsylvania; and master of
ceremonies, Reverend John A. Nugent, O.S.A.,
rector of the Church of Our Lady of Good
Counsel, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania. The ser-
mon, a masterly one on the life and sanctity
of St. Rita, was preached by the Reverend M.
J. Dorney, D.D., rector of St. Gabriel's Church,
Chicago. Thirty-five priests were present in
the sanctuary on the occasion. The college
opened in September, 1906, with twelve stu-
dents. By January, 1907, the number had in-
creased to twenty-seven. Since then the num-
ber of students has increased from year to
year. Up-to-date 1,'JOO boys have been taught
and 167 graduated. The parish, which nine
years ago numbered only a few families, has
grown steadily if not largely, and the four
.Masses on Sunday are well attended. In the
church is a shrine of St. Rita, who is known as
the Saint of the Impossible. At the present time
there is in the course of erection on Sixty-second
Street and Washtenaw Avenue a building which
serves as a convent for the Sisters and a paro-
chial school. The school was opened in Septem-
ber of 1915.

Connected with St. Rita's Church are three
out-missions: St. Gall's, St. Nicholas of Tolen-
tine, and St. Clare of Montefalco. Father
Green is rector of the church and president of
the college. He has ten assistant priests.



49



ST. NICHOLAS' CHURCH
(GERMAN), FOUNDED 1890.

In March, 1890, the church
known as St. Nicholas, located at
State Street and One Hundred and
Thirteenth Place, was founded by
the Reverend Theodore A. Honi-
fas, who is the present pastor of
the church. The cornerstone was
laid in 1896 by the Most Reverend
P. A. Feehan, D.I)., and in 1901,
the Right Reverend P. J. Muldoon,
1 ).!)., dedicated the complete edi-
fice. The style of architecture is
French Gothic. The school build-
ing, a handsome brick structure,
was erected in 1906. About 300
children are in attendance and are
taught by the School Sisters of St.
Francis. As this is a German con-
gregation, the German language is
taught in all the grades.





ST. ANTHONY OF PADUA (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1873.



Located on the South Side is the German Catholic
Church known as St. Anthony of Padua. It was
founded by the Reverend P. Fischer and was situated
for many years at Canal Street and Twenty-fourth
Place, but on account of business encroachments, prop-
erty was secured at Wallace Street and Twenty-eighth
Place for the erection of the present church, school,
convent, and parochial residence. The cornerstone of



the new church was laid in 1914 by the Bight Rev-
erend A. J. McGavick, D.D., and a year later the ded-
ication of this magnificent group of buildings was sol-
emnized by the Right Reverend Paul P. Rhode, D.D.
The school has an attendance of 460 pupils, instructed
by the School Sisters of Notre Dame of Milwaukee.
The present rector, the Reverend John Dettmer, P.R.,
superintended the erection of the new buildings.



50




ST. PAUL'S CHURCH, FOUNDED 1878.



Although situated in the heart of a busy
manufacturing district at Twenty-second Place
and Hoyne Avenue, the Church of St. Paul
(German) is a most imposing edifice and reflects
great credit on the parishioners. The parish
was organized in 1878, but the corner-stone of
their beautiful church was not laid until 18!)7.
and the building itself was not completed until
1899. The two stately towers, thirty-two feet
square at their base, and rising to a height of
240 feet, are the pride of the neighborhood.



The parish house, just back of the church, is
constructed in the same style of architecture.
The church school is also constructed on splen-
did lines and includes grammar, commercial
and high school departments. It is attended by
about ")f>0 children, who are instructed by six-
teen School Sisters of Notre Dame. The Very
Reverend Leonard Sclilimm, O.S.B., is pastor;
Reverend Augustine Minkel, O.S.B., Reverend
Bonaventure Reithmeier, O.S.B., and Reverend
Herbert Huettner, O.S.H., are assistants.



51



ALL SAINTS',
FOUNDED 1875.

All Saints' Par-
ish was founded in
1S75 by the Right
Reverend Bishop
E. J. Dunne, D. D.,
of Dallas, Texas.
When Father
Dunne b e c a in e
bishop he was suc-
ceeded by Rever-
end J. C. Gillan,
who is still in
charge. The fine
Gothic church,
school and paro-
chial residence at
Wallace Street and
T went y-fi f t h
Place were erected
during the pastor-
ate of Father
Dunne. The Sisters
of Mercy brought
the schools to a
high standard of
efficiency.




All Saints', Twenty-fifth and Wallace.




f '




St. Thomas', Fifty-fifth and Kimbark.

ST. THOMAS, APOSTLE, FOUNDED 1865.

Half a century ago, when the great Hyde Park
district of Chicago was chiefly a prairie, Father
Thomas Kelly, pastor of St. James' parish, built
a mission church at Fifty-fifth Street and Kim-
bark Avenue in 1865. In 1868, Reverend P. D.
Butler was made resident pastor. The present
pastor, Reverend J. J. Carroll, assumed charge
in 1887. The handsome church was erected
after his accession.



Holy Cross, Sixty-fifth and Jackson (Maryland).

HOLY CROSS, FOUNDED 1891.

The Church of the Holy Cross, at Sixty-fifth
Street and Maryland Avenue, was founded by
Reverend Father Hishen in 1891. The fine
parish school instructs more than 1,000 children.
Reverend D. D. Hishen, the present pastor,
erected the handsome church and school build-
ings. He is assisted in his labors of the parish
by the Reverends Francis E. Scanlon and
Henry McGuire.



52




Corpus Christ! Church, School and Rectory, (fraud Hoult'vnrd au<l 49th Strict.



CORPUS CHRISTI CHURCH, FOUNDED 1901.



The parish of Corpus Christ! was organized
by the Right Reverend Archbishop Feehan,
D.D., and the Reverend F. Henneberry was ap-
pointed as its first pastor. Shortly after his
appointment Father Henneberry was called to
his reward and the Reverend Thomas F.
O'Gara, the present pastor, was made spiritual
head of the parish. The buildings, the church,
rectory and school, as we see them today were
erected by Father O'Gara. The Church of
Corpus Christi is considered by many to be
the finest church edifice in the Archdiocese.
The style of architecture is Italian Renais-



sance. The illustration shown above will give
to the readers some conception of this beautiful
structure. Corpus Christi lakes care of the
spiritual needs of the Mother house of the Sis-
ters of Mercy, the Chicago Industrial School
for Colored Girls, and the Home for the Aged
conducted by the Little Sisters of the Poor.
The parochial school has an attendance of 400
children. Their instruction is under the guid-
ance of the Sisters of Mercy from St. Xavier's
Academy. The Reverend Father O'Gara is as-
sisted in his labor by the Reverends J. H. Xawn,
J. K. Fielding, and H. Weber.



53




ST. CECILIA'S, FOUNDED 1885

To relieve the overcrowded parishes of The
Nativity, St. Anne's, St. Gabriel's and St.
Elizabeth's, the parish of St. Cecilia was organ-
ized in 1885 by the Reverend Edward A. Kelly,




St. Cecilia's School.

now rector of St. Anne's Church. For several
years the congregation worshiped in a tempo-
rary structure, but in 1889, under Father
Kelly's pastorate, the cornerstone of the hand-
some new edifice was laid by the Most Reverend
Archbishop Feehan, D.D., who also dedicated
the completed church to the patronage of St.
Cecilia in 1891. Father Kelly also erected the
fine parochial residence and school building.
The school, under the tutelage of the Sisters
of Mercy, has an enrollment of 675 children.
Father Kelly was succeeded by the Reverend D.
Croke, the present pastor, who is assisted by
the Reverends D. Lanigan and P. M. Griffin.



ST. ANNE'S, FOUNDED 1869.

When the parish of St. Anne's
was organized by the Reverend
Joseph E. Bowles in 1869, that
part of the city was almost un-
broken prairie, only a few scat-
tered houses to be seen here and
there in this now densely popu-
lated section. However, only a
few years had elapsed before St.
Anne's became one of the most
flourishing parishes in the city.
The Reverend Joseph E. Bowles
was the founder and first pastor.
He was succeeded by the Reverend
Thomas E. Leyden. Then the late
Reverend P. M. Flannigan became
pastor, taking charge in 1877.
Even then the parish was subur-
ban, the only transportation being
by railroad. Father Flannigan
erected the splendid parish build-
ings, which are located at Garh'eld
Boulevard and Wentworth Ave-
nue. They consist of a beautiful
church edifice, school building,
Sisters' house and parochial resi-
dence. The church was dedicated
by the Very Reverend John Mc-
-Mullen. administrator, in 1880.
Upon the death of Father Flanni-
gan, the Reverend Edward A.
Kelly, D.D., was appointed pastor
by His Grace, Archbishop Quigley.




St. Anne's, Gerfleld and Wentworth.



54




ST. LEO'S CHURCH, FOUNDED IN 1887.

On the corner of Seventy-eighth Street and
Emerald Avenue are the parish buildings of
St. Leo's. The church was built by the Rev-




St. Leo's Schools.

erend John J. Carroll, pastor of St. Thomas'
Church, Hyde Park, Chicago, in 1887. The
first resident pastor was the Reverend P. A. L.
Egan, who remained at the head of the congre-
gation until his death. He was succeeded by
the present rector, the Reverend 1). J. Crim-
mins. Father Crimmins has made many im-
provements in the parish during his pastorate.
The new school building, Sisters' convent, re-
modeling of parochial residence, and much
other necessary work has been accomplished.
The children, 600 in number, are taught by the
Sisters of Providence.




ST. BERNARD'S, FOUNDED IN 1887.

The Most Reverend P. A. Feehan, 1). 1).,
Archbishop of Chicago, was the founder of St.
Bernard's Parish, and appointed the Reverend
Bernard P. Murray to be its first pastor.
Father Murray is still rector of this church.
The parish church, which he built, is one of the
finest church edifices in Chicago. This com-
munity supports a fine parish school which is
taught by the Sisters of Loretto and attended
by nearly 600 pupils. The parish buildings are
situated at Sixtv-sixth Street and Stewart Ave.




ST. KILIAN'S CHURCH, FOUNDED 1905.

Among the many new parishes which have
been organized in recent years in Chicago may
be named that of St. Kilian's, which is located
far south, at Eighty-seventh and Aberdeen
Streets. In ]!)0f> the Most Reverend Arch-
bishop Quigley, D. I)., gave permission to the
Reverend J. J. Greene to found a new parish.
Father (Jreene, who is still pastor, has erected
a handsome church, which has a seating ca-
pacity of about 650.




ST. AUGUSTINE (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1879.



The handsome group of buildings belonging
to St. Augustine's parish are located on Laflin
and Fifty-first Streets. They comprise the
beautiful church, monastery, school building,
and the Sisters' convent. For several years this
parish was in charge of one of the assistants
of St. Anthony's. In 1882 His Grace, the Most
Reverend Archbishop Feehan, sent Reverend
I). Thiele to St. Augustine's. He thus became
its first pastor, remaining until 1886, when the
church was put under the supervision of the
Franciscan Fathers. Reverend Symphorian
Forstmann. O.F.M., from St. Peter's Church,



was the first Franciscan pastor, continuing with
the parish thirteen years. Many of the im-
provements were organized and carried out un-
der his administration. The school has an en-
rollment of nearly 1100 and is under the charge
of the Poor Handmaids of Jesus Christ. The
course of instruction extends from the primary
through the grammar grades. The parish be-
ing German, that language is taught in all
grades. Reverend Mathew Schmitz, O.F.M., is
the pastor. Since his appointment as rector he
has made many improvements. He is assisted
bv a number of the Franciscan Fathers.



56




ST. AMBROSE, WHEN COMPLETED.



St. Ambrose is one of the leading parishes on the
South Side, and its buildings, at Forty -seventh Street
and Ellis Avenue, are situated in the heart of a beau-
tiful residential district. The congregation was organ-
ized in 1904 by the Eevereud William Foley, who is
now pastor. The cornerstone of the new church, which
has not been completed, was laid October 28, 190(i.
The design of the church, which is perpendicular
Gothic, is very beautiful. The large triple window
over the entrance will be the largest art-glass window



the church. There will be two galleries, one over the
main entrance and the other over the left transept.
Under the latter gallery there will be a chapel seating
about 100, which will be used on week days when there
is a small attendance. This chapel will be separated
from the auditorium by collapsible doors, which can
be made to disappear when necessary. The dimen-
sions of the church will be 175 feet deep, including the
sanctuary, and 100 feet wide, covering the transepts.
It will seat comfortably about 1300 persons. The




St. Ambrose as It Is Today.

in Chicago. The walls of the edifice will be constructed
of blue Bedford stone, while the roof will be supported
by steel trusses covered with tile. The main audi-
torium will have a height of fifty feet, and will be
free from obstructions, so that worshipers may have a
clear view of the altar and pulpit from any part of




School, Showing Priests' House.

school, which is situated to the east of the church, has
an enrollment of 250 pupils. The School Sisters of
Notre Dame from Milwaukee are the instructors. The
Reverend William Foley, the present pastor, is assisted
bv the Reverend James Sullivan.



57




ST. LAURENCE.

The beautiful church of St. Laurence is located at
Seventy-third Street and Madison Avenue. The Rev-
erend S. Molloney is pastor of the parish. About 550
children are enrolled in the school, which is taught by
the Dominican Sisters from Adrian, Michigan.




ST. ANSELM'S, FOUNDED 1909.

The church building of St. Anselm's Parish is a
handsome large structure of the popular combination
style and is located at the corner of Sixty-first Street
and Michigan Avenue. The parish was erected from
portions of the parishes of St. Ann's, Holy Cross and
St. Bernard's. The Reverend M. S. Gilmartin, the
founder, still holds the pastorate. The Reverends M. J.
Haydon and W. J. Rooney are assistant pastors. The
400 children are taught by the Sisters of Providence.



ST. COLUMBANUS',

St. Columbanus' Parish
was founded in 1909 by
the Reverend D. P.
O'Brien, who is its pres-
ent pastor. The parish
buildings, located at
Seventy-first Street and
Calumet Avenue, are es
pecially attractive and
valuable. Nearly 550
children are enrolled in
the school. The Domini-
can Sisters are in charge.





ST. BRIDE'S, FOUNDED 1893.

St. liride's Parish was founded in 1893 by the Reverend Stanislaus Fitte, C.S.C. The present pastor is the
Reverend William Lynch. The 300 school children of the parish are taught by thi: Sisters of Loretto.



58




ST. PHILIP NERI'S, FOUNDED 1914

The handsome combination church-school building of the parish of St. Philip Xeri (founded in
1914) is located at the intersection of Seventy-second Street and Merrill Avenue. About 800
children attend the school and are under the tutelage of the Sisters of St. Dominic. Reverend
William J. Kinsella is the founder and present, pastor.




AQUINAS HIGH SCHOOL, FOUNDED 1915

The parish of St. Philip Xeri is situated in the beautiful Mryn Mawr Highlands, where its
fine buildings have an attractive setting. During the year l!)lf> the Aquinas High School was com-
pleted. It stands on Seventy-second Street, near Merrill Avenue, and is under the efficient, direc-
tion of the Sisters of St. Dominic from Adrian. Michigan. The new institution is thoroughly
equipped for high-school work. The commercial department will be one of the best in the city and
will be under experienced teachers. Music and art are included in the curriculum.



59



ST. MARGARET'S,
FOUNDED 1874.

As early as 1874 the
Benedictine Fathers or-
ganized St. Margaret 's
parish, on Ninety-fifth
Street near. Loomis. In
the year 1892 the pres-
ent pastor, the Reverend
S. P. McDonnell, became
pastor. Since his appoint-
ment this parish has
grown slowly but substan-
tially. The church build-
ings are now located at
Ninety-ninth and Throop Streets. The school has an attendance of 400 pupils taught by the
Sisters of Notre Dame from Milwaukee. Father McDonnell pays great attention to the thorough-
ness of his school. He is assisted in his labors by the Reverend Michael Cavallo. Father McDon-
nell is also Chaplain of the Academy of Our Lady at Longwood.





ST. CATHARINE OF
GENOA.

The parish of
St. Catharine of
Genoa, located at
One Hundred-and-
Eighteenth Street
and Lowe Avenue,
was organized by
the Reverend Wil-
liam Foley, now
pastor of St. Am-
brose. The pres-
ent pastor is the
Reverend Michael
Cotter.





ST. AILBE, FOUNDED 1890,

The church, located at Ninety-second Street
and Washington Avenue, known as the con-
gregation of St. Ailbe, was founded in 1890 as
a mission church of St. Thomas Aquinas. The
Reverend Philip Traynor is the present pastor.

A school will soon be opened.



ST. PATRICK'S, FOUNDED 1866.

The parish of St. Patrick's, located in South
Chicago at Ninety-fourth Street and Commer-
cial Avenue, has been in existence for fifty
years. The first resident pastor was the
Reverend P. M. Flannigan. The Reverend E.
O'Reilly is the present pastor. About 750
school children are taught by the Sisters of
Mercy.



60




HOLY TRINITY (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1885.

This church is located at Taylor and Lincoln
Streets. At the time the parish was organized
this locality was one of the best on the West
Side, but, as the city grew, the entire character
of the community changed, until this parish
now ranks among the many that are being
crowded out by business interests. The school
of 170 pupils is taught by the Sisters of Chris-
tian Charity. The parish was founded by Rev-
erend D. M. Thiele in 1885. The Reverend
George Eisenbacher is pastor, and is assisted by
the Reverend Joseph Hagenmayer.

The parish of Holy Trinity was organized to
accommodate the overcrowded German church
of St. Francis, and was the second congregation
to be detached from that parish.





ST. FRANCIS XAVIER'S (German), FOUNDED 1888.
The Reverend A. J. Thiele was the founder
of this parish. Its first resident pastor was the
Reverend Kdward T. Goldschmit, who is also
the present rector. The school of l{.")0 pupils
is taught, by the Franciscan Sisters of Joliet. A
handsome new school building was erected in
1!)06. The parish buildings are located at 2886
Warsaw Avenue.




St. Francis Xavler School, 284(1 Warsaw Avenue.




ST. FRANCIS DE SALES (German), FOUNDED 1888.

This church is located at Avenue J and One
Hundred and Second Street. The Reverend
J. P. Suerth is the pastor. It was founded by
the Reverend M. W. Barth. Four hundred chil-
dren attend the school taught by the Sisters of
St. Francis of Joliet.



Holy Trinity Rectory.



61





SACEED HEART (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1894.

This church, located at Seventieth and Hay Streets,
is the home of a German congregation. The church
was founded in 1894 by the Reverend J. M. Schaefer.
The Reverend Dominic A. Konen is the present pastor
and is assisted by the Reverends Martin Schmidt and
Oscar Strehl. The building houses both church and
school, and here the 365 children who attend the
school receive their instruction from the School Sisters
of St. Francis of Joliet.



SS. PETER AND PAUL, FOUNDED 1881.

The Church of the German parish of SS. Peter and
Paul at 2940 East Ninety-first Street, was founded in
1881 by the Reverend Earth. The Reverend George J.
Blatter is the present pastor. The Order of St. Francis
of Joliet has charge of the 150 pupils who attend the
school.





ST. ALOYSIUS (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1884.

St. Aloysius Church is located at Claremont and Le
Aloyne Avenues. The Very Reverend A. J. Thiele,
V.(i., is at the head of this parish. He is assisted by
the Reverend Henry Lieblaug and Reverend John
Wester. .More than 400 pupils attend the school.



ST. NICHOLAS, EVANSTON (GERMAN), 1887.

St. Nicholas parish is located in South Evanston.
The Reverend P. L. Biermann is the present rector.
The Sisters of St. Agnes instruct the 300 children in
the parochial school.



62




waukee have charge of the parish school, which
has an attendance of 400 children. The Rev-
erend B. Rogers, D.I)., is assistant pastor.




Holy Rosary, One Hundred and Thirteenth and
South Park.

HOLY ROSARY, FOUNDED 1882.

The Pullman Catholic congregation known as
the Holy Rosary was founded in 1882 by the
Reverend John Waldron. He was succeeded
by the Reverend P. J. Tinan, who is now pastor
of St. Columbkille's. Father Tinan built the
church, the rectory and the school, which are
located at One Hundred and Thirteenth Street
and South Park Avenue. The Reverend E. S.
Keough, D. D., who succeeded Father Tinan,
has made many improvements to the church
property. The Sisters of Notre Dame of Mil-



St. Finbarr's, .1359 South Harding.

ST. FINBARR'S.

The church building of St. Finbarr's, which is
located at 1359 South Harding Avenue, was
erected in 1900 by the Reverend Thomas Judge,
D.D., who also was the organizer of the parish.
The building, which is an imposing structure,
is adapted for the use of both church and
school purposes. The school has an attendance
of 450 pupils, who are taught by the Sisters of
Mercy. The Reverend John C. Murphy is the
pastor, and is assisted by the Reverends Francis
C. Smith and B. McGuire.




St. Joachim's, Ninety-first and Langley.

ST. JOACHIM'S.

The beautiful group of buildings belonging to St. Joachim's parish are located at Ninety-first
Street and Langley Avenue. The parish is among the younger communities of the archdiocese, hav-
ing been founded by the Reverend S. Woulfe, the present pastor. The handsome school, which was
much needed, was erected in 1915. Father Woulfe is assisted by the Reverend H. Kennedy.



63







ST. MARTIN'S (GEEMAN), FOUNDED 1885.

The beautiful Church of St. Martin 'a, at Fifty-
ninth Street and Princeton Avenue, considered by
many the finest piece of architecture in Chicago, was
dedicated in 1899. It was erected by the Reverend J.
Schaefer. The present rector, the Reverend F. Schi-
kowski, succeeded Father Schaefer and has erected
the handsome school building and the Sisters' resi-
dence. The school taught by the Sisters of St. Francis,
is attended by 450 pupils.




HOLY GHOST (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1896.

The Church of the Holy Ghost is situated at West
Adams Street and Kildare Avenue. The Reverend
Joseph Warner was the founder, and was succeeded
by the present rector, Reverend W. G. Faber, in 1905.
Reverend John Weiler is his assistant. The Sisters of
St. Agnes conduct the school, which is attended by
160 pupils.




IMMACULATE CONCEPTION OF THE BLESSED
VIRGIN MARY (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1881.

The Reverend P. Fischer founded this parish in
1881. It was then located on Bonfield Street near Ly-
man. In 1891 it was removed to Thirty-first Street.
The Reverend Peter Faber was appointed pastor. He
erected the present church and rectory. Reverend F.
Tschippert is the assistant. The Sisters of St. Francis
instruct the 350 school children.




ST. GREGORY'S (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1904.

Located at Bryn Mawr Avenue and Paulina Street is
St. Gregory's parish church. The present pastor, the
Reverend M. Klasen, was the founder. He is assisted
by the Reverend John P. Stoesser. The Sisters of
Christian Charity conduct the school of 350 pupils.



64




CHURCH OF THE EPIPHANY,
FOUNDED 1905.

The parish of the Epiphany is under
the spiritual direction of the Reverend
J. E. Madden, who became its first
resident pastor in 1905. The church
edifice at the corner of Twenty-fifth
Street and Keeler Aveuue, is a com-
bination building. The nearly 400
pupils who attend the school are under
the care of the Sisters of St. Dominic.
Father Madden is assisted by Rever-
end P. J. Quinn.



Blessed Sacrament, Twenty-second and Central I'aik.



CHURCH OF THE BLESSED SACRAMENT,

FOUNDED 1890.

The parish of the Blessed ^Sacrament was founded
by Reverend Father Henneberry of St. Pius Parish
in 1890. The first resident pastor was the Reverend
J. M. Dunne. During his pastorate the valuable church
property at the corner of Twenty-second Street and
Central Park Boulevard, was built. This includes the
present church, school, and convent. Upon Father
Dunne's death, the Reverend John J. Morrissey became
pastor. Since his appointment a fine parochial resi-
dence has been erected at 2153 South Millard Avenue.
The school is attended by 900 children, who are taught
by the Sisters of the B. V. M. Reverends J. H. Sheri-
dan and W. J. Ryan are assisting priests.




ST. AGATHA'S CHURCH, FOUNDED 1883.

St. Agatha's Parish was founded in 1883 by the
Reverend M. Bonfield. The present church edifice,
which is located at Douglas Boulevard and Kedzie
Avenue, was dedicated in 1898, and may justly take
rank among the many fine churches on the West
Side. A splendid school adjoins the church, which is
attended by 650 children. The Sisters of the B. V. M.
have charge of instruction. In 1915, Father Bonfield,
having passed to his reward, was succeeded by the
Reverend J. J. Darcv.








St. Gall, Fifty-fifth and Millard.

ST. GALL'S.

St. Gall's Church, at Fifty-fifth Street and Millard
Avenue, is a mission of St. Rita's church, and is at-
tended by the Augustinian Fathers. About fifty chil-
dren attend the school and are taught by the Domin-
ican Sisters.



65




CHURCH OF THE ANNUNCIATION

The beautiful church edifice, erected by the
parish of the Annunciation, is situated on the




ST. JOHN BERCHMAN'S (BELGIAN)

St. John Berchman's is the first Belgian
Catholic congregation to be organized in Chi-
cago, and was founded by Archbishop Quigley,
D.D., in 1906. The credit for the unification
of the people of this nationality into an inde-
pendent congregation belongs to the Reverend
J. P. De Schryver. On August 26, 1906, the
cornerstone for their handsome church edifice
was laid at Logan Boulevard and North
Maplewood. In the same year the Reverend
Julius l)e Vos was appointed pastor, and is now
in charge. There is a fine school of 200 pupils
in charge of the Dominican Sisters of Spring-
field, Kentucky.




Annunciation School.

corner of Paulina Street and Waubansia Ave-
nue. The foundation of this congregation was
laid more than half a century ago by the Rev-
erend Thomas J. Edwards, who was the first
pastor. From the very outset the parish has
supported a fine school, which is now attended
by 450 children. The Sisters of Charity of the
B. V. M. are in charge. The Reverend Joseph
A. Glennon is the present pastor. He is as-
sisted by the Reverend Thomas L. Harmon.




ST. STEPHEN'S, FOUNDED 1867.

Among the oldest congregations of the city
is that of St. Stephen's, which worships in the
church edifice at Ohio and Sangamon Streets.
The original structure was built in 1869 by
the Reverend S. M. Barrett, founder of the
parish in 1867. The present pastor, Reverend
Dominic Egan, took charge in 1890. The church
is in the heart of a manufacturing district and
the majority of its members are Italians. Fa-
ther Egan is one of the oldest priests in the
Archdiocese. Reverend S. Sullivan is assistant.



66




ST. CLARA'S (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1894.

The Reverend P. Schikowski organized and founded the church known as St. Clara's at
Sixty-fourth Street and Woodlawn Avemie. At that time this was a German parish, but as the
years have advanced the members have become mixed, and now it is really more English than Ger-
man. The church came under the Carmelite Fathers in 1908. The Reverend Lawrence C. Diether, O.C.
C., is pastor, and is assisted in his labors by the Reverend U. W. Lager. They erected the new school
building at a cost of $50,000. The 250 pupils who attend the school are taught by the Sisters of
St. Francis of Milwaukee.





ST. BENEDICT'S (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1902.

This church, at Irving Park Boulevard and Leavitt Street, was founded by the Right Rev-
erend Archbishop Feehan, D.D., in 1902. Reverend Joseph Zimmerman is pastor, assisted by the
Reverend John J. Steines. The Sisters of St. Francis instruct 400 children in the parochial school.



67




OUR LADY OF

THE ANGELS,

FOUNDED

1894.

The congrega-
tion of Our Lady
of the Angels was
founded by the
Reverend J. A.
Hynes in 1894. At
this time t h e
northwest part of
the city, in which
this parish is situ-
ated, was v e r y
sparsely settled,
but during these
twenty years a
number of new
Catholic churches
have been erected
in the vicinity.
The parish of Our
Lady of the An-
gels has become

very flourishing, and its large school has an attendance of nearly 1100 pupils, who are under
the tuition of the Sisters of Charity of the B. V. M. The commodious church-school building and rec-
tory are situated on the corner of Iowa Street and Hamlin Avenue. Father Hynes is assisted by the
Reverends Thomas Small and George Parker, D.D.



Our Lady of the Angels, Avers and Iowa Street.



ST. MARK'S,

FOUNDED

1894.

The parish of
St. Mark's was
founded by the
Reverend Thomas
A. Kearns in 1894.
The church is as
yet incomplete, the
basement only
having been built.
The school build-
ing (shown by the
illustration) is a
modern brick
structure at
Campbell Avenue
and Thomas
Street. The 320
children who at-
tend are taught by
the Sisters of
Providence. The
Reverend J. S.
Finn is pastor. He
is assisted by the
Reverend P. J.
McGuire.







St. Mark's School, Campbell and Thomas.



68








ST. MEL'S, FOUNDED 1878.

The splendid parish of St. Mel's was originally in-
cluded in the territory of Our Lady of Sorrows parish.
The first church was organized under the .missionary
efforts of the Servite Fathers, and was erected at Lake
Street and Forty-fourth Avenue in 1878. The corner-
stone was laid by the Right Reverend Thomas Foley,
D.D., and the building was dedicated under the patron-
age of St. Philip of Benizi. Father Thomas Moreschini,
O.S.M., was placed at the head of the new parish. In
1883 the Servite Brothers resigned their jurisdiction
and the present pastor, the Reverend P. J. McDonnell,
was appointed to take charge. In 1886 St. Philip's



St. Mel's Rectory.

parochial school opened with 150 pupils
under the efficient charge of the teach-
ing Sisters of Providence of St. Mary's,
Indiana. In 1896 the basement of the
present church, at Washington Boule-
vard and Kildare Avenue, was dedi-
cated under the patronage of St. Mel,
and hence the parish is known as St.
Mel's instead of St. Philip's. The
church, which is a handsome specimen
of the Romanesque style and richly fur-
nished, was not completed until 1910.
It has a seating capacity of 1250. In
the meantime other important parish
buildings were erected. The rectory
was built in 1898; in 1907, the new St.
Mel's school, which can accommodate
over 1300 pupils, was opened; and in
1908, the fine St. Mel's Convent was
erected. A high school for boys will be
built shortly.




St. Mel's School.



Ft. Mel's Convent.



69




CHURCH OF THE RESURRECTION OF OUR LORD, FOUNDED 1910.

The Church of the Resurrection of Our Lord, on Jackson Boulevard and Leamington Avenue,
was the fourth Catholic congregation to be organized in Austin. The handsome parish buildings,
consisting of a rectory and a large combination building for church and school use, were erected
in 1910 by Reverend M. J. Sullivan, the founder and present pastor. More than 500 children at-
tend the school, which is taught by the Sisters of Mercy. The Reverend J. A. Cunningham is assist-
ant pastor.




ST. THOMAS AQUINAS, FOUNDED 1909.

Situated on Washington Boulevard and Le Claire Avenue, in one of the most attractive parts
of the West Side, are the fine large buildings of the parish of St. Thomas Aquinas, founded by the
present pastor, the Reverend D. Luttrell, in 1909. The school children, who number 450, are taught
by the Sisters of Mercy. The Reverends W. J. Murphy and Thomas P. Nolan are the assistants.




OUR LADY OF MERCY, FOUNDED 1911.

The beautiful buildings of the parish of Our Lady of Mercy are located at Montrose Boulevard
and North Troy Street. The parish was organized by the present pastor, the Reverend H. P.
Coughlin in 1911. The 360 children who attend the parochial school are under the instruction of
the Sisters of Providence. The Reverend Edward P. O'Connor is assistant pastor.



70




PRECIOUS BLOOD, FOUNDED 1908.



The imposing combination church-school edi-
fice of the congregation of the Precious Blood
is located at the corner of Western Avenue and
Congress Street. The parish was organized in
1908 under the direction of the late Most Rev-
erend Archbishop Quigley, D.D., by the Rev-
erend William L. Kearney, who was also ap-
pointed to be its pastor. This parish has



grown by leaps and bounds, and, although only
a few years old, its commodious church house
is becoming too small for the congregation.
The large and flourishing school of nearly 900
pupils is under the care of seventeen Sisters of
Mercy. Father Kearney is assisted by the Rev-
erends J. A. McCarthy, Thomas P. Kelly and
Lea M. Hartke.





ST. MALACHY'S, FOUNDED 1881.



The parish of St. Malachy's was founded
in 1881 and was organized from portions of
St. Jarlath's and St. Columbkille's. Its first
pastor was the late Father Hodnett, who
erected the fine church edifice at the corner of
Walnut Street and Western Avenue. Father
Hodnett was succeeded by the Reverend James
T. Callaghan, LL.D. After Father Callaghan



became pastor, property was purchased at the
corner of Washington and Oakley Boulevards
and a beautiful and spacious school building
erected. Nearly 600 children of the parish at-
tend this school, where they are taught by the
Sisters of Mercy. Father Callaghan is assisted
by the Reverends D. Byrnes, Walter Murphy
and Thomas Friel.



71




St. Sylvester, HumboUlt and Palmer Square.



ST. DOMINIC'S, FOUNDED 1905.

St. Dominic's Church, located at the corner
of Locust and Sedgwick Streets, was founded
by the Reverend E. M. Griffin in 1905. The
style of architecture of this fine church is a
pleasing combination of Roman and Gothic.
The parish being located in a large manufac-
turing district, the congregation is composed
almost entirely of Italians. The 400 children
who attend the school are taught by the Sisters
of Charity of the B. V. M. The Reverend P. J.
Scanlan, the present pastor, is assisted by the
Reverend M. Hanley.



ST. SYLVESTER'S, FOUNDED 1882.

The parish of St. Sylvester was organized by
the Reverend Sylvester Delaney in 1882, who
was appointed to be its first pastor. The first
church in which the congregation worshiped
was located on Humboldt Street. In 1910 the
old church was discarded. A new location hav-
ing been secured at Humboldt Boulevard and
Palmer Square, the present beautiful Gothic
structure was erected by the Reverend Michael
O'Brien, who continues as pastor. Other valu-
able church property, including rectory, school
and Sisters' residence, has been added during
his pastorate. The Sisters of Providence, eigh-
teen in number, are in charge of the school,
which has an attendance of 750 children.




St. Dominic's, 357 Locust Street.




OUR LADY OF VICTORY, FOUNDED 1909.

Our Lady of Victory is one of the many parishes organized under the administration of the
late Archbishop Quigley, and was founded by the Reverend Francis Cichotzki, who is now its pas-
tor. The large parish building a combination of church and school is located at 5211 Sunnyside
Avenue. The Franciscan Sisters of Milwaukee have charge of the school, which is attended by 260
children.



NOTRE DAME, POUNDED
1873.

The first Catholic churches
in Chicago were erected by
French priests, the pioneer be-
ing that of St. Mary 's, founded
by Father St. Cyr in 1833. St.
Louis, the second French
church, which was destroyed
in the great fire, was founded
by Reverend Isador Lebel in
1849. Notre Dame, the third
French church, built in 1873,
was originally located at Har-
rison and Halsted Streets. A
new site was secured in 1884 at
Sibley Street and Vernon Park
Place, where the present build-
ings were erected by Reverend
A. L. Bergeron. The school is
taught by the Sisters of Notre
Dame of Montreal. This school
has also a boarding depart-
ment. The course of study is
from the primary through the
academic grades. Music and
art are taught by experienced
teachers.




Notre Dame, Sibley and Vernon Place.





ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST, FOUNDED 1893.

St. John the Baptist, founded in 1893 and located
at Peoria Street and Fiftieth Place, is the second
largest French congregation in Chicago. Reverend
P. T. Gelinas is the pastor. The school, with 350 chil-
dren, is taught by Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus
and Marv.



ST. LOUIS, FOUNDED 1889.

The French Church of St. Louis, Kast One Hundred
and Seventeenth Street, West Pullman, was founded
in 1889 by Reverend C. Fournier. Reverend J. C.
Fortin is the pastor. The St. Louis Academy and High
School, conducted by the Sisters of the Congregation
of Notre Dame, has 250 pupils.



73




ST. ANDREW'S CHURCH, FOUNDED 1894.

One of our more recent churches is that of St. Andrew's, situated at Paulina and Addison
Streets. The Reverend Father A. Croke organized this parish in 1894. The original church was a
frame building on Addison Street, but, as the parish grew, plans were made for a larger church,
and in 1915 the handsome mission structure was completed. Father Croke, still the spiritual head
of this parish, is assisted by Reverend W. Long and Reverend Francis Hart. The Sisters of Provi-
dence instruct the 625 children in the parochial school.




St. Andrew's School and Convent.




ST. GERTRUDE'S, FOUNDED 1912.

St. Gertrude's is one of the later parishes organized
under the administration of His Grace, the late Arch-
bishop Quigle}-, D.D. The church and rectory are situ-
ated at the corner of Glenwood and Granville Avenues.
The parish was founded by the Reverend P. F. Shew-
bridge, the present pastor. The Sisters of the B. V. M.
have charge of the school, which is attended by 375
pupils. Father Shewbridge is assisted by the Reverend
Luke Lvons.



OUR LADY OF GRACE.

Our Lady of Grace is another of the recent parishes
founded by the late Most Reverend Archbishop Quig-
ley, D.D. The fine combination building is located at
the corner of Hamlin and Fullerton Avenues. Nearly
200 children attend the school, which is under the
tutelage of the Sisters of St. Dominic. The Reverend
James J. Mullaly is pastor.



ST. EDWARD'S, FOUNDED 1899.

The little church of St. Edward's is situated at the
corner of Kostner and Sunnyside Avenues. The parish
was founded by the Reverend T. J. McCormick in 1899.
He was succeeded by the Reverend J. J. Cregan, the
late pastor. The school, which is under the charge
of the Dominican Sisters, is attended by 375 children.




ST. GENEVIEVE, I'OUNDED 1901.

The Church of St. Genevieve is situated on the north-
west side of the city, at LaVergne and Armitage Ave-
nues. The parish was organized in 1901 by the Rever-
end J. A. Hynes, now pastor of Our Lady of Angels.
Reverend T. D. Burke is the present pastor.




Our Lacy of Grace, Hamlin and Fullerton.




St. Edward's, Kostner and Sunnyside.




ST. BONAVENTURE, FOUNDED 1911.

The parish of St. Bonaventure's was founded in 1911
by its present pastor, the Reverend M. J. McGuire. The
handsome combination church building is situated on
the corner of Diversey Boulevard and Marshfield Ave-
nue. The flourishing school, under the Sisters of St.
Joseph, has an attendance of about 300 pupils.



75




MATERNITY B. V. M., FOUNDED 1910.

The parish of the Maternity of the B. V. M.
was founded by the Reverend Francis Caraher
in 1910. The fine, large parish building is lo-
cated on the corner of Monticello and North
Avenues. The style of architecture is the com-
bination of school and house of worship so
largely used by recently organized parishes.
The large school of 400 pupils is under the di-
rection of the Sisters of Providence. The Rev-
erend Francis Caraher is. pastor, and Reverend
W. C. Burke, assistant.




QUEEN OF ANGELS, FOUNDED 1809.

The flourishing congregation of the Queen of
Angels was established in 1909 by the Reverend
Francis L. Reynolds. By his untiring zeal and
efforts tlie handsome group of church buildings
at the corner of Western and Sunnyside Ave-
nues was erected. They consist of a handsome
church-school, a rectory and Sisters' house.
More than 350 children attend the school, which
is taught by the Sisters of St. Dominic. Father
Reynolds was succeeded in the pastorate by the
Reverend Terrence O'Brien in 1915. He is as-
sisted by the Reverend John Campbell.




ST. VIATOR'S, FOUNDED 1889.

St. Viator's parish was organized by the Con-
gregation of St. Viator in 1889, and the Rev-
erend Father Faunier was its first pastor. The
original buildings were located at Belmont and
Crawford Avenues. In 1911 a new site was se-
cured, at Kedvale Avenue and Addison Street,
upon which a fine combination parish building
and rectory were erected by the Reverend T. J.
McCormick. In 1912 the Reverend J. F. Ryan,
C.S.V., succeeded to the pastorate, in which he
is assisted by Reverend L. J. Goulette. The
Sisters of St. Joseph have charge of the paro-
chial school.




OUR LADY HELP OF CHRISTIANS.

The congregation of Our Lady Help of Chris-
tians is among the number of parishes recently
organized in the Archdiocese by the late Most
Reverend Archbishop Quigley, D.D., and was
founded by the Reverend Joseph P. O'Reilly,
who is the present pastor. The combination
church-school and rectory are situated at the
corner of North LeClaire and Iowa Streets.
The school has an enrollment of 400 children,
who are under the care of eleven Sisters of
Charity of the B. V. M.



76




ST. FRANCIS OF ASSISIUM (GERMAN),
FOUNDED 1853.

The third oldest German Catholic Church in Chicago
is that of St. Francis, founded by the Reverend J. B.
Weikamp, and located at West Twelfth Street and
Newberry Avenue. The first church was destroyed by
fire in 1904 and the old edifice was rebuilt in the same
year. The school is attended by 150 children who are
taught by the Sisters of St. Francis from Joliet. The
Reverend A. H. Leising is the present pastor, as-
sisted by the Reverend Leo Gruenenfelder.




ST. PHILOMENA'S (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1895.

One of the first parishes to erect what is known as
a combination building was St. Philomena's at Cort-
land and Kedvale Streets. The handsome new rec-
tory, which is now used as a Sisters' residence, was
built in 1915. The school has 580 pupils, who are in-
structed by the Sisters of St. Francis. The parish is
under the charge of the Reverend J. P. Schiffer, who
is also the founder.




St. Philomea's, Cortlaml and Kedvale.




ST. RAPHAEL'S

(GERMAN),
FOUNDED 1901.

The church and
other buildings of
the parish of St.
Raphael 'a are locat-
ed at Sixtieth and
South Justine Streets,
The Reverend Joseph
Schutte, the founder,
is the present rector.
The 430 school chil-
dren are taught by
the Sisters of Chris-
tian Charity. The
Reverend Schutte is
assisted by Reverend
Peter Gall.



St. Raphael's, Sixtieth and South Justine.



77





ST. GEORGE'S (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1884.

St. George's parish was organized by the
Reverend George D. Heldmann. It is located
on Wentworth Avenue, near Thirty-ninth
Street. The parish buildings consist of church,
rectory, Sisters' home, and a fine school build-
ing. About 300 pupils attend the school and
are taught by the Benedictine Sisters. The
Reverend B. Springmeier is the present rector.



ST. MAURITIUS (GERMAN), FOUNDED
1888.

St. Mauritius' Church is located at Thirty-
sixth Street and Hoyne Avenue. The Reverend
J. A. Neumann is the present pastor. The
building is a combination one and houses both
church and school. About 170 children attend
the school, which is conducted by the Sisters
of St. Francis.




OUR LADY OF PERPETUAL HELP (GERMAN), FOUNDED 1898.

Located in the western section of the city, at St. Louis Avenue and Thirteenth Place, is the
Church of Our Lady of Perpetual Help. The building is a combination one part of it being used as
a church and part as a school. More than 400 children attend this parochial school, which is taught
by the Sisters of Providence. The parish was organized by the present rector, the Reverend Ed-
ward II. Kramer, who is assisted by the Reverend M. Weidner.



78




ST. JOSEPH'S. (FRENCH). FOUNDED 1889.

The church of St. Joseph's, located at Cali-
fornia Avenue and Thirty-eighth Place was
founded by the Reverend J. C. Lesage in 1889.
At present this is a mixed congregation, but
the majority of its communicants are of French
origin. The present pastor is the Reverend
J. V. LaMarre. Over 200 pupils attend the
school taught by the Sisters of St. Joseph of
Nazareth. The assistant is the Reverend P.
Dufault.




ST. MONICA. (COLORED).

The church of St. Monica, located at Thirty-
sixth and Dearborn Streets, is the first colored
Catholic Church to be erected in Chicago. The
Reverend John S. Morris is founder and present
pastor of the parish. The Sisters of the Blessed
Sacrament conduct the school.




ST. CLARE OF MONTEFALCO.

This parish is a mission attended by the
Augustinian Fathers from St. Rita's. The
church building is located at Fifty-fifth Street
and Talman Avenue.



ST. PIUS'. FOUNDED 1873.

One of the oldest parishes on
the West Side is that of St. Pius',
located at Ashland Avenue and
Nineteenth Street. This commu-
nity was attended from the Holy
Family Church until the appoint-
ment of the Reverend Hugh Mc-
Guire in 1873. The present pas-
tor, the Reverend P. C. Conway,
assumed charged in 1901. About
800 children attend the school
taught by the Sisters of the
B. V. M. Reverend Father Con-
way is assisted in his labors of
the parish by the Reverends J. J.
Sigstein, John J. O'Brien and
Francis Magner.




79





ST. MATTHIAS, FOUNDED 1887.

The Church of St. Matthias, located at
Ainslee Street and Claremont Avenue, was
founded by the Reverend Matthias Erz in 1887.
The handsome church, now in course of erec-
tion, is being built by the present pastor, the
Reverend I). M. Thiele.




ST. DIONYSIUS, HAWTHORNE.

The congregation of St. Dionysius is the old-
est Catholic parish in Hawthorne (West Side,
Chicago). The Reverend C. A. Erkenswick is
the present pastor.



ST. BONIFACE. (GERMAN). FOUNDED 1865.

The parish of St. Boniface was organized
by the Benedictine Fathers of St. Joseph's
Church, Chicago, in 1865. Its first pastors
were the Reverends Albrech, Marshall, and
Clemens Venn. The Rev. Albert Evers, the
present pastor, succeeded Father Venn in 1895.
Since beginning his pastorate Father Evers has
erected the beautiful parish church and a sub-
stantial school and rectory besides. The school
has an attendance of 450 pupils who are taught
by the Sisters of St. Francis.




ST. JOSEPH'S. (GERMAN). LOCKPORT.

The Reverend H. M. Franz is the pastor of
St. Joseph's German Church at Lockport,
Illinois. The parochial school is taught by the
Franciscan Sisters.



80



IMMACULATE CONCEP-
TION, WAUKEGAN.

One of the oldest Catholic
parishes in the Archdiocese of
Chicago is that of the Immacu-
late Conception of Waukegan.
A small church was built here
in the thirties, and was admin-
istered to by Father St. Palais,
pastor of St. Mary's, Chicago.
The first resident pastor was
the Reverend Bernard Mc-
Gorisk, who was appointed in
1844. The present pastor is
the Rev. Edward Gavin, who
has been with the parish since
1875.



6350. .yt. Mary's Church and School. WaiAjgan. I!!.




Immaculate Conception of the B. V. M., Waukegan.



ST. MARY'S, EVANSTON.

St. Mary's Catholic Church in beautiful Evanston
was founded by the Reverend Father Donohue in 1870,
remaining with the parish until his death in 1893. He
was succeeded by the present pastor, Reverend H. B.
Smith.




HOLY TRINITY. (CROATIAN.)

The Croatian parish now known as Holy Trinity
and located at 1852 South Throop Street, was organ-
ized in 1914 (under the name of Assumption). About
75 children attend the parochial school. The Reverend
J. Soric is the present pastor.



ST. DENIS', LOCKPORT.

The Church of St. Denis, located in the town of
Lockport, 35 miles from Chicago, is one of the old
Catholic settlements of the Archdiocese, and dates
back to the year 1840. The handsome new church
was commenced in 1877, but was not completed until
1898. The present pastor is the Reverend F. E.
O 'Bryan.



81



SOME KANKAKEE CHURCHES




ST. ROSE OF LIMA, FOUNDED 1855.

The parish of St. Rose of Lima, located in
Kankakee, Illinois, was organized by the Rev-
erend L. Cartuyvels in 1855, and enjoys the
honor of having been the mother of many other
churches which have been founded in this part
of the state. This church has 3,500 communi-
cants. The French language is still dominant
in this community.

St. Joseph's Seminary, which adjoins the
church, is attended by more than 500 children
of the parish. The Sisters of Notre Dame are
in charge of the school.

The Reverend A. D. Granger is the present
pastor, and is assisted by the Reverends S. A.
Daigle and E. J. Souligny.





ST. STANISLAUS, BISHOP AND MARTYR.

The Polish Church of St. Stanislaus is the
youngest Catholic comrmmity in Kankakee.
The Reverend B. Orlemauski has been identified
with the parish for the past year. The Sisters
of the Holy Family of \azareth have charge
of the parochial school.

The course of study is equal to that of the
public grammar school.

The Polish language is taught in all the
grades.

Father Orlemanski, during his pastorate, has
added many improvements. The church has
been decorated, and the school has been
brought to a higher standard. He has also
introduced a number of beneficiary societies
besides the different sodalities.




St. Joseph's Seminary. Adjoins St. Rose of Lima.



EMERGENCY HOSPITAL, KANKAKEE.

The Emergency Hospital at Kankakee is
conducted by the Sister-Servants of the Sacred
Heart of Mary. The Sisters are all trained
nurses and the Hospital is conducted on a high
plane. Many private rooms nicely furnished
are provided for patients ; also a splendid oper-
ating room. Father Granger of St. Rose of
Lima Church was instrumental in securing this
hospital for Kankakee.



82



POLISH CATHOLICS IN CHICAGO.



The Polish element in Chicago constitutes
one of the strongest factors both in the civic
and in the religious life of this cosmopolitan
community. There are between 350,000 and 400,-
000 persons in Chicago who have either come
from Poland to this country or who claim de-
scent from Polish immigrants. They love and re-
spect their adopted country, since it is the
unbearable political conditions in their native
land which have induced them to seek a liveli-
hood elsewhere. They are an industrious peo-
ple, and no shirkers. One of their first ambi-
tions is to secure citizenship papers and to own
their own homes. A tre-
mendous majority of the
Poles in this city, as well
of the four million who
are scattered throughout
the country, are Catholics,
ardently devoted to the
church of their fathers.
This devotion to the
church is shown in the fact
that most of the activities
and institutions of the
Poles in this city are
launched and conducted
by Polish Catholics.

To begin with, there are
thirty-nine Polish Catholic
Churches in Chicago and
the adjoining suburbs, and
forty-six in the Arch-
diocese itself, each with

its own school. The total number of children
attending these Polish schools exceeds 30,000.

The oldest Polish parish is that of St. Stanis-
laus Kostka, at Noble, Ingraham and Bradley
Streets. It was founded in 1867, and will next
year celebrate its golden jubilee. Of the first
church and great school building with its hall,
neither is left today. The latter burned down
some years ago, and the old church, which
was later used as a school, was torn down, in
their places were erected a beautiful set of
buildings, comprising a modern hall, with a
seating capacity of 1,000; a fine home for the
Xotre Dame Sisters, who are the teaching staff,
and a school building in which the 3,500 chil-
dren attending find ample quarters. These
three structures form an architectural unit.
The church, which was erected in 1897, com-
prises an upper and a lower church. In both



of these churches masses and other services are
held every day. The upper church is noted
throughout the city for its beautiful paintings.
Father Vincent Barzynski, who was the pastor
for many years, and who died in 1899, was
widely beloved and was recognized as one of
the most powerful figures in the life of the
Polish community in this country.

Among other Polish churches which are
noted for the beauty of their architecture the
following may be mentioned: St. Michael's,
Eighty-third Street and South Shore Drive;
Holy Innocents, Superior and Armour Streets;




St. Stanislaus Kostka. Founded 1867. Reverend Francis Dembinski, Pastor.



St. Adalbert's, Seventeenth and Paulina
Streets; Holy Trinity, Noble Street, opposite
Chapin Street. The new church of St. Mary
of Angels, now in course of construction at
the corner of North Hermitage Avenue, Cort-
land, and Wood Streets, will also be one of
the notable religious edifices of the city.

Nearly all of the Polish Catholic Churches
in Chicago and suburbs are under the pastor-
ship of the secular clergy. The exceptions are
Holy Trinity Church, directed by the Holy
Cross Fathers; St. Stanislaus Kostka, St. John
Cantius, St. Hedwig's, St. Mary of Angels,
St. Stanislaus Bishop and Martyr, and St. Hya-
cinth's, which are under the guidance of the
Fathers of the Resurrection. His Grace, Most
Reverend Joseph Weber, titular Archbishop of
Darna, Provincial of the Resurrectionist Fath-
ers in the United States, resides at the rectory



83




St. Stanislaus College.

of St. Stanislaus Kostka Church. His Grace,
the Eight Reverend Paul P. Rhode, Bishop of
Green Bay, Wisconsin, was pastor of St.
Michael's Archangel Church, while Auxiliary
Bishop of the Archdiocese of Chicago, until a
few months ago.

The Polish Catholics in Chicago have also
higher institutions for both sexes. The St.
Stanislaus College for young men, located at
Division and Holt Streets, has been in existence
more than twenty-five years. It gives an excel-
lent secondary education in all courses of
instruction and possesses all the requirements
of an institution of the first grade, including
modern scientific laboratories, and is under the
direction of the Fathers of the Resurrection.
The present rector is the Very Reverend Ladis-
laus Zapala. It has an enrollment of 250 stu-
dents. Scores of graduates of this institution
occupy positions of prominence in their com-
munities, in both the lay and spiritual vocations,
one of the foremost among them being Judge
Edmund K. Jarecki.

The Holy Trinity High School (also for boys)
has been successfully conducted for a number
of years by the Fathers of the Holy Cross at
Division and Cleaver Streets. The Sisters of
the Holy Family of Nazareth are in charge of
a high school for girls which has a good at-
tendance. The Sisters of the Resurrection con-
duct a boarding school for girls at 5959 Talcott
Avenue, Norwood Park.

Of other institutions serving the needs of
Polish Catholics in Chicago and conducted by



them, the following should be mentioned : St.
Hedwig's Industrial School for Girls and Polish
Manual Training School for Boys, both located
at Niles, Illinois, furnish shelter and instruction
for 500 orphaned boys and girls of Polish
extraction under the care of the Felician Sis-
ters; St. Mary of Nazareth Hospital, 1120 North
Leavitt Street, known popularly as the "Polish
Hospital," which accommodates 350 patients
and ranks among the best hospitals in the city ;
the Holy Family Nursery, Sixteenth and
Paulina Streets; St. Elizabeth's Nursery, 1360
North Ashland Avenue; St. Joseph's Home for
the Aged and Crippled, Hamlin and Schubert
Avenues ; and, last but far from least, is the
Guardian Angel Settlement at Gross Avenue
and Forty-sixth Street, which owes its existence
to the labors of the pastors of the three adjoin-
ing Polish parishes, Reverend L. Grudzinski
of St. John of God Church, Reverend S. Chole-
winski, of St. Joseph's Church, and Reverend
F. Karabacz of the Sacred Heart of Jesus
Church. Sister Callizta of the Felician Sisters
is the Directress. Mrs. J. Cudahy, widow of
the late packer, takes a very active interest in
this institution.

Now as to societies and organizations. It is
almost unnecessary to say that every church
is the center of an intense activity, which




St. Hedwig's. Founded in 1888.



84



expresses itself in numerous socie-
ties, sodalities, and clubs for all
ages, both sexes, and various pur-
poses, not only religious, but also
for mutual aid in sickness and
death, social, athletic, educational,
and even civic, hi many a Polish
Catholic school building classes
are conducted for the instruction
of Polish young men and women
in the English language and in
the principles of citizenship, to
prepare them for the necessary
naturalization examinations.

The Polish Roman Catholic
Union, the largest of a score of
Polish Catholic organizations in
this country, numbers 90,000 mem-
bers. Its home office is located in
a magnificent building at the cor-
ner of Milwaukee Avenue and Augusta Street.
The building contains a large hall where many
of the Polish celebrations and demonstrations
in this city take place. A smaller organization,
the Polish Alma Mater, has its home office in
the Polish Daily News building, at 1455 West
Division Street. Its founder and present mod-
erator is Reverend Francis Gordon, one of the
Resurrectionist Fathers, who is also pastor of
St. Mary of Angels Church and manager of the
Polish Daily News.

Mention must also be made here of the
Association of Polish Clergy in America, which
comprises all of the Polish Catholic priests in
the United States, numbering about one thou-
sand, and which also has its headquarters in
Chicago. His Grace, Right Reverend P. P.
Rhode, Bishop of Green Bay, Wisconsin, is the
president ; Very Reverend L. Zapala, rector of
St. Stanislaus College, is the secretary ; and
Reverend L. Krakowski of Bay City, Michigan,
is the treasurer. His Grace, Most Reverend J.
Weber, Archbishop of Darna, is honorary
president.

The Polish Catholic press is well represented
in Chicago. Foremost is the Polish Daily
News (Dziennik Chicagoski), published by the
Fathers of the Resurrection, which, from the
day of its founding more than twenty-five years
ago, has been a staunch champion of Catholic




St. Mary of the Angels. Reverend Francis Gordon, Pastor.

ideals, and has the distinction also of being a
well-paying enterprise. It is housed in modern
fashion in a commodious building at 1455 West
Division Street. Its present manager, Rever-
end Francis Gordon, and present editor, Mr.
Stanislaus Szwajkart, have occupied their posi-
tions from the first issue of this paper, of which
85,000 copies are issued every day.

In Chicago are published also: The Polish
Ecclesiastical Review, a monthly which is the
organ of the Association of Polish Catholic
Clergy; Narod Polski, the organ of the Polish
Catholic Union; Polonia, a weekly of which
Reverend Francis Wojtalewicz, pastor of the
Church of the Immaculate Conception, is man-
ager, and the Gazeta Katolicka, published by
the Polish American Publishing Company and
edited by the Holy Cross Fathers.

This synoptical view gives only one phase of
the life of the Polish community in Chicago.
The scope of this article does not allow the
discussion of other phases such as educational,
journalistic, social, political, professional, and
others. Let it suffice to say that, for example,
there are three other Polish daily newspapers
in Chicago, and that two other organizations
(the Polish National Alliance; membership
over 100,000, and the Polish Women's Alliance,
membership .30,000), have their headquarters
in this city.



85




ST. ADALBERT'S CHURCH.



86



ST. ADALBERT'S CHURCH (POLISH), FOUNDED 1872.



St. Adalbert 's, the second largest Polish
church in Chicago, is situated at West Seven-
teenth and Paulina Streets. The parish was or-
ganized in 1872, with Reverend Klimecki as its
first pastor. In 1894 Rev. John Radziejewski,
the founder of the Immaculate Conception
parish, was appointed parish priest. In 1904
the present pastor, the Reverend C. I. Gron-
kowski, took charge of this important com-
munity and it is to his untiring zeal and energy
that the parish is indebted for the magnificent
church edifice which has been recently com-
pleted.

In addition to the church he has built a new
rectory, school, and a day nursery. The school



exact counterpart of St. Paul's Church in
Rome. It has the distinction of being really a
Roman church. It is Italian in style of archi-
tecture, and contains copies of Italian art in
statuary and paintings, while the altars and
their decorations were all made in Italy.

The interior of the church is said to have a
finer display of marble than any other church
in Chicago. The main altar is forty-three feet
high and is patterned after the celebrated Ve-
netian altar in the Jesuit church in Venice. It
is composed entirely of marble and has a marble
dome supported on ten fluted marble columns.
The two side altars, which are elaborately
carved, are twenty-two feet high, of solid
marble, and reproductions of the famous altar




St. Adalbert's, Interior.



is the second largest Catholic school in the city,
with an attendance of more than 2,100 pupils,
who are taught by the Sisters of the Holy Fam-
ily of Nazareth. The Polish language is taught
in all grades, which extend through the eighth.

The corner-stone of the new school was laid
July, 1912, by the Most Reverend Archbishop
Quigley, D. D., the sermon being preached by
the Right Reverend Paul P. Rhode, D. D. The
completed edifice was dedicated in September,
1914, by the Apostolic Delegate, the Most Rev-
erend John Bonezano, D. I). Father Gron-
kowski is assisted by the Reverends S. Czapel-
ski, Alex. Knitter, J. Mencikowski, Felix Helta.

The new St. Adalbert 's Church so nearly ap-
proaches perfection in artistic design and scien-
tific construction that it merits more than the
brief description which our space affords. In
plan and interior arrangement it is almost an



in Breccia, North Italy. The transept altar,
twenty-two feet high, also of marble, contains
a full size marble duplicate of Michael Angelo's
"Pietra" as it stands in St. Peter's in Rome.
In fact, a plaster cast was made of the original
in order that the reproduction might be per-
fect.

This magnificent church is one hundred and
ninety-five feet long and one hundred and
twelve feet wide over all. Each of its two
towers is one hundred and eighty-six feet high,
and between them are three entrances protected
by a granite portico whose roof is supported
on eight granite columns each twenty-five feet
high. The building is absolutely fireproof, no
wood being used in its construction except the
doors. The exterior is faced with buff-colored
brick and trimmed with terra cotta.

The auditorium seats 1,800 people.



87





Rectory and Church of St. John Cantius.

ST. JOHN CANTIUS (POLISH).

When the Polish Immigrants were coming to Chicago more and more and settled among their
fellow countrymen, St. Stanislaus Church, the first Polish-Catholic church although having a ca-
pacity for seating 5,000 persons, could not accommodate the great in-
flux of Polish Catholics.

A new church was a necessity. The Reverend Vincent Barzynski,
then pastor to St. Stanislaus, appointed Reverend John Kasprzycki,
pastor to the new parish to be. At once a parish committee was elected,
a large plat of ground was secured at Carpenter, Chicago, and Fry
Streets, and, in 1893, the building was begun. In five years the church
was finished and dedicated -to St. John Cantius, whose name it bears.

The Reverend John Kasprzycki saw the
great necessity for a parochial school,
which was erected in 1903. Thus having
church and school the number grew rapid-
ly. At present the St. John Cantius par-
ish is under the direction of Reverend
Stanislaus Siatka, C.R., appointed pastor
March 1915. Four assistant priests help
him in the spiritual work. It must be men-
tioned that more than 2000 children at-
tend St. John Cantius school, which is
conducted by the Venerable Notre Dame
Sisters of Milwaukee. There are thirty
teachers, whose principal is the Venerable
Sister M. Oswaldine.

School of St. John Cantius.



88



HOLY INNOCENTS

The Church of the Holy
Innocents, on the northeast
corner of Armour and Supe-
rior Streets, is one of the
most imposing edifices on the
north side. The style of
architecture, with its many
domes and the effective com-
bination of materials used in
its construction, make it a
conspicuous feature of that
neighborhood. The walls are
of dark pressed brick with
buff Bedford cut-stone trim-
mings, while the roof is of
green tile. This Polish par-
ish was organized in 1905 by
the present pastor, the Rev-
erend John N. Zwierzchow-
ski. He is assisted in his la-
bors by the Reverend Fathers
J. Grembowicz, B. Kas-
przycki, A. S. Gorski and
Wyrzykowski. The large
parish school is under the di-
rection of the Felician Sisters
and has an attendance of
1260 pupils.




Holy Innocents.




St. Stanislaus, Bishop and Martyr.



ST. STANISLAUS,
BISHOP AND MARTYR

As early as 18915 the
Poles began to settle in
Cragin, then a suburb of
Chicago, and His Grace,
Archbishop Feehan, D.D.,
was asked to send a priest
to care for the spiritual
needs of these people. He
appointed the Reverend
Vincent Barzynski, the
Superior of Resurrection
Fathers, to take charge of
the matter, with the result
that the parish of St. Stan-
islaus was organized in
1893, and has been in the
spiritual care of these fa-
thers ever since. The con-
gregation still worships in
the combination church-
school building, which cost
$50,000, but is erecting a
beautiful new edifice, which
will be, when completed,
one of the finest and most
attractive churches in the
Archdiocese. The location
is on Lorel Avenue, near
Fullerton. The Reverend
Stanislaus Swierczek is the
present pastor. The parish
school, which is in charge
of the Franciscan Sisters,
gives instruction to 425
children.



IMMACULATE CONCEPTION OF THE B. V. M. (POLISH), FOUNDED IN 1882.





Immaculate Conception Church.



In 1882 the Reverend J. Rad-
ziezewski was degelated to organ-
ize a Polish parish in South Chi-
cago, to be known as the Immacu-
late Conception of the B. V. M.
He was the first pastor and erected
the first parish building. He was
succeeded by the Reverend M.
Pyplacz and the late Reverend
Zaleski. This parish has been un-
der the jurisdiction of the present
pastor, the Reverend F. M. Woj-
talewicz, since 1895. In that time
this young and energetic priest has
replaced all the original buildings
by other of modern construction.
They consist of a handsome
church, rectory, school and Sis-
ters' home. This valuable property
is situated at Eighty-eighth Street
and Commercial Avenue. The
large and elegant school has an at-
tendance of 1,050 children who are
under the instruction of the
Polish Sisters of St. Joseph. Both
English and Polish are taught
throughout the curriculum. Father
Wojtalewicz is assisted in his
spiritual labors by the Reverends
Stanislaus Koralewski and Frank
Marcinek.




Immaculate Conception, School and Rectory.



ST. MICHAEL'S (POLISH) FOUNDED 1822.



St. Michael's Parish is one of the
most important Polish parishes in
the Chicago diocese. It is situ-
ated in South Chicago and was or-
ganized in 1892 by the Reverend
Adolph Nowichi, who was its first
pastor. In 1898 he was succeeded
by the Reverend Paul P. Rhode,
who afterward became the first
Polish Bishop of Chicago, and is
now Bishop of Green Bay, Wis.

The church property is located
at the corner of Eighty-third
Street and Ontario Avenue. It
comprises a fine Gothic church
which is considered one of the
most beautiful in the archdiocese ;
a school building which has lately
been remodeled and made thor-
oughly modern, and a handsome
rectory and Sisters' convent. The
greatest part of this work was ac-
complished while the Right Rev-
erend Paul P. Rhode, D. D., was
pastor. The Reverend J. M. Langc
is the present pastor.

More than 1,200 children are in-
structed in both Polish and Eng-
lish by the Sisters of Nazareth of
the Holy Family. The course of
study extends through the gram-
mar grades.




tit. Michael's Church, South




St. Michael's School, South Chicago.



91




ST. FRANCIS OF ASSISIUM.

Among many new parishes founded in recent
years is that of St. Francis of Assisium, located
on West Walton Street and Kostner Avenue.
The parish was organized in 1909 by the Rev-
erend Joseph P. Pajkowski. The present pas-
tor, the Reverend F. Jagielski, was appointed
September, 1915.




ST. JOSEPH'S (POLISH), FOUNDED 1886.

The third Polish congregation organized on
the South Side was St. Joseph's, located at
Forty-eighth and Paulina Streets, and founded
in 1886. The first pastor was the Reverend J.
Zyla. The beautiful new church was erected
by the present pastor, the Reverend S. Chole-
winski.



ST. BARBARA'S (POLISH), FOUNDED 1910.

In 1910 the parish of St. Mary of Perpetual
Help was subdivided and the parish of St.
Barbara's was organized. The property is
located on Throop Street near Twenty-ninth
and consists of a handsome new church, school
and rectory. Reverend Anthony Xawrocki
was appointed pastor.




ST. MARY OF PERPETUAL HELP, FOUNDED 1884.

The Polish congregation of St. Mary of
Perpetual Help on Thirty-second Street near
Morgan is the oldest Polish parish on the
Southwest Side, having been organized in
1884 by the Reverend Radziejewski. The first
resident pastor, Reverend John Zyla, remained
until 1891 and was succeeded by the present
pastor, Reverend S. Xawroeki. In October,
1903, this church was consecrated by Arch-
bishop Quigley.



92





SS. PETER AND PAUL (POLISH).

SS. Peter and Paul 's Parish is among the oldest
parishes on the southwest side. Its handsome church
and school building are located at Thirty-seventh and
Paulina Streets. The Felician Sisters of Milwaukee
are in charge of the parish school, which has an en-



rollment of nearly 600 pupils. Both Polish and English
are taught. The Reverend M. Kotecki is pastor.





ST. ANN'S CHURCH (POLISH), FOUNDED 1903.

The large combination building erected by St. Ann 's
Parish for school and divine worship stands at Leavitt
Street and Eighteenth Place. About 1000 children at-
tend the school. The Reverend C. F. Slominski is the
founder and pastor.



ST. CASIMIR'S (POLISH), FOUNDED 1890.

St. Casimir's Church, located at Twenty-second and
Whipple Streets, was founded in 1890, and is attended
by 1800 families. Reverend Albert Furman, the present
pastor, has had charge of the parish since 1893. He is
assisted by the Reverends A. Koztek, John Zielezinski
and John Kozlowski, D.D. The illustration shows the
proposed new church in Flemish Renaissance style.




ST. HELEN'S (POLISH), FOUNDED 1914.
St. Helen's Polish Church, located on Augusta Street
near Oakley Avenue, was built in 1914 by the Rev-
erend P. Pyterek, the pastor and founder of the par-
ish. The building is adapted for both church and
school purposes. The school children number 316 and
are under the care of the Felician Sisters. Eeverend
Constantino Warciniak is assistant pastor.




FIVE HOLY MARTYRS (POLISH).

The Church of the Five Holy Martyrs a combina-
tion church and school building is situated in the
southwest part of the city at South Albany Avenue
and Forty-first Street. Reverend J. H. Kruszka is
pastor.




ST. VALENTINE'S (POLISH), FOUNDED 1912.

St. Valentine's Polish Church, at Thirteenth Street
and Fiftieth Avenue, was founded in 1912 by the Eev-
erend A. Halgas, its first pastor. He was succeeded in
1915 by the Reverend Theodore Langfort.





IMMACULATE HEART (POLISH), FOUNDED 1912.
The flourishing Polish parish of the Immaculate
Heart was founded by Reverend R. Appelt, who is still
its spiritual head. The combination church and school
building, located at Byron and North Spaulding Ave-
nues, was built in 1912. The school, in charge of the
Sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth, has 175 chil-
dren in attendance.



TRANSFIGURATION CHURCH (POLISH),
FOUNDED 1911.

The large and handsome combination building of
the Church of Transfiguration, which is located on
Carmen Avenue near Rockwell Street, was built by
the Reverend F. J. Wojciechowski, the pastor, in 1911.
It is used both for school and worship. The 150 school
children are taught by the Polish Sisters of St.
Joseph.



94





ST. MAKY MAGDALENE (POLISH),
FOUNDED 1910.

The Polish parish of St. Mary Magdalene was
organized June 12, 1910, by the pastor, the
Reverend Edward A. Kowalewski. The corner-
stone of the school-church building, located at
Marquette Avenue and Eighty-fourth Street,
was laid October 25 of that year by the Right
Reverend Bishop P. P. Rhode, D. D. The first
mass was celebrated February 12, 1911. About
460 children attend the school, which is taught
by the Felician Sisters. The Reverend Vincent
Nowicki is the assisting priest.



ST. SALOMEA'S CHURCH (POLISH),
FOUNDED 1897.

The Polish Church of St. Salomea's, situated
at One Hundred and Eighteenth Street and In-
diana Avenue in West Pullman, was founded by
Father F. Kroll in 1897. The present pastor,
Reverend J. S. Pajkowski, succeeded the Rev-
erend J. M. Lange, Ph.D., in 1915. The 414
pupils who attend the parish school are taught
by the Polish Sisters of St. Joseph.





St. Wenceslaus (Polish), 3452 North Lawndale.



Rectory of St. Mary Magdalene.



ST. WENCESLAUS' CHUECH (POLISH),
FOUNDED 1912.

St. Wenceslaus' Parish was organized in 1912
by the Reverend F. C. Scieszka. The church is
located on North Lawndale Avenue between Ros-
coe and Cornelia Streets. There are 370 children
in the school, who are instructed by the Felician
Sisters. Father Seieszka is assisted by the Rev-
erend James Szprenga.



95










ST. JOHN OF GOD

(POLISH),
FOUNDED 1906.

The parish buildings of
tlic flourishing young Pol-
ish community of St. John
of God are located on
South Throop Street be-
tween Fifty - first and
Fifty-second Streets. Al-
though established only
ten years ago (1906) by
the Reverend John Jen-
drzejek, this parish ranks

among the largest Polish communities in the city. Father Jendrzejek erected the large combina-
tion church and school building and the Sisters' convent. He was succeeded in 1909 by Rev-
erend L. Grudzinski, the present pastor, who built the new rectory. The school children num-
ber 1,150 and are taiight by the Felician Sisters of Milwaukee. The assistant priests are Reverends
Stephen A. Bubacz, John Stoinski, and Stephen Szczcpanski.




GOOD SHEPHERD (POLISH), FOUNDED 1907.

The Church of the Good Shepherd, at 2719 South Kolin Avenue, was founded in 1907 by the
Reverend A. L. Jung, the present pastor. Five Felician Sisters, 0. S. F., teach the 200 children
who attend the parochial school.




SACRED HEART (POLISH), FOUNDED 1910.

The Sacred Heart (Polish) Church, at Forty-sixth and South Lincoln Streets, was founded in
1910 by its present pastor, the Reverend F. J. Karabacz. In addition to the church (combina-
tion), he erected the Sisters' convent and parochial residence. The school is attended by 925 chil-
dren and taught by the Felician Sisters. Father Karabacz is assisted by the Reverends Anthony
Klowo, James J. Strzycki, and Anthony Gawsch.



96







Holy Trinity, Xoble and Milwaukee.

HOLY TRINITY (POLISH), FOUNDED 1873.

The Church of the Holy Trinity is one of the oldest
and most important Polish congregations in Chicago,
having been founded in 1873, and is in spiritual
charge of the Fathers of the Holy Cross, Notre Dame,
Indiana. The parish buildings are located at Noble
and Chapin Streets. The Reverend Casimir Sztuczko,
C. S. C., has been pastor for many years. The present
church and parochial residence were erected by him,
and he also purchased the high-school building on
Division Street. The nearly 1900 children who attend
the schools are taught by the Brothers of the Holy
Cross and the Sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth.




St. Josaphat Church.

ST. JOSAPHAT 'S (POLISH), FOUNDED 1884.

Another important Polish parish is that of St.
Josaphat 's, founded in 1884 by the Reverend Francis
Breitkopt, C. R. The Reverend F. Lange, who was
appointed pastor in 1889 erected the parish buildings
at Belden and Southport Avenues. He was succeeded
by the present pastor, Reverend F. G. Ostrowski, P.R.,
in 1914. The Sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth
teach the 875 school children of the parish. The as-
sisting priests are the Reverends Thadeus Nowak and
D. F. Tyrcha.





Holy Trinity High School, Division and Cleaver Streets.



St. Josaphat School.



97




ST. FLORIAN. (POLISH).

The congregation of St. Florian was organ-
ized in 1906 and the parish buildings are
located at 133rd Street and Green Bay Ave-
nue. This district is known as Hegewisch.
The present pastor, the Reverend F. W. Chod-
niewicz, was the founder. Nearly 300 children
attend the school taught by the Franciscan
Sisters.




ASCENSION OF OUR LORD CHURCH, EVANSTON.

The first Polish Church to be founded in
Evanston was the Ascension of Our Lord. It
was founded in 1912 by the Reverend Felix
Feldheim, the present pastor. One hundred
and thirty-two children attend the school,
taught by the Felician Sisters. This young par-
ish has made wonderful strides since its organi-
zation and much credit is due to Father Feld-
heim for the many improvements that have
been accomplished among the Polish people of
Evanston. He has established many beneficiary
and social societies for the benefit of his pa-
rishioners.



St. Hyacinth's, 3651 West George Street.







Guardian Angel Day Nursery and Home for Girls. (Polish).
Gross Avenue and Forty-sixth Street.



98



THE BOHEMIAN CATHOLICS OF THE ARCHDIOCESE OF CHICAGO



Among the Slav people who, in the course
of time, have made Chicago their home, the
Bohemians were the first to settle in this great
western metropolis.

The first Bohemian Catholic Church (St.
Wenceslaus), which was erected at DeKoven
and Desplaines Streets, was the first Slav
church in Chicago ; St. Wenceslaus School, the
first Slav school; and the Reverends F. Sulak,
S.J., and Joseph Molitor, the first Slav priests.
Hence, St. Wenceslaus Church and School are
landmarks in the history of the Slav population
of Chicago.

The first Bohemian settlers came to Chicago
about the year 1850, and settled on the north
side in the neighborhood of Clark and Dear-
born Streets, near North Avenue. Soon after-
ward others settled in the vicinity of the pres-
ent location of the Rock Island Station. The
first permanent Bohemian settlement, however,
was founded in the district embraced by De-
Koven, Polk, Ewing, Burlington, Canal, and
other streets. From this settlement the Bohe-
mians drifted to other parts of the city, chiefly
to the west and southwest, creating new Bo-
hemian colonies. During six decades thousands
of Bohemian immigrants have come to Chicago
every year. Bohemia was over-populated, and
America, with its vast opportunities, presented
a very inviting field to the poor European. The
early Bohemian settlers, as have been nearly all
subsequent Bohemian immigrants, were finan-
cially poor, but sound of body and mind, hon-
est and ever willing to work, and to work hard,
to make an honest living. Owing to their con-
servative habits, as well as to their thrift and
untiring industry, they have made wonderful
strides and are today an important and an
integral part of the political and industrial life
of the city.

The Bohemian population of Chicago, at the
present time (1916), is estimated to be from
150,000 to 175,000. About one-half of this num-
ber are Catholics. Forty-five per cent of the
other half, however, have drifted away from
their faith and the greater part of these are
entirely indifferent in matters of religion.

St. John's and St. Procopius' parishes fol-
lowed in order of time. St. Procopius is the'
most important of the Bohemian parishes, hav-
ing at one time over two thousand families, and
was the largest Bohemian congregation in the
United States. In addition to their school and
beautiful church buildings, there are several
important Bohemian institutions dedicated to
St. Procopius, which are located at Lisle, Illi-
nois. They are St. Procopius Abbey, St. Proco-
pius Seminary and St. Procopius College. The
buildings are modern in construction and splen-
didly adapted for their purposes, having been
erected at a cost of about $250,000. About a
half-mile from St. Procopius College and Sem-
inary is the Sacred Heart Convent, the home
of the Bohemian Benedictine Sisters, who are



supplying many of our Bohemian and Slovac
schools with teachers.

Organizations of various kinds are highly de-
veloped among the Bohemian Catholics of Chi-
cago. In almost every parish we find from
fifteen to thirty-five different organizations.
Some are mutual or beneficiary, others religious,
while some are social. The Bohemian Catholics
of Chicago have an organization which is the
only one of its kind in the United States. It is
called the Bohemian Federation of Catholics in
the Archdiocese of Chicago and not only com-
prises the various organizations of the Arch-
diocese, but the various parishes as well. Each
parish is represented by a delegate appointed
by the pastor, this delegate being ex-officio a
member of the executive board.

In 1916 the Bohemian Catholics of Chicago
have eleven congregations. Nine are exclu-
sively Bohemian, the other two are mixed con-
gregations. They are as follows : St. Wences-
laus, DeKoven and Desplaines Streets; St.
John's, Thirtieth Street and Lowe Avenue; St.
Procopius, Eighteenth and Alport Streets ; St.
Vitus, Eighteenth Place and Paulina Street ;
SS. Cyrill and Methodius, Fiftieth Street and
Hermitage Avenue ; Our Lady of Good Counsel,
916 North Western Avenue ; Our Lady of
Lourdes, Keeler Avenue and Fifteenth Street;
St. Ludmila's, Albany Avenue and Twenty-
fourth Street ; Blessed Agnes, Central Park Ave-
nue and Twenty-seventh Street ; Marie Celle,
1428 South Euclid Avenue, South Oak Park,
Illinois; Mary, Queen of Heaven, Fifty-third
Avenue and Twenty-fourth Place, Cicero, Chi-
cago, Illinois. Each Bohemian parish has its
parochial school. There are at present 8200
children in these schools. The Bohemian Cath-
olics are fully cognizant of the importance of a
thorough training in Catholic schools, for ex-
perience has taught them that children who
have not received a thorough Catholic educa-
tion in our own schools are, as a rule, lost to
their faith.

The Bohemian Catholics of Chicago have a
daily paper, the "Narod" (Nation); a semi-
weekly, the "Katolik" (Catholic); a weekly,
the "Pritel Ditek" (Children's Friend), and a
semi-monthly, the "Hospodarske Listy" (Agri-
cultural News). These papers are published by
the Bohemian Benedictine Press, which is
owned and controlled by the Bohemian Bene-
dictine Order. These papers were not estab-
lished for any pecuniary gain, but in the inter-
est of religion and morality. The Bohemian
Benedictine Press likewise publishes all the
Bohemian school books, prints the organs of
several Bohemian Catholic benevolent organ-
izations, publishes books of a religious nature,
etc. Its plant is one of the most modern and
up-to-date Catholic printing plants in the
country, operating five linotype machines, a
semi-rotary machine, two Miehle presses, etc.,
and employing about thirty-five men.




ST. WENCESLAUS (BOHEMIAN),
FOUNDED 1864.

St. Wenceslaus, the first Bohemian Catholic
Church to be built in the city of Chicago, was
founded by the Reverend Father Molitor in
1864. This church is located in the thickly set-
tled district of DeKoven and Desplaines
Streets. The present pastor is the Reverend
Anastasius Rebec, O.S.B. The parish school
is attended by 200 pupils, who are taught by
the Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis of
Joliet.



ST. PROCOPIUS (BOHEMIAN),

St. Procopius' Church, at the corner of West
Eighteenth and Alport Streets, was built by the
Very Reverend William Coke, who organized
the parish in 1875. The boundaries of the
original parish extended from Halsted Street
westward to the city limits. In 1885 the Bene-
dictine Fathers of St. Vincent, Pennsylvania,
took charge of the congregation. The Right
Reverend Nepomucene Jaeger was the first
Benedictine pastor. The parochial school built
by him was attended by nearly 1200 children.
Since then five other Bohemian parishes have
been organized out of the original parish. At

present the school has 656 pupils, who are taught by the Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis
of Joliet. Reverend Methodius Vones, O.S.B., is pastor.




OUR LADY OF LOURDES (BOHEMIAN), FOUNDED 1892.



The Church of Our
Lady of Lourdes, at Kee-
ler Avenue and Fifteenth
Street, was founded by
the Benedictine Fathers
in 1892. The parish was
organized by the Right
Reverend John X. Jae-
ger, then abbott of St.
Procopius Abbey. The
present pastor is the
Reverend A. Mergl. The
school has an attendance
of nearly 250 children.




100




OUR LADY OF GOOD COUNSEL (BOHEMIAN), FOUNDED 1889.

Situated at 916 North Western Avenue is the Bohemian parish church of Our Lady of Good
Counsel. The community was organized by the Reverend J. Moliter and the first parish priest
was the Reverend J. P. Jedlicka. The new school was erected in 1908 at a cost of $25.000,
and the 130 children who attend the school are taught by the Sisters of St. Francis. The Reverend
Francis W. Jedlicka is the present pastor.




ST. AGNES' (BOHEMIAN), FOUNDED 1904.

Although founded in 1904, this is one of the largest Bohemian parishes in the Archdiocese.
The founder of this parish was the Reverend Francis Vanous. The church is located at Twenty-
seventh Street and Central Park Avenue. The 500 children who attend the parochial school are
under the instruction of the School Sisters of St. Francis of Milwaukee. The Reverend Innocent
Kestl is the present rector and is assisted by the Reverend Francis Merra.



101




St. Vitas' (Bohemian), Paulina and Eighteenth Place.
ST. VITUS' (BOHEMIAN), FOUNDED 1887.

St. Vitus' Church was organized in 1887 by the
Benedictine Fathers from St. Procopius. Eeverend
Father Sigismund Singer, O. S. B., was appointed to
take charge of the parish. He was succeeded by the
Reverend Valentine Kohlbeek, O. S. B., who remained
with the parish for a number of years. The present
oncumbeut is the Reverend Everett Foster. The 182
school children of the parish receive their instruction
from the Sisters of St. Benedict.



ST. JOHN NEPOMUCENE'S (BOHEMIAN),
FOUNDED 1871.

The parish building located at 2953 Lowe Avenue
is so arranged that it can be used for both school and
divine worship. The original church was located at
Twenty-fifth Street and Princeton Avenue. In 1913
it was removed to its present site. The 130 school
children are taught by the Benedictine Sisters. The
present pastor is the Reverend A. J. Novacek.




ST. LUDMILA'S (BOHEMIAN), FOUNDED 1891.

This fine Bohemian Church is situated at Twenty-fourth Street and South Albany Avenue, and was founded
by the Reverend Matthias Farnik in 1891. The parish buildings consist of church, school, Sisters' residence, and
rectory. The 400 pupils receive a thorough grammar school education from the Sisters of St. Francis from
Joliet. Reverend Francis Bobal is the present rector and is assisted by the Reverend Francis Bozenek.



102



SS. CYRILL AND METHO-
DIUS (BOHEMIAN).

The Church of SS. Cyrill
and Methodius is located in
the southwest district of Chi-
cago, at Fiftieth Street and
Hermitage Avenue, and was
founded by the Reverend
Thomas J. Bobal. He was
also the organizer of this fine
Bohemian parish and is still
its spiritual head. The hand-
some new church which has
recently been erected is of
the Corinthian style of archi-
tecture and is conceded to be
the finest church edifice be-
longing to any Bohemian
parish in the city. The par-
ish maintains a fine school,
attended by 250 children,
who are taught by the Sisters
of St. Francis.




SS. Cyrill and Methodius, Fiftieth and Hermitage.




MARY. QUEEN OF HEAVEN PARISH. CICERO. ILL



MARY QUEEN OF HEAVEN, FOUNDED 1911.

The beautiful buildings of the parish of Mary Queen of Heaven are located at Fifty-third
Avenue and Twenty-fourth Place, in the southwest part of the city. This flourishing community
has been in existence only five years (being founded in 1911), and in that time the people have
secured valuable property and erected a beautiful Roman church and school building. The school
has an attendance of 300 pupils and is taught by the Sisters of Charity of the B. V. M. The mem-
bership of the church includes English, Bohemians and Germans. The Reverend A. J. Dedera, who
organized the parish, is still its spiritual head.




ST. PROCOPIUS COLLEGE, LISLE, ILLINOIS, (BOHEMIAN), FOUNDED 1900.

St. Procopius College (Bohemian), located at Lisle, Illinois, about twenty-five miles from Chi-
cago, is a Bohemian boarding-school for boys and young men under the care of the Benedictine
Fathers. The institution, which is a direct successor of the old Bohemian College in Chicago,
was founded by the Right Reverend Xepomucene Jaeger, O.S.B., in 1900, and has at present an
enrollment of 140 students. The curriculum includes a full high-school course. There are two
departments of instruction one for the Benedictine priesthood and the other for secular educa-
tion. Father Jaeger is at the head of the school and the Reverend Cosmas Vesely, O.S.B., is rector.




BOHEMIAN ORPHAN ASYLUM, LISLE, ILLINOIS, FOUNDED 1898.

At Lisle, Illinois, also, is to be found the Bohemian Orphan Asylum, which was opened in
18!)8 by a number of Bohemian societies, and which is the first institution of the kind established
by that nationality in this country. About 200 children are cared for by the Bohemian Benedic-
tine Sisters. The work of the instruction includes a manual training school for boys and an indus-
trial school for girls.



104




ST. GEORGE'S (LITHUANIAN),

St. George's Church, the mother Lithuanian
church in the Archdiocese of Chicago, was
founded in 1892 by the Reverend M. Krawcz-
unas, who is still pastor of this congregation.
The church edifice, which is large and impos-
ing, is located in the stock-yards district, at
Thirty-third and Auburn Streets. The parish



supports a fine school of 600 pupils, who are
under the care of the Sisters of the Holy Fam-
ily of Nazareth. Father Krawczunas is as-
sisted by the Reverends Uaicunas and Albowicz.




ST. MICHAEL'S (LITHUANIAN),
FOUNDED 1904.

The Lithuanian parish of St. Michael's was
organized in 1904 and is located in the river
district on the north side, where so many peo-
ple of foreign nationalities reside. In 1913 the
Marion Fathers were appointed by the Most
Reverend Archbishop Quigley, D.D., to take
charge of the parish. The present spiritual
director of the church is the Reverend F.
Kuderko, assisted by the Reverend J. Kazakas.
The combination parish building is situated at
the corner of Wabansia Avenue and Paulina
Street. The school has an enrollment of 120
children, under tuition of the Lithuanian Sisters
of St. Casimir.



OUR LADY OF VILNA, FOUNDED 1806.







About ten years ago (1906),
the Lithuanian congregation
erected a substantial combination
church and school building and
a parochial residence under the
pastorate of the Reverend Casi-
mir Ambrozaitus. This property
is situated on West Twenty-third
Street, near Western Avenue.
Father Ambrozaitus remained at
the head of the parish until Octo-
ber, 1915, when he was succeeded
by the Reverend F. B. Serafinas.
The parochial school is attended
by 226 children, who are under
the care of the Lithuanian Sisters
of St. Casimir.



105




HOLY CROSS (LITHUANIAN), FOUNDED 1904

The beautiful group of buildings of the parish of the Holy Cross, consisting of church, rectory, and school
structures, is located at Forty-sixth Street and Ashland Avenue. The parish was organized by the Eeverend Alex.
Skrypko in December, 1904, who has been its pastor from the beginning. The corner-stone of the splendid new
church was laid by the late Most Reverend Archbishop Quigley, D. D., December 24, 1913. The structure was not
completed until 1915, when it was dedicated by the Right Reverend A. J. McGavick, auxiliary bishop of Chicago.
The parochial school has an enrollment of 250 children, who are taught by the Sisters of the Holy Family.




ST. ANTHONY'S (LITHUANIAN), FOUNDED 1911

The large church and school building of the Lithuanian parish of St. Anthony's is picturesquely situated at
Fifteenth Street and Fiftieth Avenue, in the outskirts of the city. It was founded by the Reverend A. Ezerskis in
1911. The Sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth have charge of the school, which is attended by 250 children.



106






PROVIDENCE OF GOD
(LITHUANIAN), FOUNDED 1900.

The Lithuanian parish of the Providence
of God was organized in 1900 by the
Reverend M. Peza, who became its first
pastor. The new congregation immedi-
ately set about securing a site for their
parish buildings. For this purpose
ground was purchased at Union Avenue
and Eighteenth Street, where a school
building has been erected and the base-
ment of a handsome church put up. The
illustration given shows the beautiful de-
sign of the completed church. A flourish-
ing school is connected with the parish,
which is in charge of the Lithuanian Sis-
ters of St. Casimir, and which has an at-
tendance of 550 children. The Reverend
Michael Leo Kruszas is the present pastor
and is assisted by the Reverend Alexander
Baltutitf. Father Kruszas was instru-
mental in having the Order of St. Casimir
founded in the Archdiocese of Chicago.



1





IMMACULATE CONCEPTION (LITHUANIAN), FOUNDED 1914.



The Lithuanian community of the Immacu-
late Conception was founded in 1914 by the
Reverend Anthony Briszko. The handsome
combination structure of this parish, which is
located at Fairfield Avenue and Forty-fourth



Street, is the latest Lithuanian church edifice
to be erected in Chicago. The parish school
was opened in September, 1915, with 150 pupils
in attendance, under the care of the Lithuanian
Sisters of St. Casimir.



107




ALL SAINTS. (LITHUANIAN). FOUNDED 1906.

The Lithuanian community of All Saints,
located at 10806 Wabash Avenue, in West
Bullnian, was organized by the Reverend F. B.
Serafinas, now pastor of Our Lady of Vilna
Church. He was succeeded by the present
pastor, the Reverend Peter Ladelis. The
Sisters of St. Casimir instruct the 260 children
in the parochial school.




OUR LADY OF HUNGARY. (HUNGARIAN).
FOUNDED 1904.

The church known as Our Lady of Hungary
is the first and only Hungarian church organ-
ized in the state of Illinois. The church is
located on Chauncey Avenue near Ninety-
third Street. The first pastor and founder
was the Reverend Francis Grosz. The present
pastor is the Reverend S. Soltesz.




ST. JOSEPH'S. (LITHUANIAN). FOUNDED 1901.

The parish of St. Joseph's Lithuanian
Church, located at Eighty-eighth Street and
Saginaw Avenue, was organized in 1901 by the
Reverend M. P. Peza, its founder and first pas-
tor. The Reverend A. Petrajtes is the present
pastor. He is also an authority on astronomy.




ST. MARY'S. (GREEK RUTHENIAN).
FOUNDED 1910.

Located on Seeley Avenue and Fiftieth
Street is the second largest Greek Ruthenian
Catholic community in the city. Nearly 2,000
families attend this parish. The Reverend
Max Relic, the present pastor, built the church
and parochial residence and has been identified
with the parish for the past six years.



108




ST. NICHOLAS (GREEK RUTHENIAN)



The beautiful and imposing church of St.
Ivicholas, on the northeast corner of Oakley
Boulevard and Rice Street, is notable for the
distinctive style of its architecture. Tt is
Byzantine in design, and is unique in being
the only one of its kind in Chicago. The edifice
is of slow-burning construction. The outer
walls are of light yellow pressed brick, with
cut-stone trimmings. The roofs are of green
Spanish tile and the domes are covered with
copper. The interior of the church also follows



the green color scheme, the columns being of
dark green scagliola, with bases of green mar-
ble, while green will prevail in the walls and
caps of the columns. Altogether the church is
one of the handsomest and most imposing in
the Archdiocese. The present pastor, the Rev-
erend Nicholas Strutynski, organized the parish
and built the church and parochial residence
under the jurisdiction of the Ruthenian prelate.
Bishop Ortyhski, of Philadelphia. A new school
will be added in the near future.




St. Joseph's, 730 West Seventeenth Place.




St. Michael Archangel, Forty-eighth and Robey Streets.





Holy Rosary, Pullman.

SOME SLOVAK FOUNDATIONS.

The first organized Catholic Church of the Slovak
people of Chicago was St. Michael Archangel, founded
in 1896, and located at Forty -eighth and Eobey Streets.
The first rector was the Keverend A. J. Brunkala.
The present pastor, the Reverend Gregory K. Vaniscak,
O. S. B., took charge in 1915. The school, with an
attendance of 800 children, is taught by the Benedic-
tine Sisters.

The second Slovak church was the Church of the
Assumption, founded in 1908. It is located at Mar-
shall Boulevard and California Avenue. The Reverend
J. Marescak is rector.

St. Joseph 's Church, located at 730 West Seventeenth
Place, was founded in 1906. Reverend L. Neuwirth
is pastor.

Holy Rosary, founded in 1909, located in Pullman,
at One Hundred-and-Eighth Street and Perry Avenue.
Pastor, Reverend K. Gottschall.

The Church of the Sacred Heart, the fifth congre-
gation of Slovaks to be founded in Chicago, is located
at Huron Street and North Racine Avenue. Reverend
Michael Bajor is pastor.




Sacred Heart, North Racine Avenue and Huron Street. Assumption, Marshall Boulevard and California Avenue.



lin




ST. STEPHEN'S. (SLOVENIAN). FOUNDED 1898.
St. Stephen's parish, Slovenian, was the first of its
nationality to be organized in Chicago. The Most
Reverend Archbishop Feehan appointed the Reverend
John Plevnik as its first pastor and founder. At this
church, the Slovenians and Croatians in Chicago
attended divine worship. In 1905 the present pastor,
the Reverend A. Sojar, took charge. His parish
extends all over the city and numbers about 350
families. The church is located at the corner of
Twenty-second Place and Lincoln Street.



ST. GEORGE'S. (SLOVENIAN). FOUNDED 1903.
The second Slovenian church, located at Ninety-sixth
Street and Ewing Avenue, was founded in 1903 by the
Reverend John Krawjee. The present pastor, the
Reverend A. M. Kraschowitz, is doing splendid work
in organizing the Slovenian people. As there is no
school attached to the church the children attend either
the German or English Catholic school. They receive
religious instruction every Sunday in the parish church.




SACRED HEART. (CROATIAN). FOUNDED 1913.

The Croatians of South Chicago organized the parish
of the Sacred Heart in 1913, under the pastorate of
its present pastor, the Reverend Stipanovic. At the
time of his appointment he was only twenty-two
years old, thus making him the youngest pastor in
the United States. About 125 children attend the
school and are taught by the Franciscan Sisters.

The combination church and school buildings is
located at 2922 East Ninety-sixth Street.




ST. JEROME. (CROATIAN). FOUNDED 1912.

The first Croatian church founded in Chicago was
St. Jerome's on Twenty -fifth Street near Wentworth
Avenue, founded by the Reverend Leo Medic, O. F. M.
Father Medic is still at the head of the spiritual work.



Ill







ASSUMPTION OF THE BLESSED VIRGIN MARY.

The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is the
oldest Catholic Italian community in the city. The
Church, Renaissance in style, is situated on Illinois
Street near Orleans, and was founded in 1880 by the
Reverend S. Moretti, O. S. M. The 600 school children
are taught by the Missionary Sisters of the Sacred
Heart. The Reverend F. S. Angelucci, O. S. M., is
assisted by the Reverends C. Fiorucci, O. S. M., and
S. Jedruszczak.




OUK LADY OF POMPEI (ITALIAN), FOUNDED
1904.

The Church of Our Lady of Pompei is located at
1224 McAllister Place. The parish is under the spirit-
ual direction of the Congregation of St. Charles of
Borromeo. The Reverend P. Barabiuo, C. S. C. B., is
the pastor. He is assisted by the Reverend Angelo
Perrone, C. S. C. B.




ST. PHILIP BENIZI (ITALIAN)

The Church of St. Philip Benizi was organized Au-
gust 14, 1904, by the Servite Fathers. The corner-
stone was laid by the Right Reverend P. J. Muldoon,
D.D. The present pastor is the Reverend P. Giangrandi,
O. S. M. He is assisted by the Reverends P. Mondino.
O. S. M., Aloysius Giambastiani, O. S. M., and An-
gelico Barsi, O. S. M.




SANCTA MARIA ADDOLORATA (ITALIAN).

The above church, which is known as Sancta Maria,
Grand Avenue and Peoria Streets, is under the spirit-
ual direction of the Congregation of St. Charles of
Borromeo. The Reverend J. Gambera, C. S. C. B., is
the pastor. This parish was organized in 1903.



112




Holy Guardian Angel's, 717 Forquer.

HOLY GUARDIAN ANGEL (ITALIAN), FOUNDED
1899.

The Bight Reverend M. E. Dunne, now bishop of
Peoria, organized, in 1899, the parish known as Holy
Guardian Angel, and through his efforts, the church
and priest house were erected. The Fathers of the
Congregation of St. Charles of Borromeo are now in
charge. The present pastor is the Reverend Pacifico
Chenuil, C. S. C. B., and his assistants are the Rev-
erend C. Fani, C. S. C. B., and the Reverend D. An-
geli, C. S. C. B.




St. Mary's (Italian). 218 Alexander.



HOLY ROSARY (ITALIAN),

The Holy Rosary is another of the
Italian parishes founded by his Grace,
the late Archbishop Quigley, D.D. The
church is located at 612 North West-
ern Avenue. As yet no school has
been established in the parish. The
Reverend J. Colombi, C. S. C. B., is
the pastor.




St. Anthony's, 11530 Prairie Avenue.

ST. ANTHONY'S (ITALIAN), FOUNDED 1906.

St. Anthony 's of Padua, whose church edifice is
located at the corner of Prairie and Kensington Ave-
nues, is one of the many Italian parishes erected by
the late Archbishop Quigley, D.D., in the Archdiocese
of Chicago, and was founded in 1906. It supports a
school with an attendance of 680 pupils, who are
taught by the Sisters of St. Joseph from La Grange,
111. Reverend H. D 'Andrea is the present pastor.



ST. MARY'S (ITALIAN), FOUNDED 1904.

The Italian community of St. Mary's on the West
Side of the city was founded in 1904 by the late Most
Reverend Archbishop Quigley. The parish was put in
charge of the Congregation of St. Charles of Borro-
meo. The church and school are situated at Alexander
Street and Twenty-fifth Place. The present pastor
is the Reverend R. Loreuzoni, C.S.C.B. More than 300
children attend the school and are taught by the
Sisters of Notre Dame.




Holy Rosary (Italian), 612 Western Avenue.



113




ST. FRANCIS A PAULA.

The latest Italian congregation to be organ-
ized is that of St. Francis of Paula, located at
Seventieth Street and Dobson Avenue. It was
founded by its present pastor, the Reverend
Joseph Angeletti, in 1915.




ST. MARY OF MT. CARMEL.

The Italian community of St. Mary of Mt.
Carmel was organized by the Most Reverend
Archbishop Quigley, D. D. It is located on
South Hermitage Avenue, between Sixty-
seventh and Sixty-eighth Streets. The spirit-
ual director is the Reverend E. Ricciardelli,
C. PP. S.




MONASTERY OF THE PASSIONIST FATHERS, NORWOOD PARK.



The Passionist Fathers were established in
the Archdiocese of Chicago, by the late Arch-
bishop James Edward Quigley, D. D., in the
year 1904. The opening and blessing of the
new Monastery took place June 12, 1910. The
principal means employed by the Passionists



sions and retreats, whether to public congrega-
tions in towns or country places, or to religious
communities, to colleges, seminaries, to the
clergy assembled for this purpose, or to particu-
lar sodalities or classes of people, and even to
non-Catholics, where this .can be done, for the



for the spiritual good of others is giving mis- purpose of their conversion.



114



St. Cyril's College

64th Street and
Blackstone Avenue



CHICAGO




St. Cyril's College was founded in the year
1900, at the instance of the Most Rev. P. A.
Feehan, late Archbishop of Chicago, to impart
to youth a Christian, liberal and business edu-
cation. It is under the direction of the Carme-
lite Fathers. Those who are interested in
education appreciate the advantages offered
by the Ancient Order of Carmelites, whose
traditions on formation of character are now
blended with all true improvements that mod-
ern sciences have discovered.

The course of studies is two-fold : Classical
and Commercial. The classical, extending over
a period of eight year's, includes the work of
the ordinary high school and college, and is
the chief scope of St. Cyril's. The studies
pursued in this course embrace Christian Apolo-
getics and Doctrine, Logic, Metaphysics, Psy-



chology, Ethics, Political Economy, Astronomy,
Geology, Chemistry, Physics, Plane, Analytical
and Spherical Trigonometry, Plane, Solid and
Analytical Geometry, Algebra, Arithmetic,
Ancient, Medieval and Modern History, His-
tory of the United States, Church History, Com-
mercial and Physical Geography, Physiology,
Zoology, Botany, English Literature, English
Grammar, Composition, Rhetoric, Elocution,
Latin, Greek, French and German.

The Commercial Course, which aims at pre-
paring the student for a business career,
extends over a period of two years. Besides the
fundamental branches of Mathematics and
English in all their subdivisions, the Commer-
cial Specialties are taught Penmanship, Book-
keeping, Shorthand, Commercial Law and
Typewriting.



115




ST. PATRICK'S COMMERCIAL SCHOOL



In the '40s when Chicago was little more
than a frontier town, there was a little one-
room school on the corner of Randolph and
Desplaines Streets. Within its walls were
gathered the few Catholic boys of the now
populous West Side. The school was presided
over by an old-time school master. The Catho-
lic population grew and in the early '50s the
Brothers of the Holy Cross took charge of a
new school in St. Patrick's Parish. It was a
small frame building and up to a few years
ago was still standing. In 1854 the Brothers
of the Holy Cross were succeeded by the Chris-
tian Brothers. This mission was under
Brother Candidian, an organizer and a teacher
of great merit. Under his direction the school
grew until shortly before the Chicago fire the
present building was erected. "St. Patrick's"
is the Alma Mater of thousands of the leading



business and professional men of Chicago.
Prom its classes a score of priests have gone
to the seminary and of these several have been
elevated to the episcopacy.

In the early '80s the course of the school was
changed to meet the demand for young men
trained for the business world. Since then it
has been a purely commercial school. Its
graduates are in constant demand in the com-
mercial houses of the city.

St. Patrick's Academy offers the young men
of Chicago who intend to enter business a
course of preparatory studies that has stood
the test of time. It adds the unique feature
of following up its graduates for years after
they finish in its classes.

The St. Patrick's Commercial Academy
Alumni Association is one of the oldest and
strongest Alumni Associations in the Middle
West.



116







DE LA SALLE INSTITUTE.



On June 16, 1888, a meeting of the principal
pastors of Chicago was' held at St. Patrick's
Commercial Academy to devise ways and means
to build a high school on the South Side. The
result of this meeting was the establishment
of the De La Salle Institute, the first Catholic
high school for boys on the South Side.

The late Brother Adjutor solicited the neces-
sary funds and the cornerstone of the new
school was laid on May 19, 1889. The building
was in complete readiness for students in Sep-
tember, 1892.

In this institution the Christian Brothers
have adapted their experience of two centuries
in the schools of Europe to the special wants
of the youth of Chicago. The aim of the
school is to give a thorough Christian and busi-
ness training which will fit its graduates for
the practical duties of life. The chief object



of the teachers is to mold the characters of their
pupils, to make them self-reliant and honorable,
to encourage self-expression, and to produce
reliable men. The mortals and deportment of
the students are objects of constant solicitude.

Xone but eighth grade graduates are received
at the De La Salle Institute. The course em-
braces three years. Christian doctrine, Eng-
lish, literature, correspondence, geometry, alge-
bra, history, commercial law, economics, com-
mercial arithmetic, elocution, vocal culture,
typewriting, phonography, office routine, sys-
tem, penmanship, advanced studies in accounts
and the priciples of efficiency are the subjects
offered to the students.

The De La Salle Alumni Association is one
of the strongest organizations in the west. It
finds employment for its members. The boys
of the De La Salle are found in all the large
business establishments in Chicago.



117




THE ST. FRANCIS XAVIER COLLEGE AND ACADEMY, FOUNDED 1846.



This old and excellent school for girls and
women was opened in 1846 under the auspices
of the Sisters of Mercy, who thus have the dis-
tinction of being engaged in the work of edu-
cation in Chicago for seventy years.

The academy is situated on the South Side
of Chicago, not far from Washington Park, be-
ing on Cottage Grove Avenue between Forty-
ninth and Fiftieth Streets. The spacious build-
ing is of brick with stone trimmings, and is
arranged in three wings with a view to the
greatest comfort and convenience of the stu-
dents. It fronts upon a five-acre lawn, Xavier
Park, which affords facilities for outdoor sports
and exercise.

The instruction afforded may be grouped
under four divisions, viz. : the preparatory
school ; the intermediate department, the acad-

iiy ; and the college. Special attention is



given to music, the full course representing
four years of college work in that art. The
organ course which is included in the course of
instruction will provide a thorough education
in the work of church organist and accompan-
ist. Special attention is devoted also to in-
struction in religion, the aim of the Sisters of
Mercy being to instill into youthful minds the
sterling virtues of Christian womanhood and
prepare them for their duties in life. Many
women of Chicago and elsewhere have enjoyed
the privilege of attending this school ; and its
influence should be extended by the generous
gifts of those who desire to see the benefits of
a Christian education more widely diffused. The
Alumnae Association of the school numbers
nearly 600 gifted women, whose influence is
for good in the home and in social and business
life.



118






ACADEMY OF OUR LADY

The Academy of Our Lack-
is an excellent boarding and
day school for girls in Long-
wood, one of the attractive
suburbs to the south of Chi-
cago. The school was estab-
lished in 1875 by the School
Sisters of Notre Dame from
Milwaukee, conceded to be one
of the most talented and pro-
gressive teaching orders in
America. Under their efficient
management the academy at
Longwood has grown to be one
of the largest boarding and
day schools of our great me-
tropolis, and has established a
reputation excelled by no
other similar institution of
learning.

The course of instruction begins with an elementary
academic course, well into college work itself.




Academy of Our Lady, Showing Chapel.



training and extends, through an
The work of the school is greatly broadened by the
use Ihe management makes of the great educational advantages of Chicago in the way of libraries,
art galleries, museums, lectures, and music. About 250 students are enrolled in the school, 100 of
whom are in the boarding department.




Academy of Our Lady, Main BuildinR.

The buildings are spacious, conveniently arranged, and fitted out in the best modern fashion.
The present chapel was built by the Benedictine Fathers as a parish church in 1871. A few years
later this church and the adjoining building were taken over by the Sisters of Notre Dame and
have been used by them for boarding and day school purposes ever since.

Longwood is within easy access of Chicago, being reached by the Rock Island Railroad and by
the Wentworth Avenue and South Side Elevated and Englewood car service.



119




ACADEMY OF ST. SCHOLASTICA

7430 Ridge Avenue, Rogers Park, Chicago.



The Academy of St. Scholastica, conducted
by the Benedictine Sisters, was opened for the
admission of students in 1908.

The Institution is located in Chicago, near
the northern limits of the city. It is reached
by the Northwestern Elevated Railroad, station
at Howard Avenue, and the Clark Street sur-
face line to Howard Avenue.

St. Scholastica 's, most attractively situated
in beautiful Rogers Park, should prove an ideal
home for the student. The extensive grounds
offer exceptional facilities for exercise and
amusements, and the seclusion of the place
permits out-door class work during the autumn
and spring months.

The Academy of St. Scholastica has for its



object the Christian education of girls and
young women. Its classes are open to day
pupils and to a limited number of boarding
pupils. Outside students are .received for
Music, Art, Needlework and special branches
of study.

The Benedictine Sisters is a strictly teach-
ing order, in fact they are one of the oldest
teaching orders in the Catholic Church. They
conduct many fine secondary schools, both in
this country and in Europe. They also teach
in many of our parochial schools in the city.

Chicago as one of the great educational and
art centers offers many advantages in the way
of libraries, galleries, museums and lectures of
which the authorities of the Academy of St.
Scholastica avail themselves.



120




ACADEMY OF OUR LADY OF PROVIDENCE

The Academy of Our Lady of Providence is a resident and day school for girls
under the direction of the Sisters of Providence of Saint Mary-of-the-Woods. The
high-school department has both the four-year course and the elective course. Com-
mercial department, two-years' course and shorter courses. Conservatory of music,
special advantages in vocal, piano, harp, violin and ensemble work. Oral expres-
sion, art and domestic science. The institution is located at 3107 West Van Buren
Street. Phone, Kedzie 532.



121




ST. MARY'S HIGH SCHOOL, FOUNDED 1899.



St. Mary's High School, founded in 1899, under the
direction of the Sisters of Charity of the B. V. M., is
a legally incorporated and thoroughly equipped institu-
tion for the higher education of girls. Owing to the
increased number of students, three additions to the
original structure have been made. The building now
includes fifteen classrooms, physical and biological lab-
oratories, three commercial rooms, auditorium, domestic
science suite, dining-room, music rooms, library and
chapel. The various departments are equipped with
everything that is necessary for the successful comple-
tion of the work which the school professes to teach.
The library contains the works of standard authors,
encyclopedias, reference books and works for historical



research. The auditorium, which is delightfully situ-
ated, has a seating capacity of 600. The curriculum
offers tour courses of study: the classical course, four
years; the domestic science course, four years; the
commercial course, two years; the commercial course,
six months; and a course of instrumental and vocal
music, and art.

For the past few years the Loyola extension courses
in ethics, ecclesiastical history and psychology have
been conducted at the school. A large number of public
school teachers of Chicago have availed themselves of
this opportunity to receive promotional credits. The
music and foreign language courses offer the same ad-
vantages.




Some Interior Views of St. Mary's High School.



122



ST. LOUIS ACADEMY, WEST PULLMAN

The St. Louis Academy
and High School, incorpo-
rated in 1904, is a boarding
and day school for girls un-
der the direction of the Sis-
ters of the Congregation of
Notre Dame, a teaching
order founded in Montreal
in 1659. Instruction is of-
fered in primary, prepara-
tory and senior grades.
Music, art, domestic and
commercial courses may be
taken as extras. A home-
like atmosphere is culti-
vated, and the pupils are
given careful supervision.
Special attention is given to
outdoor physical exercise.

The Alumnae Association St. Louis Academy, West Pullman.

was organized in 1915. The school is located in West Pullman, at the corner of One Hundred and
Eighteenth and State Streets.





ST. ANGELA'S ACADEMY, MORRIS, ILLINOIS.

St. Angela's Academy, in Morris, Illinois, is conducted by the Holy Cross Sisters from St.
Mary's, Notre Dame, Indiana, as a boarding and day school for children and young girls. The
curriculum of the school extends through all grades of grammar and high school. Music, art and
literature are given special attention. Sister M. Hildegarde is the Superior.



123



ACADEMIES FOR GIRLS IN CHICAGO




SACRED HEART ACADEMY.

The Ladies of the Sacred Heart have been
identified with Catholic education in Chicago
since 1858, when they occupied their tempo-
rary school on Wabash Avenue near Peck
Court. In 1860 they erected their academy
buildings on West Taylor Street, and their
institution soon became one of the boarding
and day schools in Chicago. However, in the
course of years the influx of foreign immigra-
tion changed the entire character of the popula-
tion in that part of the West Side and the
Ladies were to move their school elsewhere.
About twelve years ago they secured the
beautiful property on Pine Grove Avenue near
Addison and erected the buildings for their
day school. The boarding department is in
River Forest.




CONVENT OF THE HOLY CHILD JESUS.

The boarding and day school for children
and young ladies conducted by the Sisters of
the Holy Child Jesus was established about
ten years ago. The convent of the order is
located at Haves Avenue and Sheridan Road.



LORETTO ACADEMY.

The Loretto Academy, located in Woodlawn,
on Sixty-fourth Street, was established by the
Sisters of Loretto, from Toronto, Canada, about
fifteen years ago. The school has both day
and boarding departments. The curriculum is
very comprehensive, and includes all grades
from kindergarten through the academic. The
Sisters of Loretto teach in many of the paroch-
ial schools of the archdiocese. They also have
a fine academy located at Stewart Avenue and
Sixty-sixth Street.




JOSEPHINUM ACADEMY.

The "Josephinum Academy" is the name of
the school established in 1889 in Chicago by
the Sisters of Christian Charity, for the pur-
pose of giving a solid, comprehensive and
practical Christian education to girls. The
institution is incorporated under the laws of
Illinois, and is located at 1515 North Oakley
Avenue, near Western. This was one of the
first schools in Chicago to introduce domestic
science in its curriculum. Many of its pupils
pass successfully every year the examination
for teachers which admits them to the Normal
School.



124




SISTERS OF ST. CASIMIR, FOUNDED 1907



The Sisters of St. Casimir were the first Lithuanian
Sisters to establish a mother house in this country.
Their convent, erected in 1911, is situated at Sixty-
seventh and Rockwell Streets. These Sisters conduct



a boarding and day school, where all nationalities are
received, but the majority of the pupils are Lithu-
anians. They also teach in many of the Lithuanian
schools of the Archdiocese. Mother Maria is superior.




FRANCISCAN SISTERS OF ST. KUNEGUNDA, FOUNDED 1894



This community was founded in the Archdiocese of
Chicago in 1894, by the present mother general, Rev-
erend M. Anna Wisinska, who, with a few other young
ladies, began a community life, following the rule of
the Third Order of St. Francis, under the guidance of
the late Reverend Vincent Barzynskj, C. R. The Sis-



ters conduct St. Joseph 's Home for the Aged and St.
Elizabeth's Day Nursery on Hamlin and Schubert
Avenue. They also conduct Polish parochial schools
in the Archdiocese and in the dioceses of Altoona, Belle-
ville, Cleveland, Fort Wayne and Peoria, and also many
charitable institutions in these dioceses.



125




THE RESURRECTIONIST ACADEMY

One of the recent foundations for higher education for girls in the Archdiocese is The Resur-
rectionist Academy, located at Norwood Park, under the direction of the Resurrectionist Sisters.
This institution was founded for the benefit of Polish girls. The building is a superb structure and
was erected at a cost of $300,000. It was erected in 1914, and in the coming years this academy
will be one of the leading Catholic schools for h'gher education in Chicago and vicinity.




ST. MARY'S ACADEMY, JOLIET

More than a quarter of a century ago the Ladies of Loretto opened St. Mary's Academy at
Joliet for the higher education of girls. This school has two departments, boarding and day
school. Its curriculum is broad and comprehensive, and is carefully graded. The graduates
from this school are admitted on their diplomas to the state normal school. The Ladies of
Loretto are a strictly teaching order. Their Motherhouse is located in Toronto, Canada.



126




THE EPHPHETA SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF AND DUMB.



The Ephpheta School for the Deaf and Dumb
was founded about twenty-nine years ago, and,
in its early years, occupied very meager quar-
ters at the corner of May and Twelfth Streets.
In 1896 the school was incorporated, and in
1909 was established in a commodious home of
its own at 3100 North Crawford Avenue.

This institution is doing a noble work in
caring for these unfortunate children, many
of whom would otherwise be neglected men-
tally, morally and physically. It is under the
control of a board of directors, the Arch-
bishop of Chicago Archdiocese being at the
head. Miss Annie M. Larkin is the superin-
tendent and is assisted by thirteen teachers.

In addition to the solid grammar school edu-
cation which is given to the children, various
useful trades and industries are taught, which
enable them to earn their livelihood when they
leave the school to make their own way in the
world. The girls are taught millinery, dress-
making, and domestic science, and the boys
receive the usual manual training preparation
for future trades. The instruction in writing,
spelling and mathematics is most thorough and
far excels that given in the public schools.

The work of the school is almost entirely
charitable, at least eighty-eight per cent of the
number of the inmates paying practically noth-
ing for tuition and board, while the amount that



any child can pay is extremely small. Being
children of the poor, the afflicted creatures
eome from almost every nationality and denom-
ination. It is the pride of the school that no
child has ever been turned away from its doors
because its parents were unable to pay for its
support and education. The only requirements
for admission being that the applicants shall
be of sound mind and good morals.

Although the institution relieves the commu-
nity of the care of many children who would
otherwise be public charges there is no appropri-
ation made by either county or state for its sun-
port. Hence it is dependent almost entirely upon
the contributions of charitably inclined persons.
Outside of these contributions the only other
source of revenue is a small yearly publication
called "The Voice of the Deaf." As the sub-
scription price is 25 cents and the subscribers
number less than 10,000, the income from this
source is not large.

The work of this school is most interesting
and beautiful, and deserves the attention and
support of those who have money to give to the
furtherance of good causes. At present, unfor-
tunately, much that might be done for the
welfare and advancement of the pupils is ham-
pered by lack of funds. All contributions
should be sent to Miss Larkin, the superintend-
ent, 3100 North Crawford Avenue.



ST. MARY'S MISSION HOUSE, TECHNY, ILLINOIS.
CONDUCTED BY THE SOCIETY OF THE DIVINE WORD



St. Joseph's Industrial School is situated
about ten miles north of the Chicago city lim-
its, on the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Rail-
way. The main building was erected in 1900
and occupied in 1901. The primary intention
of the society was to establish a trade school
for boys. For this purpose, spacious work-
shops were erected in addition to the school
building. Hundreds of boys and young men
have received their training at this institution,
which was then called the St. Joseph's Insti-
tute. Up to the present time the society con-
ducts the trade school.

The Society of the Divine Word, being a re-



most of the main school building, the trade
school moved into new quarters, becoming a
separate establishment under the same man-
agement.

Today St. Mary's has an enrollment of sev-
enty-five students in the classical course, while
already eight young men have entered the
novitiate. Perhaps the success may not be
called splendid, yet conclusive evidence has
been obtained in the years which have passed
that the American Catholic youth can and will
follow the call of the Apostles if properly di-
rected. St. Mary's claims the honor to be the
first Catholic mission house in the United




St. Mary's Mission House, Techny, Illinois.



ligious order, could not for an indefinite length
of time exist without a proper training school
for its own candidates. For years the society
had entertained the desire to work for a cause
so dear and so essential to a missionary society,
the conversion of the heathen.

The first Missionary Congress at Chicago, in

1908, finally brought to a realization what had
seemed to be well-nigh an impossibility. The
late Father Janssen, founder and first Superior
General of the society, approved of the plan to
establish a mission college at Techny, and the
Holy Father, Pope Pius X, gave his blessing.
Archbishop Quigley of Chicago opened the col-
lege with appropriate ceremonies April 26,

1909. Gradually the trade school gave room to
the mission school. Whilst the latter occupied



States. Another institution for the same pur-
pose has been opened at Girard, Pennsylvania.
The Society of the Divine Word conducts mis-
sion colleges in Holland (2), Germany (4), Aus-
tria (2), South America (1), and North Amer-
ica (2). Approximately the total number of
students is 1200. The society is represented in
the following foreign mission districts: South
Shantung (China), Togo (West Africa), Wil-
helmsland (New Guinea), Niigata (Japan),
Abra and Manila (Philippine Islands), Para-
guay (South America), Mozambique (East
Africa), Timor (East Indies). The society is
also engaged in parochial work among the thou-
sands of immigrants in South America. In the
United States it has charge of five negro mis-
sions in the Southern States.



128




St. Anne's Home for the Aged, Techny, Illinois.



THE HOLY GHOST INSTITUTE.



The Missionary Sisters, Servants of the Holy Ghost,
have been resident in the Archdiocese of Chicago since
1901. Their mother house is in Steyl, Holland, and the
community embraces at present about 1000 members.
Reverend Father Arnold Janssen, mindful of the need
of female laborers in the vineyard of Our Divine
Savior, was the founder of this congregation, whose
canonical name is "Congregatio Servarum Spiritus
Sancti" (C. S. Sp. S.). The chief aim and purpose
of this community is prayer and work for the propa-
gation of the interests of the Catholic Church in pagan
countries. Every year the mother house sends Sisters
to the various missions, so that at the present these
Sisters are working in Brazil, Argentina, New Guinea,
Africa, Mozambique, China, Japan, and the Philippine
Islands.

In the United States more than 130 Sisters are sac-
rificing their lives for the great mission cause. The
provincialate, including the- noviciate, is at Techny,
Illinois, nine miles from the city limits of Chicago.
Here the Sisters also conduct a boarding school, known
as the Holy Ghost Institute, for girls and young ladies.



At a mile distant from this place the Sisters have
erected a home for the aged under the name of St.
Ann's Home. But the main occupation of the Sisters
in this country is the work for the colored populace in
the Southern States.

As the name of the community indicates, the special
veneration and glorification of the Holy Ghost is a
chief factor in their life. It is His Divine light that
guides His servants into the darkness of paganism and
sin, and His Divine grace and fortitude that render
the burden of the mission work "light and sweet."

Besides this active branch thu community has an-
other of cloistered Sisters, who have the same founder
and live according to the same holy rule, modified to
meet the necessities of a purely contemplative life.
These cloistered Sisters have their residence in Phil-
adelphia, Pa., where they are entrusted with the Per-
petual Adoration in the newly erected chapel of the
Divine Love.

Young ladies upon whom the Holy Spirit bestows
the grace of the missionary vocation, and all who are
desirous of aiding the noble mission cause, may write
to the Mother Provincial, S. Sp. S., Techny, 111.




The Holy Ghost Institute. Techny, Illinois.



129




MERCY HOSPITAL, FOUNDED 1850.



The first institution devoted to the treatment
of the sick in Chicago was the hospital estab-
lished in 1850 by the Sisters of Mercy on the
south side lake front. It was. a small, ram-
shackle old frame building which served the
little town of Chicago for a year or two. Then,
as the town grew, new demands were made on
the new institution. From this insignificant




beginning it kept pace with the giant strides
of the wonderful city, until now the magnifi-
cent group of buildings and its beautiful
grounds constitute a veritable
palace for the sick. The hospital
is, with perhaps one exception,
the largest in the city ; first-
class in all its appointments,
and strictly modern in all its
methods. The best medical and
surgical staff of doctors in the
Northwest, a noble, self-sacri-
ficing sisterhood, and a large
staff of trained nurses minister
to the needs of the sick and in-
jured.

The present site of the in-
stitution, bounded by Calumet
Avenue, Twenty-sixth Street
and Prairie Avenue, was pur-



chased by the Sisters for the small sum of $600,
the first money they had saved up for the pur-
pose. The present group of buildings dates from
1869, when the cornerstone for the first struc-
ture was laid at the corner of Calumet Avenue
and Twenty-sixth Street. Several additions
were made from time to time. In 1896 the old
building of the Chicago Medical College on





Nurses' Home.



Twenty-sixth Street and Prairie Avenue was
torn down and a large addition made to the
main building. Ten years later another addition
was found necessary. The new
wing is a stately and attractive
structure in the new classic
style. This necessitated much
remodeling to make the group
of buildings a harmonious
whole, and when completed will
make this one of the largest and
best equipped private hospitals
in the country. The private
grounds give an air of quiet and
seclusion not usually found in
connection with a city hospital.
A large and efficient Nurses'
School is connected with the
hospital, with a capacity for
125 nurses.



130




O S 43 BJ "*
Q} O> 5

* : | -f

t- . . rt

18 * 3 n



c



) O 5 r^ *>

! 2 I1 =

> bjD W -*^

. .S "S "



li^|!

oi o 5
-<H 2 ^



09 OS L

2*^



6C t,

O o



o >3

o



] ?*



^JS

-*



5



CO
CO

oo



Q

w
Q

fc

t)

O

fo

hf

il

S

03

O

B
01

H
B

EH
O

tf

PQ



X

S



- OJ - '

5 > 5 '



3 C
S O



i:



5 o
>>:-.-



a < 'SS^i'i^



oj ?: i o " a) c



a c



a 5 *j . a ? -



2.& - |-

S O> ^ C5

o -^ a* c3 * _



,11! P hill 11






131




ST. JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL, FOUNDED 1868.

St. Joseph 's Hospital, located at Garfield Avenue one of the finest in the city. The present magnificent

and Burling Street, was organized by the Sisters of building was erected in 1889. Besides the care of the

Charity of St. Vincent de Paul in 1868. From a very sick in the hospital, about 14,000 patients apply for

small beginning, the institution has grown until it is medical aid at the dispensary every year.



ST. VINCENT'S

INFANT ASYLUM,

FOUNDED 1881.

Another of Chica-
go's most noted in-
stitutions under the
direction of the Sis-
ters of St. Vincent de
Paul is St. Vincent's
Infant Asylum at Su-
perior and La Salle
Streets, having been
founded in 1881 by
Sister Wallburga. No
institution of the city
is more deserving tf
the gifts of the char-
itably inclined than
this great establish-
ment where friend-
less infants are cared
for. Since the foun-
dation of this institu-
tion thousands of in-
fant children have
been taken care of
and homes provided.




St. Vincent's Infant Asylum.






ST. JOSEPH'S
HOSPITAL

The mother house
of the Franciscan Sis-
ters of the Sacred
Heart was trans-
ferred from Avilla,
Indiana, to Joliet, Il-
linois, in the year
1882. St. Joseph's
Hospital is connected
with the home of this
order, and is the fin-
est institution of its
kind in Joliet. Here
the Sisters take care
of about 1500 pa-
tients a year. Mother
M. Marcella Restet-
ter is superior gen-
eral of the commun-
ity. Sister M. Anna
Ettelbuck is local
superintendent of the
hospital, assisted by
an efficient corps of
nurses and sisters.



ST. ANTHONY'S
HOSPITAL

St. Anthony's Hos-
pital was founded in
1898 and is conduct-
ed by the Franciscan
Sisters of the Sacred
Heart. It is ideally
located at Nineteenth
Street and Marshall
Boulevard, fronting
as it does on beauti-
ful Douglas Park.
Sister M. Henrietta
is superior of the in-
stitution. About 2,500
patients are treated
yearly. Reverend
Vitus Haman, O. S.
B., is chaplain. The
hospital is open to all
physicians and sur-
geons of good stand-
ing, and no difference
is made in the admis-
sion of patients and
their treatment.




St. Joseph's Hospital, Joliet, Illinois.




St. Anthony's Hospital, Nineteenth Street and Marshall Boulevard.



133



COLUMBUS HOSPITAL.

One of the most notable
and delightfully situated
institutions for the care of
the sick is that of the Co-
lumbus Hospital located at
the north end of Lincoln
Park, overlooking both
the park and Lake Michi-
gan. The building is superb
and is splendidly equipped
with every modern appli-
ance for the care and com-
fort of the sick. The hos-
pital was incorporated in
1903 and has been remod-
eled several times to meet
the increasing demands.
In the past year wards for
children have been added.
The hospital is open to all,
irrespective of creed or
nationality, and is under
the charge of the Mission-
ary Sisters of the Sacred
Heart of Jesus. More
than two thousand pa-
tients are treated every
year. Adjoining the hos-
pital a handsome flat
building has been pur-
chased for a Nurses' Home.

The impelling cause for the erection of the
Columbus Extension Hospital was the increas-
ing demands of the poor on the West Side, es-
pecially those of Italian extraction, for medical
aid. For the purpose of supplying this need,
the Reverend Mother Frances X. Cabrini pur-
chased a block of ground on the West Side,
facing Vernon Park. The existing buildings
were remodeled and connected with a new
structure. The capacity of the entire Extension




Columbus Hospital. Lake View and Deming Place.



is one hundred beds, one ward being devoted en-
tirely to charity. The location is ideal for so
congested a locality, as convalescing patients
have the benefit of a beautiful park. The hos-
pital was opened in July 1911, and has been
filled to its capacity ever since. Those who
have money to give, and who wish to follow in
the footsteps of the Blessed Master, can find no
better object upon which to bestow it than this
noble institution.





Columbus Extension Hospital, 809 Lytle Street.



Nurses' Home, Columbus Hospital.



134




ST. MARY OF NAZARETH HOSPITAL.



St. Mary of Nazareth Hospital, which is con-
ducted by the Sisters of the Holy Family of
Nazareth, was founded in 1894. It is a massive
fireproof structure six stories high. The build-
ing and grounds occupy an entire block, bound-
ed by Leavitt and Thomas Streets and Haddou
and Oakley Avenues.

The main building in which all the patients
are treated in so far removed from the streets
that no dust or noise arising from the traffic
can enter it. The surroundings are bright and
healthful. A large, beautiful lawn stretches
from the front entrance to the street, one hun-
dred and thirty feet away, while shrubs, flower-
pots and a sparkling fountain give it a park-
like appearance. In the rear is a spacious gar-
den, two hundred and eighty feet long and one
hundred and fifty feet wide, where trees and
many green things delight the eyes. On the
north and south sides of the building are two
large verandas where convalescing patients
may enjoy the outer air. Indeed, the hospital is
so ideally situated that patients recover more



quickly here than in hospitals in the crowded
sections of the city.

Not only in the exterior, but in the interior
also, is St. Mary's of Nazareth ideal. All the
appointments are the best and most approved
by medical science. The medical staff is com-
posed of skilled physicians who are devoted to
their work. In addition to the finely equipped
surgical department is one of the best X-ray
rooms in the city. All the wards are commodi-
ous and cheerful.

Connected with the hospital are a dispensary,
fitted out for the treatment of outside patients,
and a first-class pharmacy.

St. Mary's of Nazareth Hospital has no
founded endowment, but has been self-sustain-
ing from the start. However, as no large gifts
have been made, the work of caring for pa-
tients who are unable to pay for hospital treat-
ment has been restricted, but, so far as their
means will permit, the Sisters take care of the
poor sick of all creeds and nationalities without
charge.



135




ST. BERNARD'S HOSPITAL



St. Bernard's Hotel Dieu Hospital, the young-
est institution of its kind in Chicago, was dedi-
cated by the Most Reverend Archbishop Quig-
ley, D.D., November 21, 1905. It was founded
and is conducted by the Religious Hospitallers
of St. Joseph, a nursing sisterhood, until this
time comparatively unknown in the United
States. Being situated at 6337 Harvard Ave-
nue, St. Bernard's is easily accessible from all



parts of the city. Its present capacity is 200
patients, and its progress has been so marked
that at the present time the institution is taxed
to its utmost to meet all demands upon its
services. More than thirty thousand patients
have been cared for since its doors were opened
in 1905, and more than 25 per cent of this num-
ber have been treated without remuneration of
any kind.




CONVENT OF THE POOR CLARES



The Convent of the Poor Clares, located at
Fifty-third and Laflin Streets, came to Chicago
by invitation of His Grace, Archbishop Feehan.
This religious order first came to the United
States in 1875. The Poor Clare nuns are a
strictly cloistered order devoted to prayer and
penance for the salvation of souls, because the
prayer of the righteous availeth much. Their
abode in any community is of untold value.



Without endowment of any sort, these poor
nuns are wholly dependent upon the charity
and good will of the people of Chicago. Their
chief means of support consists in the making
of vestments, altar-cloths, habits, etc. During
their sojourn in this city they have made their
influence felt for good, for who can estimate
the blessings and favors that are drawn down
to earth by the prayers of these devoted souls.



136




St. Elizabeth's Hospital. Founded 1888. Claremont Ave. and Le Moyne St.




St. Patrick's Convent and Academy of the Sisters of Mercy, Park Avenue and Oakley Boulevard.

ST. PATRICK'S ACADEMY.

St. Patrick's Academy for the education of girls, Within its walls have been educated children from

was founded in 1883, by Sisters of Mercy from Chicago's most influential families as well as from

Xashville, Tennessee, Mother Mary Catharine Feehan different parts of the country,
being its first Superior.



137



ANGEL GUARDIAN ORPHANAGE (GERMAN)




Xo. 1 School Building. Xo. 2 Main Building. Xo. 3 Baby House. No. 4 Power Plant. Xo. 5 Flower Houses.
Xo. 6 Old School Building. Xo. 7 Manual Training Building. No. 8 Play Hall and Boys' Quarters.
No. 9 Orchard, with Cottage in Rear. No. 10 Storage Building and Dining Rooms.

The Angel Guardian Orphanage, located at 2001 Devon Avenue, was founded in 1865. The
total number of orphans in the institution is 753. Of these, 130 are from two to three years old,
while 520 attend school. There are thirty-eight in the manual training class and thirty-two in do-
mestic science. The orphanage is conducted by forty-five Sisters of the Poor Handmaids of Jesus
Christ. Sister M. Bertina is Superioress; Reverend George Eisenbacher, president ; and Reverend
P. Halbmaier, chaplain.



138







St. Joseph 1 !
Homo



St. Augustine Home



Sacred Heart Home



THE LITTLE SISTERS OF THE POOR



This charitable order has three institutions
for the care of the aged and friendless poor in
Chicago, one located in each of the principal
divisions of the city. The Sisters of this order
were called to Chicago by the Right Reverend
Bishop Foley, D.D., in 1876, who aided very
materially in getting them well established.
The first house founded by the order was lo-
cated at Halsted and Polk Streets, where they
remained for four years. In 1877 ground was
purchased at Harrison and Throop Streets for
a larger house, and one wing of the present
building was erected in 1878, the cornerstone
having been laid in June of that year by the
Right Reverend T. R. McMullen, V.G. In Feb-
ruary, 1880, the Sisters moved into their new



Sacred Heart Home. St. Vincent de Paul So-
ciety is a great help to the institutions. The
chapel was blessed November 1, 1889, by His
Grace, Archbishop Feehan, D. D. The West
Side institution accommodates 200 of these
helpless poor people.

The second house erected by the Little Sis-
ters of the Poor was built in 1882 at Sheffield
and Fullerton Avenues, and is known as the St.
Augustine Home.

The latest house to be built is the St. Jo-
seph's Home at 5148 Prairie Avenue. It was
completed in 1891.

This is one of the most beautiful charities of
the church and well deserves the patronage
of all who can give anything to help it along.



139





FRONT VIEW



SIDE VIEW



CONVENT OF THE MATERNAL HEART

CONDUCTED BY

THE LITTLE COMPANY OF MARY

4130 INDIANA AVE., CHICAGO

By the invitation of the Venerable Archbishop Feehan, at the request of the
late Mr. C. A. Mair, benefactor and life long friend of The Little Company of
Mary, the Order came to Chicago in 1893. Its first house in America was opened
in an eight-room cottage at 4130 Indiana Avenue ; the above illustrations repre-
sent the Convent of today at the same address.

The Little Company of Mary has for its object the sanctification of its mem-
bers by the exercise of religious life and the care of the sick in the hospitals or
institutions of the Order. The Sisters also nurse the sick in their own homes ir-
respective of creed or position in life.

Every Sister who cares for the sick has received a thorough training and is
a registered trained nurse.

The Little Company of Mary has no lay sisters, but conducts a Novitiate
where suitable subjects are received and given a training to fit them for the
work of the Order.

The Habit worn by the Sisters in the sick room is blue and white (The
Blessed Virgin's colors) which produce a cheering effect on the patient.

Special devotions for the dying prayers and sacrifices are constantly prac-
ticed by the Community. Many beautiful deaths have been recorded, and many
careless and fallen away Catholics have been cured physically and spiritually
and now lead useful Christian lives.

The Little Company of Mary was founded in England. The Mother House
is located in Rome, Italy. The present branch houses are in Florence, Fiesole,
Malta, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, England, Ireland and North and
South America.

Any information relative to services, etc., will be cheerfully given by ad-
dressing

THE LITTLE COMPANY OF MARY,
Telephone Drexel 1027. 4130 Indiana Avenue, Chicago, Illinois.



140




HOUSE OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD



The House of the Good Shepherd, the well-
known institution for the reclaiming of way-
ward and evilly-disposed girls and women, is
located at 1126 Grace Street. It was estab-
lished in 1859 and incorporated under the laws
of the State of Illinois in 1867. Since its
foundation more than half a century ago more
than twenty thousand have passed through its



doors. There are at present over four hundred
inmates, with forty-one Sisters of the Good
Shepherd in charge. The common branches of
an English education are taught, also stenog-
raphy, typewriting and bookkeeping, besides
domestic science, fine sewing and other indus-
trial arts. All are received, irrespective of na-
tionality or creed.




ILLINOIS TECHNICAL SCHOOL FOR COLORED GIRLS



The Chicago Industrial School for Girls was
opened at Forty-ninth Street and Indiana Ave-
nue September 23, 1889. In August, 1911, the
children of this school were transferred to the
new building prepared for them in Desplaines,
Illinois, and the Sisters of the Good Shepherd



opened their doors to the dependent colored
children of Chicago, under the title "Illinois
Technical School for Colored Girls." The pres-
ent enrollment is 115. Reverend Thomas
O'Gara, pastor of Corpus Christi Church, and
his asssistants are in attendance.



141




ST. JOSEPH'S HOME FOR THE FRIENDLESS.

The organization of St. Joseph's Home for
the Friendless, which is located at Thirty-fifth
Street and Lake Park Avenue, is due to the
efforts of the Most Reverend J. E. Quigley,
D. D., Archbishop of Chicago. It was incor-
porated in 1912 and is conducted by the Sisters
of St. Joseph.



ST. JOSEPH'S HOME FOR GIRLS.

St. Joseph's Home for Girls, located at 1100
South May Street, is a home for young women
and girls employed in shops, offices, and stores
and has 150 inmates. Miss Sarah Mellon is
the superintendent.




WORKING BOYS' HOME, FOUNDED 1890.

The Mission of Our Lady of Mercy, or better known as the Working Hoys' Home, was founded
in 1890 by the Reverend Louis Campbell. The institution was then situated at LaSalle and Jack-
son Streets. Father Campbell was succeeded by the Reverend Dennis Mahoney. In 1906 Father
Quille took charge. The present building at 1140 Jackson Boulevard has been erected during
his administration. This home shelters about one hundred boys.



142




THE CONVENT OF MEECY AND MERCY HOME, FOUNDED 1874.

The Mercy Home, at 2834 Wabash Avenue, is a boarding-house for women and girls of good character con-
ducted by the Sisters of Mercy. All the comforts and protection of a refined private home are provided for the
patrons. There are at present 160 guests. The Convent of Mercy was founded in 1874, which was then located on
Calumet Avenue, near Mercy Hospital.




THE HOUSE OF PROVIDENCE, FOUNDED 1882.

The House of Providence, at 1121 Orleans Street, is conducted as a home for working girls, by the Sisters of
St. Francis, by whom it was founded in 1882.



143




SAINT CLARA COLLEGE AND ACADEMY, SINSINAWA, WISCONSIN



THE SISTERS OF ST. DOMINIC OF SINSINAWA



In the southwestern part of Wisconsin about
six miles from Dubuque, Iowa, and ten miles
from Galena, Illinois, is situated Sinsinawa, the
remarkable beauty of whose natural setting
has frequently been the theme of a poet 's verse.
Here, on the southern slope of Sinsinawa
Mound, is Saint Clara Convent, the Mother-
house of the Dominican Sisters of the Congre-
gation of the Holy Rosary, who since 1868 have
been teaching in the parish schools of Chicago.
Here, too, is the well known Saint Clara Col-
lege. The institution now chartered under the
title of Saint Clara College and Academy was
founded in 1854 by the zealous and scholarly
pioneer priest of the Northwest, the Reverend
Samuel Charles Mazzuchelli, O. P. Through a
period of sixty-one years, it has sustained the
reputation of a prominent educational center.
In the sacrifices which the Sisters have made to
bring to the students entrusted to them all that
is best in each line of study, they have had but
one aim. They have labored to equip, for the
duties of life, Christian women distinguished
by power of intellect, integrity of character,
and liveliness of faith. In a time when secular
colleges and universities, favored by enormous
wealth and worldly reputation, are offering
extraordinary advantages in the world of edu-
cation, the demands on the Catholic schools are
vital. The Sisters of Sinsinawa, like other
Religious who conduct similar Academies and
Colleges, are zealously alert to every opportu-
nity and project which will make for strength
in the position of our Catholic institutions. For
the benefit of the School of Music and the
School of Art, they have spent years in the
studios of Rome, Florence, Munich and Paris.



Copies of the great Masters made by the Sis-
ters have been declared by distinguished critics
to be most faithful reproductions. Teachers of
the ancient Classics at Saint Clara have had
advantages of special study and original re-
search in Italy and Greece. The departments
of Philosophy, English, Mathematics, History,
Science and Languages are conducted by Sis-
ters who have had their advanced degrees
' ' cum laude ' ' from our own Catholic University
or from other leading universities of America.
The standard of the work accomplished at
Sinsinawa has been generally recognized. Saint
Clara Academy is accredited to the Catholic
University of America, and is listed in the
North Central Association of Secondary
Schools. The University of Wisconsin, and all
universities which honor it, accept without
question, credits for advanced standing from
students in any year of the Saint Clara College
course. A recognition of the diploma of the
college has been granted by the Department of
Education of Wisconsin and of other states,
whereby a student on whom Saint Clara College
confers the Bachelor's degree may receive a
State Teachers' License. In the School of
-Music the degree of B. M. is conferred. Gradu-
ates from this Department have won real dis-
tinction in noted Conservatories of Music.

The attainments of her graduates, the com-
mendation of the Faculty by eminent educators
of the country, the standard of Christian
instruction and fidelity to the beautiful scholas-
tic traditions of the Dominican Order which
she has labored to maintain prove that Saint
Clara is a leading force in the life o,f Catholic
education in the United States.



144



MOUNT ST. JOSEPH COLLEGE, DUBUQUE, IOWA.



ITUATED in a beautiful woodland district, on
an eminence overlooking the city of Dubuque,
Mount St. Joseph College possesses every
charm so fortunate a location can furnish.
From its elevated position, it commands an extensive
view of the surrounding country, a place unrivaled
for the richness and variety of natural beauty. On
the grounds are many dear and familiar spots of rare

loveliness The Pines, Angel Campus, Glen-Oak,

where the first violets are found, and the Grotto of
Our Lady of Lourdes.

Mount St. Joseph has been in existence since 1843,
when it was established as an Academy for the educa-
tion of girls and young women, under the auspices of
Rt. Rev. Matthias Loras, the first Bishop of Dubuque.
It was at his invitation that the Sisters of Charity of
the Blessed Virgin Mary, a community devoted exclu-



Francis Clarke Hall, named in honor of the Sister-
Foundress of the Community, is completely and
handsomely furnished. In addition to private rooms,
it contains class-rooms, a tea-room, reception hall and
a large, pleasant social room.

The College has complete library and laboratory
equipment, a gymnasium, auditorium and a depart-
ment fitted for the study of household economics.
Every advantage for the acquisition of literary and
musical culture is afforded the students. Lectures
and concerts are given by the best scholars and
musicians, and continual impetus to literary effort is
furnished by the college journal, conducted by the
students under the supervision of the faculty. The
interests and activities connected with the life of the
college are furthered by religious, literary and alumni
societies. Two scholarships are available The Very




MOUNT ST. JOSEPH COLLEGE



sively to educational work, had come from Philadel-
phia to begin their labors in the West. Success
attended their earliest efforts in this frontier town of
scanty population, and in 1881, so great had been the
increase in the enrollment of the school and so rapidly
had the new city grown around them, that a change
of site was deemed necessary, and the school was
removed to its present location. Continued prosperity
has necessitated the erection of several buildings, so
that at present the establishment comprises the
academy, college, chapel, conservatory of music and
art and Mary Francis Clarke Hall, a residence for the
college students.

Thorough systems of electric lighting, heating and
ventilating are employed, and all the buildings have
been so planned that every room has the benefit of
direct sunlight for some hours each day. Every build-
ing has been constructed with regard to the harmony
of the whole, and, as a result, an imposing set of
structures graces the Mount property. The Chapel of
the Sacred Heart is in the Romanesque style. Exterior
and interior are beautiful in their simplicity and finish.
The Conservatory of Music and Art is an imposing
building. From its several balconies there is a magnifi-
cent view of the city among its seven hills. Mary



Rev. Terence J. Donaghoe Scholarship and The Mary
Francis Clarke Scholarship.

The College and Academy are affiliated in all their
courses with the Catholic University of America, and
with the Iowa State University. The College is also
registered with the New York Board. Mount St.
Joseph has all the privileges the law accords to
incorporated institutions. The administration of the
establishment is conducted by the Superior, who is
assisted in her government by a local council, the
directress and the prefects of each department; while
general supervision is exercised by the Superior
General of the Order and her board of consultors at
Mount Carmel. Under such carefully regulated man-
agement, and provided as they are with every help for
physical, intellectual and moral development, there
is every reason why the pupils should attain the edu-
cational ideal which calls for the harmonious maturing
of all their powers. Perhaps the truest test of the
work done by the school is found in the lives of its
Alumni, who, true to the ideals and principles of their
Alma Mater, as queens in their homes or as workers
in educational and other fields, are living representa-
tives of what is best and noblest in Christian woman-
hood.



145



INDEX TO CHURCHES AND INSTITUTIONS



ENGLISH CHURCHES

Cathedral 9

St. Agatha 65

St. Agnes 46

All Saints 52

St. Ailbe 00

St. Ambrose 57

St. Andrew 74

St. Anne 54

Annunciation of the B. V. M. . 66

St. Anselm 08

St. Attracta 42

St. Basil 45

St. Bernard 55

Blessed Sacrement 65

St. Bonaventure 75

St. Brenden 47

St. Bride 58

St. Bridget 46

St. Catharine of Genoa 60

St. Catharine of Sienna 37

St. Cecilia 54

St. Charles of Borromeo 40

St. Clare of Montefalco 79

St. Columbanus 58

St. Columbkille 40

Corpus Christi 53

St. Cyril 115

St. David 44

St. Denis, Lockport. 81

St. Dominic 72

St. Elizabeth 29

Epiphany 65

St. Edmund, Oak Park 42

St. Edward 75

St. Finbarr 63

St. Gabriel 45

St. Gall 65

St. Genevieve 75

St. Gertrude 75

Holy Angels ; 28

Holy Cross 52

Holy Family 20

Holy Rosary 63

St. Ignatius 22

Immaculate Conception 35

Immaculate Conception, Wau-

kegan 81

St. Ita 34

St. James 27

St. Jarlath 42

St. Jerome 33

St. Joachim 63

St. John . . 29



St. John Berchman 60

St. Kil.an 5j

St. J.aurence 5s

St. .Leo 55

St. Lucy 37

St. Maiachy 7i

St. Maigaret 60

St. Ma.K 08

St. Maiy l^-
St. Maiy s, E\anston 81

St. Maiy s of the Lake 32

Mateinicy of the Blessed \ ir-

gin iia^y 76

St. Matthew 33

St. Mel 69

St. Monica 79

Nativity of Cur Loid 43

Our Lady of the Angels 68

Our Lady of Good Counsel.... 4ii

Our Lady of Grace 75

Our Lady Help of Christians.. 76

Our Lady of Lourdes 33

Our Lady of Mercy 70

Our Lady of Mt. Carmel 34

Our Lady of Sorrows 38-39

Our Lady of Victory 72

St. Patrick 60

St. Patrick, (Adams and Des-

plaines) 18-19

Paulist Fathers 17

St. Philip Neri 59

St. Pius 79

Precious Blood 71

Presentation 41

Queen of Angels 76

Resurrection of Our Lord 70

St. Rita 49

St. Rose of Lima 45

Sacred Heart 22

St. Sebastian 35

St. Stephen 66

St. Sylvester 72

St. Thomas Apostle 52

St. Thomas Aquinas 70

St. Veronica 37

St. Viator 76

St. Vincent de Paul 30-31

Visitation 48

GERMAN CHURCHES

St. Aloysius 62

St. Alphonsus 26

St. Anthony of Padua 50

St. Augustine 56



St. Benedict 67

St. Boniface 80

St. Clara 67

St. Clement 36

St. Dionysius, Hawthorne 80

St. Francis of Assisium 77

St. Francis de Sales. 61

St. Francis Xavier 61

St. George 78

St. Gregory , 64

St. Henry 36

Holy Ghost 64

Holy Trinity 61

Immaculate Conception 64

St. Joseph 23

St. Joseph, Lockport 80

St. Martin 64

St. Matthias 80

St. Mauritius 78

St. Michael's 24-25

St. Nicholas 50

St. Nicholas, Evanston 62

Our Lady of Perpetual Help. . . 78

St. Paul's 51

SS. Peter and Paul 62

St. Peter 23

St. Philomena 77

St. Raphael 77

Sacred Heart 62

St. Teresa 36

POLISH CHURCHES

St. Adalbert . . 86, 87

St. Ann 93

Ascension of Our Lord, Evans-

ton 98

St. Barbara 92

St. Casimir 93

Five Holy Martyrs 94

St. Florian 98

St. Francis of Assisium 92

Good Shepherd 96

St. Hedwig 84

St. Helen 94

Holy Innocents 89

Holy Trinity 97

St. Hyacinth 98

Immaculate Conception 90

Immaculate Heart 94

St. John Cantius 88

St. John of God 96

St. Joseph 92

St. Josaphat 97

St. Mary Magdalene 95



146



INDEX Continued



St. Mary of the Angels 85

St. Mary of Perpetual Help... 92

St. Michael !1

SS. Peter and Paul 93

Sacred Heart 90

St. Salomea 95

St. Stanislaus Kostka 83

St. Stanislaus, Bishop and Mar-
tyr 89

St. Stanislaus, Bishop and Mar-
tyr, Kankakee 82

Transfiguration 04

St. Valentine 94

St. Wenoeslaus 95

BOHEMIAN CHURCHES

St. Agnes 101

SS. Cyril and Methodius 103

St. John Nepomucene 102

St. Ludmila ] 02

Mary Queen of Heaven, Cicero. 103

Our Lady of Good Counsel 101

Our Lady of Lourdes 100

St. Procopius 100

St. Vitus 102

St. Wenceslaus 100

SLOVENIAN CHURCHES

St. George Ill

St. Stephen Ill

GREEK RUTHENIAN

St. Mary 10S

St. Nicholas 100

HUNGARIAN
Our Lady of Hungary 108

FRENCH CHURCHES

St. Joseph 79

St. Louis 73

Notre Dame 73

St. John the Baptist 73

St. Rose of Lima, Kankakee. . . 82

LITHUANIAN CHURCHES

All Saints 108

St. Anthony, Cicero 106

St. George 105

Holy Cross 106

Immaculate Conception 107

St. Joseph 108

St. Michael 105

Our Lady of Vilna 105

Providence of God 107



CROATIAN CHURCHES
Assumption (see Holy Trinity)

St. Jerome Ill

Sacred Heart Ill

Holy Trinity 81

SLOVAC CHURCHES

Assumption 110

Holy Rosary 110

St. Joseph 110

St. Michael Archangel 110

Sacred Heart . ..110



ITALIAN CHURCHES

St. Anthony 113

Assumption of the Blessed Vir-
gin Mary 112

St. Francis a Paula 114

Holy Guardian Angel 1 1 3

Holy Rosary 113

Sancta Maria Addolorata 112

Sancta Maria Incoronata 113

St. Mary of Mount Carmel. . . . 11 4

Our Lady of Pompei 1 12

St. Philip Benizi 112

HOSPITALS

Alexian Bros. Hospital 131

St. Anthony of Padua Hospital. 133
St. Bernard's Hotel Dieu Hos-
pital 13(>

Columbus Hospital and Exten-
sion 134

St. Elizabeth's Hospital 137

Emergency Hospital, Kankakee 82

St. Joseph's Hospital. 132

St. Joseph's Hospital, Joliet...l33
St. Mary of Nazareth Hospital. 135

Mercy Hospital 130

St. Vincent's Infant Asylum. . .132

CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS
Angel Guardian Orphan Asy-
lum (German) 138

St. Ann's Home for the Aged,

Techny 129

Convent of the Poor Clares 136

Franciscan Sisters 125

Bohemian Orphan Asylum, Lisle,

111 104

Guardian Angel Orphan Asy-
lum (Bohemian) 9S



Holy Ghost Institute, Techny.. 129
House of the Good Shepherd. . . 141

House of Providence. . . . , 143

Illinois Industrial School for

Colored Girls 141

St. Joseph's H o in e for the

Friendless 142

St. Joseph's Home for Girls... 142

Little Company of Mary 140

Little Sisters of the Poor 139

Mercy Home 143

1'assionist Monastery 114

Working Boys' Home 142

EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS

Academy of Our Lady 119

Academy of the Resurrection,

Niles 126

St. Angela's Academy, Morris. .123

Aquinas High School 59

St. Cyril's College 115

De LaSalle Institute 117

Be Paul University 30-31

Ephpheta School for the Deaf. 127
St. Francis Xavier's Academy. 118

Holy Child Convent 124

St. Ignatius' College 20-21

St. Joseph's Seminary, Kanka-
kee 82

Josephinum Academy. 124

St. Joseph's Industrial School,

Techny 128

Loretto Academy 124

St. Louis High School 123

Loyola University 20-21

St. Mary's High School 122

St. Mary's Academy, Joliet. . . . 120
St. Mary's Mission House,

Techny 128

Mount St. Joseph College, Du-

buque 145

Our Lady of Providence 121

St. Patrick's Academy 137

St. Patrick's Commercial Acad-
emy 110

St. Philip's High School 39

St. Procopius College, Lisle. . . .104

St. Rita's College 7"49

Sacred Heart Academy 124

St. Clara College, Sinsinawa. . .144

St. Scholastica's Academy 120

Sisters of St. Casimir 125

St. Stanislaus' College 84



147



v- a K :

CHICAGO






r



BX



设为首页 | 加入收藏 | 昂纲搜索

All Rights Reserved Powered by 文档下载网

Copyright © 2011
文档下载网内容来自网络,如有侵犯请和我们联系。tousu#anggang.com
返回顶部